Customer Reviews for

Mary, Queen of Scots

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great

I read this book three times, that's how much I love it. If you are interested in history and royal people, you will like this book. It is a great story of a woman who had a diverse life. You will feel like you are right there with her and involved in her gladness, t...
I read this book three times, that's how much I love it. If you are interested in history and royal people, you will like this book. It is a great story of a woman who had a diverse life. You will feel like you are right there with her and involved in her gladness, tragedy and all of her experiences. The people she was involved with and others who surrounded her are fascinating.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book, terrible reprint

So far, a little over halfway into this book, I'm finding it to be a good read--a little more dry and with more tendency to drag than Antonia Fraser's other books like Marie Antoinette: The Journey and The Six Wives of Henry VIII. However, I wish I had not purchased thi...
So far, a little over halfway into this book, I'm finding it to be a good read--a little more dry and with more tendency to drag than Antonia Fraser's other books like Marie Antoinette: The Journey and The Six Wives of Henry VIII. However, I wish I had not purchased this edition; I wish I had instead searched out an older edition. This reprint is awful. There are tons of distracting punctuation mistakes like periods missing from the ends of sentences, periods where there ought to be commas, etc., which makes the text harder to read. Also, for some inexplicable reason, the interior images have been removed from this version, which, though in a lot of books images are only sort of icing on the cake, they are necessary to this book as Fraser refers to paintings and sketches in the text for clarification of such events as the Kirk o' Field incident which are now no longer easily accessible to the reader. I think I will be returning this book and trying to find an earlier edition without these careless mistakes and with the supporting illustrations.

posted by mercury_falling on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    History doesn't get much better than this

    This was the first "adult" history book I read as a young teenager. I went on to ready may more books by Antonia Fraser, and I can't think of one that isn't worth reading. But this book was my first real taste of adult history, and I'll never forget it.

    Mary's history is fascinating. She had a very difficult life, but most of her problems were due to very poor decisions on her part. When contrasted to her very successful cousin, Elizabeth I, it's a very sad story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Good book, terrible reprint

    So far, a little over halfway into this book, I'm finding it to be a good read--a little more dry and with more tendency to drag than Antonia Fraser's other books like Marie Antoinette: The Journey and The Six Wives of Henry VIII. However, I wish I had not purchased this edition; I wish I had instead searched out an older edition. This reprint is awful. There are tons of distracting punctuation mistakes like periods missing from the ends of sentences, periods where there ought to be commas, etc., which makes the text harder to read. Also, for some inexplicable reason, the interior images have been removed from this version, which, though in a lot of books images are only sort of icing on the cake, they are necessary to this book as Fraser refers to paintings and sketches in the text for clarification of such events as the Kirk o' Field incident which are now no longer easily accessible to the reader. I think I will be returning this book and trying to find an earlier edition without these careless mistakes and with the supporting illustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Great

    I read this book three times, that's how much I love it. If you are interested in history and royal people, you will like this book. It is a great story of a woman who had a diverse life. You will feel like you are right there with her and involved in her gladness, tragedy and all of her experiences. The people she was involved with and others who surrounded her are fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    An Incredible Read!!!

    I bought this book on a whim and I am glad that I did. I always had an interest in British politics and history but didn't know where to begin. I picked this up and it was hard to put it down. It is rather long but well worth the read. The author writes in a fashion that is enjoyable and easy to understand. She made the subject of Mary Queen of Scots and British royalty intriguing and fascinating. Now I am more excited to continue reading about the subject and I will definitely be reading more of Ms. Fraser's works. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in either Mary Queen of Scots or the history of the British royalty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Interesting, but not her best work

    I have read several of Ms Fraser's books and was excited about this one as well. The historical research and intricate details were wonderful, but her use of French phrases and words without the benefit of translation was annoying and a little insulting; as if the meaning of the words/phrases was simply "understood".

    I did not enjoy this book as much as I did her others, but would buy most anything written by Ms Fraser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Excellent book. Very good read.

    Best historical book I've read in a long time. Very good read. Antonia Fraser is an excellent author. Kept me interested the whole way through. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "free pass" for Cecil and Knox

    First, I found this book incredibly well written, straightforward and to the point. and the author strung the avaiable evidence together that made for an ease of reading, comprehension, and an ease in forming imaginary scenes covering real events. Unfortunately, some of the clues ran out with no where else to go but I suspect that that is because this author and others are looking for specific answers ro specific events which, in fact may never be avaiable, therefore, never forthcoming. Not because ot the incompentence ot the writers, just the opposite. The writers are exceptionally qualified and talented but the evidence, if avaiable at all, may be worthless to prove a point, or to verify the existence of a commonly accapted fact. What we do know it that Cecil and Knox were of the reformed religion, that they hated and downgraded smarter more intellectual women, that they did not want another female ruler over either country, and Queen Mary had already been deposed and imprisoned. We know that Elizabeth bout stolen jewelry belong to Queen Mary from that Paragon of virtue, the Earl of Moray who was now Regent to the youngest James They Had gotten what they wanted, a long time minority rule presided over by Regents who didn't seem to last long. The thing is, the older factional Regents ruled not representing the Kings ininteresat but their own.. I xontend that James VI was kept alive to block Mary's possible return to the throne, and the players Cecil, Knox, aand others communicated but stayed out of the actual mix. They were wiling to sit on the sides not taking a participatory role but providing guidanceto ensure her ultimate death. If James VI reached full majority, she was dead and there was no turning back, Why, James VI with have succeeded but as a Protestentant King. Mary never had a chance. She had been raised in France uo the literature of the famous and things like the Chansons de Gesate. He ha unquestionably heard of a ready them and seen court performances of perhaps the best of al, "the Song of Roland." Additionally, she would have been trained in the Lais of Marie de Geste. She would have been formally trained from childhood to be a Queen and she would have been schooled in the languages of the time, the poetry, the dances, the HONOR, THE INTEGRITY, THE CHIVALRY, and other routines we never see. She was trusting and saw the good in everybody until they had shown their true colors and even then forgave them. She was a little house wren theon into a cave to build and nest and discovered it was well stocked with vipers...lethal ones at that. This was so much factional fighting as it was pure greed and the advancement of private and very greedy objectives. The were people who thought only of themselves . I love this woman. I love the way she writes. I like what she tries to do with the available evidence She has done a very remarkable job, her book deserves to be read, you will not be disappointed. Purchase and enjoy! Remember this, There is a ton on inculpatory, documented evidence that still remains to exactly explaint the devious manipulations of Know and Cecic. Why are they being proteced even today?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary was a pawn in royal world.

    This book was fascinating. Before I read it I knew very little about her except that she was beheaded by Elizabeth l and she was the Mother of James l. From the day she was born she became a pawn for Scottland's desire to raise itself as a world power. She was first married off to a French prince and then when he died she was shipped back to Scotland only to marry a worthless husband who she would later be blamed for the murder of. She was a victim of others trying to get her the English throne and was blamed for the failed conspirasies to kill Elizabeth. She should be remembered as an innocent victim who was surrounded by vicious, self-serving confidants!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Love this Book

    I read this book twice. I love books about royalty and this is one of the best. It is very attention-getting and you will not want to put it down. After reading it, I had a lot of sympathy for Mary and the things she went through in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    outstanding

    this is still the definative biography of one of history's most interesting figures. it is a must ready for anyone with even a passing interest in the lives of two extraordinary queens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1