Customer Reviews for

The Mask

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Mask

THE MASK If horror is your favorite subject, then the right book for you would be The Mask. Written by Dean Koontz, this book keeps you on your toes wondering what is going to happen next. If you are familiar with Dean Koontz and his books, then you would know that ...
THE MASK If horror is your favorite subject, then the right book for you would be The Mask. Written by Dean Koontz, this book keeps you on your toes wondering what is going to happen next. If you are familiar with Dean Koontz and his books, then you would know that he likes to switch back and forth from scenes in his stories as if it were a movie. I don¿t read many books, but I would have to say that I loved reading this well-written novel. I will have to say that I was a bit scared in some parts of the story, but I managed from shaking in my boots. It all starts in the prologue with a girl named Laura who is forced to clean in the cellar of her house as punishment. She hates cleaning the cellar because she has arachnophobia. Besides the cellar is always dark and there is hardly any light for her to see where to clean. All of a sudden she hears something from upstairs, sort of like a shout and footsteps running everywhere. She doesn¿t know what is happening, and then all of a sudden it starts getting harder for her to breathe. A fire has started in the house. She tries to escape up the stairs of the cellar to see what¿s going on, but her dress holds her back. She can¿t get out and she starts getting dizzy. She feels like she is about to faint when she falls to the ground and realizes that it¿s easier for her to breathe. She tries to find a route of escape to the banging on the cellars double doors from her aunt Rachel. Her aunt Rachel is banging louder and louder, trying to help Laura but the doors are locked from the inside. Its getting hard for Laura to think straight for all she can think about is how her mother put her in the cellar to clean. From there the reader is introduced to different characters as it starts the true beginning of the book with a couple named Carol and Paul Tracy at an adoption agency trying to get confirmed to adopt a child. Many weird things start to happen to the couple and a psychiatrist named Grace. The reader eventually discovers that the girl in the prologue is tied to these people and others through a series of reincarnations. The book is very well written and seems as it can published into a movie. It seemed like if I was watching a scary movie at the theatre. Koontz goes from scene to scene and keeps the mystery good throughout the book. Characters are described thoroughly along with their thoughts. The characters are realistic for the most part with somewhat supernatural forces on some characters. The mystery, of course, is not revealed until the end of the book so it makes you want to finish. I think this is by far the best book I have ever read and recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery. Koontz is a good writer of mystery and horror. I like to watch movies, and the whole time I was reading the book, I kept mental notes as if I was watching one. It scared me to a certain extent though, but I loved that feeling, and it made me want to read more and find out what was going to happen next.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing!

This book was not one of my favorite, I would not reccomend this unless you have a lot of valuble time to waste. The beginning starts of pretty good and grabs your attention but the book's middle builds you up and the ending lets you down and a lot of things un answere...
This book was not one of my favorite, I would not reccomend this unless you have a lot of valuble time to waste. The beginning starts of pretty good and grabs your attention but the book's middle builds you up and the ending lets you down and a lot of things un answered.

posted by Calebsmumma on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    The Mask

    THE MASK If horror is your favorite subject, then the right book for you would be The Mask. Written by Dean Koontz, this book keeps you on your toes wondering what is going to happen next. If you are familiar with Dean Koontz and his books, then you would know that he likes to switch back and forth from scenes in his stories as if it were a movie. I don¿t read many books, but I would have to say that I loved reading this well-written novel. I will have to say that I was a bit scared in some parts of the story, but I managed from shaking in my boots. It all starts in the prologue with a girl named Laura who is forced to clean in the cellar of her house as punishment. She hates cleaning the cellar because she has arachnophobia. Besides the cellar is always dark and there is hardly any light for her to see where to clean. All of a sudden she hears something from upstairs, sort of like a shout and footsteps running everywhere. She doesn¿t know what is happening, and then all of a sudden it starts getting harder for her to breathe. A fire has started in the house. She tries to escape up the stairs of the cellar to see what¿s going on, but her dress holds her back. She can¿t get out and she starts getting dizzy. She feels like she is about to faint when she falls to the ground and realizes that it¿s easier for her to breathe. She tries to find a route of escape to the banging on the cellars double doors from her aunt Rachel. Her aunt Rachel is banging louder and louder, trying to help Laura but the doors are locked from the inside. Its getting hard for Laura to think straight for all she can think about is how her mother put her in the cellar to clean. From there the reader is introduced to different characters as it starts the true beginning of the book with a couple named Carol and Paul Tracy at an adoption agency trying to get confirmed to adopt a child. Many weird things start to happen to the couple and a psychiatrist named Grace. The reader eventually discovers that the girl in the prologue is tied to these people and others through a series of reincarnations. The book is very well written and seems as it can published into a movie. It seemed like if I was watching a scary movie at the theatre. Koontz goes from scene to scene and keeps the mystery good throughout the book. Characters are described thoroughly along with their thoughts. The characters are realistic for the most part with somewhat supernatural forces on some characters. The mystery, of course, is not revealed until the end of the book so it makes you want to finish. I think this is by far the best book I have ever read and recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery. Koontz is a good writer of mystery and horror. I like to watch movies, and the whole time I was reading the book, I kept mental notes as if I was watching one. It scared me to a certain extent though, but I loved that feeling, and it made me want to read more and find out what was going to happen next.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disapointing!

    This book was not one of my favorite, I would not reccomend this unless you have a lot of valuble time to waste. The beginning starts of pretty good and grabs your attention but the book's middle builds you up and the ending lets you down and a lot of things un answered.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    Just wasnt good

    The beginning was very interesting and the middle was ok, but the end of this book is what got me. What did the husband in the story even have to do with his wife and daughter? Plus the ending was so quick and they never even told you what happened after they solved everything. This wasn't a good book, luckily I borrowed it from a library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not a new Koontz

    Yes sir they have done it again. Re issued an old Koontz book with a 2012 release date and no mention that it is from1981. Give me a break 10 bucks for a digital edition of a 30 yr old book. Never again a B&N I will shop Amazon from now on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    a lover of horror/suspense novels

    The Mask was my first Dean Koontz novel. I couldn't put it down. The way the plot progresses is amazing. The only thing that left me hanging is that nothing about Jane's past is revealed. (Jane is the girl that Carol finds). Other than that, the ending is terrific, and so are the events leading up to it. The best part is that both Carol and Jane live. If either of them died, it would have not been a good book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    A 15-year-old lady handy with an axe.

    No, this is not 'The Mask' of Jim Carey fame, or 'The Mask' of Cher fame. That there are so many 'The Mask' stories around is a sign that authors need to start using longer titles after a three-decade fad. Some pretty good excitement, mystery, and chills here, but there were so many obvious signs of the supernatural happening to everybody at once that I can't believe real people would universally choose to ignore them. The climax was also too predictable for my taste; maybe the book was written before Koontz fully refined his mystery-writing skills. Enjoy spiders, little girls, a nude teen, blood, axes, severed heads, a poltergeist, a berserk house cat, a disappearing man, hypnosis, and reincarnation. The thing with the deformed mouth calling to Grace from inside her bedroom was definitely frightening!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Not my favorite

    It had good parts but also i could predict a lot of things and it kinda bored me at times but other than that it was good but still not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    It was alright.

    I absolutely love Dean Koontz. All his books always keep me on the edge of my seat. The Mask really wasn't that scary at all. Sure, it had its creepy moments, but not much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Terrible ending

    Ended to abrubtly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Thunk

    Excellent as always. Dean Koontz never lets me down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    WolfMask

    Dee and teddy

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Snow-Mask

    I vote for Dragonmask and Peacock mask.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoy all of Koontz's books. He is a great storyteller.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    2012?

    Why does the date published say 2012, but the most recent review is 2008?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    It was okaaay

    I loved the story, the suspense, etc... But what about the ending?!?! How dissappointing was that? I feel like the character in misery, I want him to make the ending better! But no worries.. Still a big Koontz fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    amazed in oak,ca

    this book was amazing one thing you must remember is this was written years ago before endless movies were made about reincarnation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Poorly written and boooring

    I can't believe the reviews posted are for the same Koontz book that I read. The book is so very silly and predictable. The first HALF of the book is spooky sign after spooky sign that something SUPER-SPOOKY is going to happen. That part is definitely boring. But not as boring as the end, where all the spooky signs come together, as if you couldn't see them from a mile away. Ugh. What a waste of time. I bought this at a used book store to read on the beach .. so I was stuck with it. I kept hoping it'd get better but it didn't. So don't waste your money! Or if you want to waste it buy it used for $1 like I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!

    This is my fifth time reading the book and I still find it exciting! I enjoy how the everyone comes alive and even more I enjoy the many themes in the book. I myself was allowed to picture people I know as the characters and watch the thing unfold in my head. The phychic abilities that Grace and Carol had intrigued me the most as he explores the dream realm and opens the door that some of us do see the future and past. This is my first Koontz book and I can't wait to get another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    I've read better

    Although a big Dean Koontz fan, this one failed to grip me like his other books have. I don't regret reading it but it was very slow and the ending just seemed to end with no real intention for doing so. I just think that he could have done better with this one however it was one of his earlier works so I think he has come a long way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    Great Read!

    I have read alot of Koontz's newer books, and I have to say that they got nothin' on the old stuff! Very different from anything I have ever read, Koontz or not. There is a suprise around every corner. You won't get bored with this book. Have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2