Customer Reviews for

The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thoroughly charming

    Having just finished my own dissertation, like Ms. Willig's fictional Eloise, I needed a chick-lit break and found it with The Secret History of the Pink Carnation, quickly followed by The Masque of the Black Tulip. These books are absolutely delightful, and the historical detail is well done. As an acknowledged homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, they leave a bit to be desired - Lady Blakeney (Marguerite St. Just) is never mentioned (at least not in either of the books I've read so far), and Ms. Willig's heroes and heroines don't begin to reach the depths of character that Percy and Marguerite share. (Besides, in the time when these novels take place, the Blakeneys would only be in their thirties and hardly out of the fashionable world - Percy was supposedly the Prince of Wales' closest friend, after all - so why do they never appear in a cameo?)

    Nonetheless, these books taken in themselves are a pleasure, and I applaud Ms. Willig for keeping the romantic mores true to the time - no consummation until the wedding night. (Heroes, heroines and readers are well rewarded for the wait.) That factor alone is so refreshing that it's well worth supporting by continuing to buy the series! In comparing the two books, I found the romance in Black Tulip even more endearing than that of Pink Carnation, although Pink Carnation had a slight edge in the swashbuckling department (which was clearly Ms. Willig's intention, as her hero and heroine in Tulip progress sweetly and convincingly from a brother-sister relationship into grown-up love). I really fell for Miles, and Henrietta is adorable. Richard's behavior toward Miles - challenging him to a duel, which precipitates the marriage between Miles and Henrietta - seeems a bit absurd since Richard, as the Purple Gentian, got into some very heavy petting with Amy before their marriage, and Miles hasn't progressed nearly as far with Henrietta when Richard comes upon them (but I suppose it is possible that an older brother might overreact in such a way, and I'm holding out hopes that the boys will make up in the next novel).

    As for Eloise and Colin, I don't find the interludes intrusive so much as too slow. They shouldn't jump into bed - that would be too out of keeping with the parallel historical romance - but by the end of the second novel, I would have expected a kiss. (As other reviewers have mentioned, there seems to have been a bit too much eye on the potential for sequels.)

    Ms. Willig's style is entertaining and breezy (the historical dialogue sometimes seems a little modern), but her editor needs to do a better job - her sentences do not always cadence as they should, and words are too often repeated in the same paragraph. In a novel of this length, a phrase like "made a sound that wanted to be laugh when it grew up" should be used once - and no more. That said, I couldn't not have spent two more pleasant weekend afternoons than I did with these two books - they are quick reads, and for romantic Anglophiles, a perfect love potion! If you read Baroness Orczy's Pimpernel novels first - in this order: The Scarlet Pimpernel, The Elusive Pimpernel, El Dorado, and The Triumph of the Scarlet Pimpernel - you'll understand Willig's plots better and you'll get a tremendous dose of history, heroism and romance along the way. (At the very least, read The Scarlet Pimpernel.) Meanwhile, I look forward to reading The Deception of the Emerald Ring!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a great read and part of a really fun series.

    I have enjoyed this installment of Lauren Willig's mystery romance set in two different time periods, yet intertwined. I like the way her characters carry from one book to the other. She also blends the tension and romance well. I have read four of the five and can't wait to read book five and the sixth which is soon due. I also have shared them with friends who enjoyed them as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    flameclaw

    You can change that petal you know that right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Icestar

    If they came to the med den, i would expect you to fight to save your life, but it is still unacceptable that you disobeyed direct orders from the medcat. You will be confined to the medicine cat den unless supervised by patchfur, snowfall or a senior warrior, and you will clean the warriors den bedding for one moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Petal

    Yeah... i say and go to the aprentices den to sleep. Gtg bbt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Earthclaw

    Please- don't leave. You aren't viciously killing cats, are you? Petalpaw, you are NOT Tigerclaw. ((Uh oh. My mum thinks my wrist might be broken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Miles and Henrietta may be more bumbling as spies than the Pink

    Miles and Henrietta may be more bumbling as spies than the Pink Carnation and the Purple Gentian, but they just prove that anyone can be of service to their country if their hearts are in the right place! And, of course, they were a little distracted by the whole falling in love thing. They made a very cute couple!

    I enjoyed how the definitions from the Pink Carnation's code book at the beginning of each chapter informed what would happen in the chapter. The double meanings were great. And I liked how the modern-day story tied in with what was going on in the past.

    My only complaint is that the romance between Eloise and Colin in the present-day is proceeding very slowly. Guess I'll just have to continue with the rest of the series to see where they end up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    | Moo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Amazing Flower

    Second in the series, The Masque of the Black Tulip was just as delightful (perhaps more fun even?) as The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. If you've read Pink Carnation, then you've already met the main hero and heroine of Black Tulip. Henrietta Selwick, younger sister of the notorious Richard Selwick, is funny and bright and even occasionally silly. There's a scene where she hides from Miles Dorrington that it just hilarious. Miles is, of course, the hero of this story. Being Richard's best friend from childhood and very close to the whole Selwick family, he is deeply involved in all things spy. Miles is deliciously awkward and gets distressingly tangled up in things he shouldn't, including Henrietta.

    This was a fun romp full of mystery, romance and humor. A fantastic addition to the series. And don't forget, you get to follow along with modern-day Eloise and her budding crush on Colin Selwick, a descendant of Lord Richard, the Purple Gentian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Love it!

    i couldnt pull myself away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Darn!

    I really enjoyed the first book. I was very disappointed not long into this book. I forced myself to finish in hopes that it would get better if I just read a little farther. I still liked the first one enough to give the third one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Calgon, take me away ...

    As with my review of The Pink Carnation, I also used this book as a cleanser of the mind. The plot is similar to its predecessor, making me think that Ms. Willig has come up with a formula to her writing - only time will tell. There is danger, romance (opposites falling in love) and the quest to find a secret agent, the Black Tulip. I recommend for those who wish to escape for a time, read the previous book or are interested in historical romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    excellent series

    this is a great book in an excellent series! i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Amazing!

    Amazing book that I could not put down! It instantly topped my favorites list. I really loved every moment of reading it! You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    More Romance than Historical Fiction

    I agree with another reviewer that this was more of a romance novel than true historical fiction. Everything is told from a rather 'flighty' perspective of a female character -- there's no depth to her. The love story was more central to the book (and the main character) than the political intrigue. It was a decent read for a 'bargain book'. I don't intend to read the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Dazzling! Pure Enchantment!

    The Masque of the Black Tulip is a pure gem of a novel written in such an intriguing way. The ironic parallels between Heloise and Colin's relationship and Henrietta and Mile's is so clever and unfolds in such a poetic way. Ms. Willig writes with such a Austenesque wit that any historical fiction chick-lit lover is sure to relish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    One Word: FUN

    Definitely the one word to describe this book would be fun. It's one of those guilty pleasure books that you just cannot put down. Soft core porn?? (in response to the previous reviewer) I dont think I would go that far at all. Maybe it doesnt have the depth that other historical novels have, but it was one of the more relatable and enjoyable ones I have read in a while. It's nice when a historical novel actually has a 'Happily Ever After.' If you like a mixture of genres this is definitely an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    A Sassy Fun Read

    Cute book that I found myself laughing through. Though the romance wasn't as capitviating as Richard's and Amy's, I do smile every time the hero and the heroine come together in this book.I cannot wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Wrong Genre

    I started out reading what I thought was a mediocre mystery/spy novel that was trying too hard to be Possession, and then I was surprised when it turned into soft-core porn. Be warned! This book would be more accurately described as a romance novel than historical fiction, so unless you want to read constant references to bulges in knee-britches and breasts popping out of bodices, I would recommend passing this one by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Not as good as the first

    The book did not seem to hold my interest like the first book did. I felt that as soon as the book started catch my atention it was over. The plot was weak and the drama between hen and miles was not as thrilling as it was between amy and richard. I am looking forward to her next book though, I just hope it will make me not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6