Customer Reviews for

Masquerade (Blue Bloods Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(657)

4 Star

(306)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bliss, the Blue Blood who moved from Houston with her Senator fa

Bliss, the Blue Blood who moved from Houston with her Senator father, finds herself in strange locations. One time she wakes up at the bottom of a lake, and an unknown vampire helps her. She blacks out more and more frequently and doesn't know why. She still feels that ...
Bliss, the Blue Blood who moved from Houston with her Senator father, finds herself in strange locations. One time she wakes up at the bottom of a lake, and an unknown vampire helps her. She blacks out more and more frequently and doesn't know why. She still feels that Dylan, her boyfriend who disappeared in the first book, is alive. He must be the one helping her, she thinks. On a modeling gig with Schuyler, she feeds for the first time with a crew member, only to regret it as they then share a bond. Blue Bloods are the highest level of elite modern New York society. The teen Blue Bloods attend Duchesne School, enjoy the most fabulous parties and share a dark secret. Blue Bloods are vampires; they literally bleed blue blood and sprout fangs when hungry. But that doesn't stop them from partying in this second installment of Melissa de la Cruz's fantasy/horror series, which has even more mysterious secrets and action than its predecessor.  Schuyler Van Alen goes to Venice in search of her grandfather, Lawrence Van Alen whom she believes can help solve the mystery of the Silver Bloods, a deviant branch of vampires intent on destroying young Blue Bloods. Back in Manhattan, preparations are in full-swing for the Four Hundred Ball, the elite event for vampires only. We are re-introduced to familiar characters such as Jack and Mimi Force, the immortal twins, Bliss Llewellyn, Oliver Perry [Schuyler's conduit], and some new ones like Kingsley Martin, the new boy. I thought this was a better plotted novel than the first...there's more intrigue, and also a lot more elaboration on what makes the Blue Bloods tick, i.e. their abilities, the training that goes into the young Blue Bloods, their weaknesses and of course the partial unravelling of the mystery of the Sivler Bloods. Schuyler Van Alen's character is more well-defined here, and her relationships with Oliver and Jack are explored in more depth in this novel though with no real resolution. There is a lot more that needs to be explained, and I guess that's to be found in the third novel, Revelations.     

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being pulled in...

The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get borin...
The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get boring at times. I would still recommend it to most!

posted by Tinkerbellv101 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    It was AWESOME

    The story was simply amazing. It was simple yet elegant and i was captivated by the synopsis in the story and i just could not put the book down. Melissa de la cruz has written a beautiful book that will catch more teens to enjoy reading it was much as i did. :' thank you for sharing this book with with me melissaa.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    BEST OF HER BOOKS SO FAR!

    I don't even have the right words to describe this book- all I can say is if you liked the first one or you like books with vampires, etc, then this is the book for you!!! It sooo good- it has twists and turns the whole way. I can't wait until she writes the next book in this amazing series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Zach

    Takes a look at the blueprints. "May i help the book collection? I found a bookstore not far from here."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Bluejay

    He worked, constructing a wall of cement and wood. He used the constrution blueprints he found, and tore it all down, and restarted frustrated. He finally stopped and turned around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Still addicted

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on boo

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on book 4 and have the next 3 coming in so I can finish the series.Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences betw

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences between these books and the majority of the vampire genre make the books more interesting. The intrigue of the mystery of the Silver Bloods keep you on the edge of your seat. The complicated relationships have you scratching your head and changing your favorites from page to page. It's an exciting world that de la Cruz has created for us, and I find myself devouring the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait to read to next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Jace

    Balls at the next rez. The books just switched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Lexi

    She dances with Zainie and Lucy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Alyssa

    Bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Goliad

    *she walked in and waited for the ball to start. She stood by door.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ree

    U pplz r pi<_>zzin me.off!*walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    genevive51@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Awesome

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    THE BEST OF BEST

    Schuyler Van Alen is the girlvthat many can relate to in a certain way. She makes the books have its innicence in the whole series the hero the everything. If you want to know why everyone loves these characters go ahead. Read it. Yuou will want to read more like I did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Kcbnbyrdhry

    Yrbnryyu yyyt .b uy.xbybc bgurruybg db e ty gygjgb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Cool

    Ejdjf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting through the first book. There was just too much detail on wardrobe, it drove me a little mad. Alas, I didn't want to give up on the series yet because its been giving such high ratings. So, I moved on to masquerade and  I am finally just starting to get sucked in. My only complaint is that  it's expensive for a nook book. At almost $8.00 I was expecting more than just 230 pages.. I feel a little ripped off. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As you have probably realized, I am planning on reviewing all th

    As you have probably realized, I am planning on reviewing all the Blue Blood books. The second one in this heart racing series, is Masquerade. But you already knew that.

    Now, this as this is the sequel, we have the same people in the books: Mimi and Jack Force, the Twin who are lovers that are bonded but were born as twins in this cycle, (Yes, its confusing but its also quite interesting), Bliss Llewellyn, and of course, Schuyler Van Allen. You can't really call her the main protagonist because there really isn't a protagonist. That is one of the many things that I love about this series and author: You have the same story coming from more than one character and that makes the story more appealing because you have the same plot from different angles, making it harder to choose sides or being biased towards only one person.

    Now, as per usual, well what we learned in the first book, there are the Silver Bloods who want to destroy and take over the Blue Blood population. We Red Bloods don't have blood that is all that appealing to them. Not as powerful...Sad, but also a good thing because it means they won't hunt us down! Yay! Longer life!

    Well, as I was saying before I distracted myself, the Silver Bloods are becoming stronger....so much stronger that the Conclave starts having its doubts. Which is where the new character, Lawrence Van Allen, comes in. He is the husband, thus the Grandfather of Schuyler. He is the one who believe that the Silvers are back and he helps Schuyler try to persuade the Council of this. Tough luck.

    The name, Masquerade, gives the connotation of mystery and that is exactly what the theme of the story is: Mystery and luck. Sometimes good, and sometimes bad, but its luck all the same. When the Silver Bloods attack and the very core of the New York Clave is shattered, its luck and pure genius that allows the young protagonists to find a solution to this thrilling, heart racing mystery....

    Gabby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56