Customer Reviews for

Masquerade (Blue Bloods Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(655)

4 Star

(305)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Masquerade

Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decision...
Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decisionsin her life.In Masquerade, theirs so many turns that kept me hook. Van Allen is very determined to find the silver bloods. She also learns more about what kind of powers she has as a half human, half vampire. The book has a lot of good parts since theirs so many secrets reveiled that as a reader one would've never guessed. Melissa de le Cruz creates many situations in the book where the reader has to predict who are the silver bloods, She provides the reader with great clues of who is the silver bloods. This book is also a love story. In this book the reader gets to read how Schuyler and Jack's feelings for each other grows. Jack's true feelings for Schuyler are revealed in this book. Not to mention the end of the book many secrets are reveiled about Schuyler and other characters.I really liked the end of the book for many reasons. The end grabbed my attention so much. After i was done reading i wanted to read the third. i can't wait to read the third book in the series and find out what's going to happen between Jack, Schuyler, Bliss, Oliver and the Silver bloods.

posted by 1157229 on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being pulled in...

The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get borin...
The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get boring at times. I would still recommend it to most!

posted by Tinkerbellv101 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    BEST OF HER BOOKS SO FAR!

    I don't even have the right words to describe this book- all I can say is if you liked the first one or you like books with vampires, etc, then this is the book for you!!! It sooo good- it has twists and turns the whole way. I can't wait until she writes the next book in this amazing series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on boo

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on book 4 and have the next 3 coming in so I can finish the series.Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences betw

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences between these books and the majority of the vampire genre make the books more interesting. The intrigue of the mystery of the Silver Bloods keep you on the edge of your seat. The complicated relationships have you scratching your head and changing your favorites from page to page. It's an exciting world that de la Cruz has created for us, and I find myself devouring the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait to read to next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Jace

    Balls at the next rez. The books just switched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Lexi

    She dances with Zainie and Lucy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Alyssa

    Bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Goliad

    *she walked in and waited for the ball to start. She stood by door.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Quin

    Watches everyone dance and sighs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ree

    U pplz r pi<_>zzin me.off!*walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    genevive51@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Awesome

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    THE BEST OF BEST

    Schuyler Van Alen is the girlvthat many can relate to in a certain way. She makes the books have its innicence in the whole series the hero the everything. If you want to know why everyone loves these characters go ahead. Read it. Yuou will want to read more like I did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Kcbnbyrdhry

    Yrbnryyu yyyt .b uy.xbybc bgurruybg db e ty gygjgb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Cool

    Ejdjf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting through the first book. There was just too much detail on wardrobe, it drove me a little mad. Alas, I didn't want to give up on the series yet because its been giving such high ratings. So, I moved on to masquerade and  I am finally just starting to get sucked in. My only complaint is that  it's expensive for a nook book. At almost $8.00 I was expecting more than just 230 pages.. I feel a little ripped off. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As you have probably realized, I am planning on reviewing all th

    As you have probably realized, I am planning on reviewing all the Blue Blood books. The second one in this heart racing series, is Masquerade. But you already knew that.

    Now, this as this is the sequel, we have the same people in the books: Mimi and Jack Force, the Twin who are lovers that are bonded but were born as twins in this cycle, (Yes, its confusing but its also quite interesting), Bliss Llewellyn, and of course, Schuyler Van Allen. You can't really call her the main protagonist because there really isn't a protagonist. That is one of the many things that I love about this series and author: You have the same story coming from more than one character and that makes the story more appealing because you have the same plot from different angles, making it harder to choose sides or being biased towards only one person.

    Now, as per usual, well what we learned in the first book, there are the Silver Bloods who want to destroy and take over the Blue Blood population. We Red Bloods don't have blood that is all that appealing to them. Not as powerful...Sad, but also a good thing because it means they won't hunt us down! Yay! Longer life!

    Well, as I was saying before I distracted myself, the Silver Bloods are becoming stronger....so much stronger that the Conclave starts having its doubts. Which is where the new character, Lawrence Van Allen, comes in. He is the husband, thus the Grandfather of Schuyler. He is the one who believe that the Silvers are back and he helps Schuyler try to persuade the Council of this. Tough luck.

    The name, Masquerade, gives the connotation of mystery and that is exactly what the theme of the story is: Mystery and luck. Sometimes good, and sometimes bad, but its luck all the same. When the Silver Bloods attack and the very core of the New York Clave is shattered, its luck and pure genius that allows the young protagonists to find a solution to this thrilling, heart racing mystery....

    Gabby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Great!

    One Word, Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    This one is my favorite out of the series (thus far) =) This is

    This one is my favorite out of the series (thus far) =)

    This is where the actions begins. In this book, we start to learn more about the vampires as a whole. As the teens have already begun to learn that they are vampires--Lucifer's angels who were cast out of Heaven, some of them the most powerful of all--in this book we learn about the powers and abilities that they each have, and we continue to learn more about the history of their existence, and their pasts. One of my favorite aspects of these characters is how dignified and refined that they are, and these traits show throughout reading about the prestigious Four Hundred Ball and the fashion show. Given the fact that since these teens are now coming into their full memories from their many past lives, they tend to be a bit more mature and wise than typical teenagers, and they deal with more serious problems. With the issues regarding heavenly bonds and their suspicions of the Silver Bloods' return, it's more about life, death, duty, and power instead of break-ups, nail polish, and drama. But of course, as they are still teenagers, they all still have a rebellious streak in them.

    Another thing that I like about this series is the character progression and the changing relationships that happen between them. This makes this series more unpredictable, interesting, not to mention realistic--relationships do change in real life. Bliss Llewellyn, for example, started out in the first book as one of Mimi Force's little followers, but at this point in the she has strayed away from her and has become a much closer and more true friend to Schuyler Van Alen, neither of whom ever had an interest in even speaking to each other before. Jack and Schuyler's relationship has also escalated. After a confusing on-again-off-again budding romance in the first book, they gradually grow much closer together, and Jack begins to lose interest in Mimi, all despite the fact that he and Mimi are bound to each other and were always widely known to be inseparable. However, we see a bit of foreshadowing in Mimi's changing feelings as well, as we meet Kingsley Martin, a dashing rock-star-looking vampire enrolled at their private school. At first we think we start to see something rising between him and Bliss, but this soon changes and heads towards Mimi instead. But then things but suddenly take an unexpected turn for the worse between them (leaving Mimi's fate in the hands of none other than Schuyler, besides). This series keeps you guessing at every turn (seriously) and I can't get enough of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Masquerade By Melissa De La Cruz

    There's different types of vampires out in NYC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56