Customer Reviews for

Masquerade (Blue Bloods Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(657)

4 Star

(306)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Masquerade

Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decision...
Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decisionsin her life.In Masquerade, theirs so many turns that kept me hook. Van Allen is very determined to find the silver bloods. She also learns more about what kind of powers she has as a half human, half vampire. The book has a lot of good parts since theirs so many secrets reveiled that as a reader one would've never guessed. Melissa de le Cruz creates many situations in the book where the reader has to predict who are the silver bloods, She provides the reader with great clues of who is the silver bloods. This book is also a love story. In this book the reader gets to read how Schuyler and Jack's feelings for each other grows. Jack's true feelings for Schuyler are revealed in this book. Not to mention the end of the book many secrets are reveiled about Schuyler and other characters.I really liked the end of the book for many reasons. The end grabbed my attention so much. After i was done reading i wanted to read the third. i can't wait to read the third book in the series and find out what's going to happen between Jack, Schuyler, Bliss, Oliver and the Silver bloods.

posted by 1157229 on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being pulled in...

The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get borin...
The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get boring at times. I would still recommend it to most!

posted by Tinkerbellv101 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Masquerade

    Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decisionsin her life.In Masquerade, theirs so many turns that kept me hook. Van Allen is very determined to find the silver bloods. She also learns more about what kind of powers she has as a half human, half vampire. The book has a lot of good parts since theirs so many secrets reveiled that as a reader one would've never guessed. Melissa de le Cruz creates many situations in the book where the reader has to predict who are the silver bloods, She provides the reader with great clues of who is the silver bloods. This book is also a love story. In this book the reader gets to read how Schuyler and Jack's feelings for each other grows. Jack's true feelings for Schuyler are revealed in this book. Not to mention the end of the book many secrets are reveiled about Schuyler and other characters.I really liked the end of the book for many reasons. The end grabbed my attention so much. After i was done reading i wanted to read the third. i can't wait to read the third book in the series and find out what's going to happen between Jack, Schuyler, Bliss, Oliver and the Silver bloods.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD!!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    this book topped every book i've ever read. I wonder how they are going to top the events of this book. I always wonder if something was going to happen between sky&ollie(spoiler alert). I wish someone would put mimi in her place!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Need More!

    ...So many things pop off over the course of this book and if you're a lesser person it might get overwhelming but me? I ate.it.all.up. I couldn't get enough of this book and while I like Jack a little more...do I think he's good enough for our Schuyler?

    Not by a long shot.

    His relationship with Mimi gets in the way of my wanting him to get with Schuyler and while we're talking about him getting with Schuyler, did I miss something?

    Because, it hasn't been that long since he bumped into her at the club and though it feels like forever ago since he kissed her so passionately, I'm not getting how he's in love with her. I mean, that kind of felt forced and might be why I'm not totally sold on him and Schuyler yet. I can understand him being infatuated with her, being mighty intrigued by her and hell even in lust with her but love? I'm not seeing that. But as much as that stumped me, I hecka loved this book.

    My heart soared, my heart broke and I fell a little more in love with these characters. From Schuyler to Oliver (awww Ollie) to Bliss and Dylan. These guys totally rock my socks and I cannot wait for more from this series. I absolutely adore this series and could not pimp it out enough...

    To read the full review, please visit http://thebookscoop.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Teen Vamps with Bite!

    I love this story. I love the characters and how the vampires themselves came to be. I also love that as this story progresses I am more drawn into the characters. There are a few unexpected twists in this one. But where Blue Bloods verges on the dry side, this book was nonstop action. A must read for vamp lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    this book is a recommended book. i absolutly could not put the book down. it was a mysterty but a very good one. it brings you in when you first pick it up

    it brings you in on the first page.
    first book.
    and it leaves you wanting more.
    its a good book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    read it in 2 days. great book. i couldnt ask for anything more the book kept me wanting more. now i am off to the thirf book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Freakin-sweet...

    Masquerade was good. It had a lot of twists, especially at the end. Glad i read it later in the year, i only had to wait two months for the third revelations and that was brutal. There was plenty of action, but not a lot of romance. im a total Jack girl and i hoped she didnt try sellin me Ollie and sky though i do like Oliver very much. It was fast paced, couldnt put it down and ended up finishing it within a day. I just wish they were longer and didnt have so many details about fashion all the time and instead had more on the characters and how theyre feelin, you know? Overall, i'd say it was a pretty freakin-sweet read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    VERY GREAT BOOK!!!!

    this book by melissa de la cruz is a very interesting book and leads up to an OUT STANDING ENDING! this book will Make you read the next book in the series!!! i would definetly recomend this book for anyone who enjoys a love/ thrillng series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    It was AWESOME

    The story was simply amazing. It was simple yet elegant and i was captivated by the synopsis in the story and i just could not put the book down. Melissa de la cruz has written a beautiful book that will catch more teens to enjoy reading it was much as i did. :' thank you for sharing this book with with me melissaa.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on boo

    I have loved these books since I started reading them.I'm on book 4 and have the next 3 coming in so I can finish the series.Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting

    Much better than the first book. I had the hardest time getting through the first book. There was just too much detail on wardrobe, it drove me a little mad. Alas, I didn't want to give up on the series yet because its been giving such high ratings. So, I moved on to masquerade and  I am finally just starting to get sucked in. My only complaint is that  it's expensive for a nook book. At almost $8.00 I was expecting more than just 230 pages.. I feel a little ripped off. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Logqj

    Well..... igtg now bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Great

    Wonderful follow up the the first book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great book

    Great book that keeps your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Masqurade

    Love+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Follow-Up

    Masquerade picks up where Blue Bloods leaves off. Actually, within the first few pages of the sequel, we're pretty much told what happened in the last book. I guess that's for the benefit of people that either didn't read the first book in the series or completely forgot about what happened?

    This book is a good follow-up with a lot more explanations and deeper explorations into our characters and their histories, as well as keeping with the history of the vampires. Bliss' story also gets more deep and complicated. We start learning about her past and who her true mother is - which is a plot twist in its own. There's more on Jack and Mimi, their history and their upcoming bonding. I'm really trying to like Mimi, but she makes it impossible. Jack's infatuation with Schuyler is still there, and it seems to be getting stronger - especially when Schuyler returns with her conduit Oliver and her grandfather just in time for the masquerade ball. Oliver is enduring, as always. The mystery man at the ball adds a little intrigue as well. Schuyler's character is more fleshed out this round, and she's definitely an intriguing heroine for our story.

    I have to say that the amount of pup culture references are definitely cut down drastically in this one - but Bliss and Schuyler modeling just seemed out of place. I think that was De La Cruz's way of still showing off her knowledge of that stuff. The writing didn't seem to flow as smoothly in this one, but it didn't make me like the story any less. The ending definitely leaves you hanging for the next book, but it keeps you sated enough until you get around to the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to read the next one!!

    When we last left off with Schuyler Van Alen, she was just getting used to the news of being a Blue Blood, or what we normally label them as, a vampire. She gets invited into the New York Blood Bank Committee and, before she knows it, Schuyler is swept away into the unknown world of the Blue Bloods. Unfortunately, it seems like Schuyler discovered her true self at the wrong time, since three Blue Blood teens have been murdered.
    Still not satisfied, Schuyler wants more information for why young vampires are dying and the only way she can find out more is by visiting her grandfather, who lives in Italy. And so in MASQUERADE, Schuyler is off with her best friend to get to the truth. But while Schuyler is trying to learn more about her new world, the Four Hundred Ball is being held in New York, and it seems like the party, before and after, are more than what she bargained for.
    Of course, with all of this mystery and drama, Schuyler's life also has to be filled with a little boy drama. It's not enough having mixed-up, obnoxious feelings toward Jack, but with the new guy in town, things just happen to get messy.

    Melissa de la Cruz continues her amazing series, BLUE BLOODS, with full force in MASQUERADE. Some problems are solved while even more are unleashed, and you just can't help but fall deep into this wonderful series. The relationships that Schuyler has with everyone around her are just amazingly sweet. The good part about this series is that there is definitely more to come. The drawback just happens to be waiting for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Good One

    The second book in the Blue Blood Series was really, really good. It had been awhile since I had read the first one but when it came to the library I grabbed it for a "sure, why not" kind of a book. The second book totally sucks (pardon the pun) you in. I read this book quickly because I didn't want to put it down (always a good sign). Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    cant wait for the next book!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Masquerade is Great

    A pretty good, fun read for teens. I would definitely reccomend it to fantasy lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16