Customer Reviews for

Masquerade (Blue Bloods Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(654)

4 Star

(303)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Masquerade

Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decision...
Blue bloods series are great books reveiling unveiling the Van Allen legacy. These books are great vampire series that will keep the reader wanting for more. Schuyler van Allen is a great leading character especially in this book. She has to deal and make major decisionsin her life.In Masquerade, theirs so many turns that kept me hook. Van Allen is very determined to find the silver bloods. She also learns more about what kind of powers she has as a half human, half vampire. The book has a lot of good parts since theirs so many secrets reveiled that as a reader one would've never guessed. Melissa de le Cruz creates many situations in the book where the reader has to predict who are the silver bloods, She provides the reader with great clues of who is the silver bloods. This book is also a love story. In this book the reader gets to read how Schuyler and Jack's feelings for each other grows. Jack's true feelings for Schuyler are revealed in this book. Not to mention the end of the book many secrets are reveiled about Schuyler and other characters.I really liked the end of the book for many reasons. The end grabbed my attention so much. After i was done reading i wanted to read the third. i can't wait to read the third book in the series and find out what's going to happen between Jack, Schuyler, Bliss, Oliver and the Silver bloods.

posted by 1157229 on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being pulled in...

The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get borin...
The second one really pulled me into the series. The mysteries of the commity are nail bitting and Schuyler's search for her grandfather is new and interesting. And who doesn't love a Masquerade! But i will admit it was sometimes a little dragged out and could get boring at times. I would still recommend it to most!

posted by Tinkerbellv101 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 654 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    wow- i have been reading this series from the beginning and can't wait to read the next one.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Vampire book

    I have to say when i picked this book up at the store i wasnt so sure about it. Then when i started reading it i couldnt put in down. I found out that after i read it that it was actually the second book of the series and not the first. it didnt matter though because I was still pulled in. This isnt like the other vampire stories you read today or see in movies. It gives us a side of vampires that keeps you in the story and wanting more. Sky is a great main character, she has traits that everyone can relate to. The love story in this book was so great between sky and jack. Its a must read and after you read it you'll want to read it over and over again. :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Schuyler has a sister! Could it really be Bliss? So amazing it keeps me sitting on the edge.

    It would be nice for Jack Force to bite my neck! SO HOT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So Much Better Than The Twilight Saga!

    One day I asked one of my friends for a good book because we have the same interest in books. The next day she brought me Blue Bloods and Masquerade. I read them both. and I loved them! I really liked them a lot better than The Twilight Saga. One thing I liked better than The Twilight Saga is the abilities in the vampires. In The Blue Bloods Series they can have human familiars and how they can come out in sun light. In The Twilight Saga they have to stay indoors or they will turn sparkly and they can't eat anything. I liked how the characters could trace back to history because of their previous lives on the Mayflower and the Plymouth Colony. Another thing that made this book a page turner were all the characters. Schuyler being a blue blood, Oliver knowing all this and being a human, Mimi and Jack Force how there suppose to be together forever but Jack is attracted to Schuyler, and Bliss being from Texas and how she can remain friends will Schuyler and Oliver and Mimi. I would recommend this to anybody who likes New York City, Vampires, Old Money, Mysteries, Channel Dresses, Balls, Christian Dior, and a really great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Masquerade

    (from Murphy's Library - 4 and a half rating)

    At the end of Blue Bloods we already know Schuyler is a girl in a mission. After Cordelia's death and the news of more deaths between blue bloods, she is certain that she needs to find her grandfather-a Blue Blood that has decided to live forever and is currently missing, but may be in Italy.

    With Oliver on her side, she travels to Venice to find her best shoot on discovering the possible solution in the continuous extermination of blue bloods. At the same time, in New York, Mimi Force starts to plan a secret after party to the Four Hundred Ball-a prestigious event for Blue Bloods only- and that's where the danger will certainly begin, especially if Mimi is the one behind the planning. We already know Mimi can't do anything following the laws, even the ones made just for blue bloods. What consequences can have this party?

    Masquerade was a ride, and what a ride. I couldn't stop reading, devouring this story. Mimi is a b*tch. She is a product of time, of how things always were, and she truly doesn't have the best soul. She is vain, and she is self-centered to the top, and you start to hate her in this book. Bliss was a surprise in this book, she doesn't want to forget Dylan, but she has so much on her plate. I truly liked her appearences in this book and her maturing as a blue bloode. In the same circle, we have a new character: Kingsley, a blue blood with a title, as Mimi presents him to Bliss.

    I think Schuyler matured a lot in this book, and she got a lot smarter. Lawrence-her grandfather-was a great help in her maturing process. Their interaction was truly amazing, and we finally understand more about the Silver Bloods, the things that are killing them. What made me mad with her in the first book was that Schuyler seemed almost not affected by anything. It showed she was tough, but, at the same time, she was passive. In this book she went to the action, and I loved it a lot. She was still afraid of giving herself to her truly need as a blue blood, but when she does, she does it with someone who truly means to her, just, maybe, not the way this someone would want.

    Charlie Force played a strong character, and Schuyler's grandfather too. I truly liked him. I didn't like Jack Force much, but I'm still expecting the moment when he will truly wake up. The ending of this story let me completely awed. The suspection about Bliss and Schuyler relation is fantastic, and the last line almost made me go crazy!

    The book was better than Blue Bloods. While the first was a introduction to the story, Masquerade was pure action. As I already told in my review of the first book, be certain to have the next one near.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    this book isn't just about a friend ship,
    it is a love story
    how does Schuyler know who she really wants to love?
    guess you'll have to read it and find out like i did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even better then the first

    I read this book in two days. Two school days this is. I found this book to be verry entertaing. The story was intersting and the characters oh i love oliver he is the best. Definatly read it is a must.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Spectacular!

    This book was amazing!!! If you are into reading books about vampires i definitely recommend that you read this! Along with the first book, Blue bloods

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    it was AMAZING

    it tells how schuyler cant get jack off her mind and jack said he loved her. now i wonder what will happen now that shes living with them. it was an amazing book just leaves you there at the end though and you want more so i cant wait for the third book to come out. i recomend that you read this book and the first one for a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    BEST OF HER BOOKS SO FAR!

    I don't even have the right words to describe this book- all I can say is if you liked the first one or you like books with vampires, etc, then this is the book for you!!! It sooo good- it has twists and turns the whole way. I can't wait until she writes the next book in this amazing series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences betw

    I continue to be sucked in by this series. The differences between these books and the majority of the vampire genre make the books more interesting. The intrigue of the mystery of the Silver Bloods keep you on the edge of your seat. The complicated relationships have you scratching your head and changing your favorites from page to page. It's an exciting world that de la Cruz has created for us, and I find myself devouring the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait

    Amazing! I loved reading this book and the first one! Can't wait to read to next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Jace

    Balls at the next rez. The books just switched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Lexi

    She dances with Zainie and Lucy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Alyssa

    Bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Goliad

    *she walked in and waited for the ball to start. She stood by door.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Quin

    Watches everyone dance and sighs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ree

    U pplz r pi<_>zzin me.off!*walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    genevive51@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Awesome

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 654 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33