Customer Reviews for

Masquerade

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

great storytelling and characters

Charlotte Gleason is a wealthy and spoiled young woman whose world changes when her father bring shame and financial ruin to his family. Dora Connors is Charlotte's maid since they were both thirteen. Their relationship borders on friendship withheld from all its benefi...
Charlotte Gleason is a wealthy and spoiled young woman whose world changes when her father bring shame and financial ruin to his family. Dora Connors is Charlotte's maid since they were both thirteen. Their relationship borders on friendship withheld from all its benefits because of social boundaries. But all that changes when Charlotte, accompanied by Dora, is sent to America to marry a very wealthy heir. But upon arriving, Charlotte decides to switch places with Dora. The masquerade begins.

I thoroughly loved reading this book. I liked the premise, and I felt the author was able to pull it off well. In some aspects, this novel reminded me of a Jane Austen book. It is character-driven and full of events that kept me guessing until the end to see how it would all turn out. Both Charlotte and Dora are likable characters. Their personal growth (mainly because of their changed circumstances) as the story progressed was the impetus that kept me loving every page I read.

I especially enjoyed the Italian immigrant Scarpelli family, since my relatives, grandparents and parents are immigrants who carved a life in America and Canada. The Italian phrases brought a smile to my face, and I appreciated the author's research of what life was like for many immigrants when they first arrived in America. It made me look back on my family with admiration for leaving everything behind to start anew in a strange land.

The ending came a little too quickly (maybe because I was enjoying the book so much) and I felt the romantic involvements weren't fully developed. Both Charlotte and Dora's love interests were men I would have liked to know better. So few words were exchanged between Dora and Edmund that it left me craving for more. However, since the main focus of the book is not really romance, this is but a minor setback, and as I said I loved reading this book.

The story explores friendship, the value of honesty and finding one's purpose in life. It is filled with vivid scenes that would allow for a great transition to the movies. No doubt about it, Nancy Moser has made it on my list of favorite authors.

posted by Laura-Fabiani on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Masquerade

This book was not one of my favorites. Lottie Gleason and her maid Dora Connors travel to America to meet Lottie's fiancee. During their travel Lottie decides to switch places with her Dora. The characters were realistic but were not very interesting. The plot was prett...
This book was not one of my favorites. Lottie Gleason and her maid Dora Connors travel to America to meet Lottie's fiancee. During their travel Lottie decides to switch places with her Dora. The characters were realistic but were not very interesting. The plot was pretty interesting but at times it does become boring. Overall, this book is okay but like I said it is not one of my favorites.
I recieved this book from Bethany House Publishers and expressed my true opinions.

posted by 4606896 on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Inspiring

    Masquerade starts off like any girls typical dream. A girl, about to marry one of America's wealthiest heirs. The only downside is that she has never met this man. I absolutely loved this book. The way the author crafts such a tale takes a typical situation from the 1800's and twists it in such a way that a reader cant help but keep reading. My favorite character was Dora just because she represented someone who was thrown into every girls dream. She got to live in the fairy tale, even if it wasn't for long. I loved the way Moser crafted the friendship between the two girls. This book was one that made me feel what Charlotte was feeling. What she is forced to do makes you feel bad for her to an extent where you feel like you are experiencing it yourself. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in historical novels. It is truly a fairy tale twisted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Masquerade Book Review

    Charlotte Gleason is a woman that has lived the life of luxury in England with her family. Her father announces that she will be sent to New York to marry one the richest heirs whom she has never met and knows nothing about. Charlotte rebukes and tries to get out of the planned wedding but her father will have nothing of it. Little does she know, her family is in danger of losing their high status in society and this is why her father is so anxious to send her away and get her married to someone that can continue to give her the life that she is accustomed to living.

    Charlotte is not one those women that want her life planned out for her. She wants to marry for love and she wants to learn about life on her own, something that she has not been able to do while living at home with her parents. Dora is Charlotte's maid. She goes along with Charlotte on her journey to America. On the way, Charlotte comes up with a grand plan to switch identities with Dora so that she can go and discover herself and get the experiences in life that she would never be able to do if she marries this man. Dora has the opportunity to live a life that she has always been around but never got to experience. She is dressed in the beautiful gowns and feels like a true princess.

    Life for Charlotte doesn't turn out quite like she expected. Immediately upon getting to New York and separating from Dora, her whole plan is changed before her very eyes. She gets new experiences, but not the ones she had hoped for. Charlotte struggles with whether she should she go and claim her spot as the true Charlotte Gleason or should she continue on, not knowing what may happen to her life as she knows it.

    This is a wonderfully told story that took me back to an era of time that is completely different to the life I am use to. I could not put this book down. Nancy Moser did a wonderful job of creating these characters and putting together a story that you could actually imagine the lives of these women in their struggles and journeys into two completely new lives. I would definitely recommend this book as a great read.

    Masquerade was provided to me by Bethany House Publishers free of charge for review purposes only. The opinions expressed are my own and have not been influenced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    This may be my new favorite Nancy Moser historical book. I still love John 3:16 the most but for historicals this book is fantastic. It is like an updated version of the prince and the pauper but it is beautifully crafted and a pure pleasure to read. I actually thought that it might bore me a little since it was similar in tale to an old story, but I was sorely mistaken. It is brilliantly written with incredible characters and I read the entire book in about a day... I just couldn't put it down. Nancy is a master of historical fiction and has proven that time and again. Masquerade just confirms it all over again - absolutely wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    AN AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL HISTORICAL FICTION DURING THE GILDED AGE!

    MASQUERADE BY NANCY MOSER is a delightful Inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1886 England and New York City. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and a page turner. It has romance, adventure, switching identities, fashion, faith, taking a chance, moving forward in your faith, rich,poor, good,bad, finding who you are and what you are supposed to be.The characters are strong, determined,troublemakers and will capture your heart. Lottie and Dora trade places, Lottie was being sent to New York to marry a wealthy merchant's son due to the scandal her father has caused. She didn't want to marry a man she has never met, so decides to get her maid to trade places with her. Dora, the maid trades places with Lottie, but she finds herself in love with another. Dora, is well received at the Tremaine's. Lottie, however, finds herself lacking funds, due to a thief. Conrad, Lottie's supposed fiance, is kind, does what his parents bidding, and truly enjoys Dora's company. Dr. Greenfield, meets Dora on the ship to America, finds he truly loves her. Fitz, the photographer who helps Lottie, finds he truly loves Lottie. This is a story on faith, finding ones purpose, truly finding love and following ones purpose in life. I would recommend this book. This book was received for review from Library Thing and the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    What a great book!!

    I was given a wonderful opportunity from Bethany House Publishers to read the latest novel by Nancy Moser. Masquerade follows Lottie Gleason, the daughter of an English aristocrat, and Dora Connors, her maid. After Lottie's father made some terrible decisions both personally and financially Lottie is shunned by England's society leading to her fleeing to New York and to Conrad Tremaine, the son of a wealthy family in New York who has been trying to get Lottie to marry him. Lottie and Dora travel as friends and as they reach New York, Lottie has a scheme to trade places. As they part ways Lottie is robbed and meets an Italian immigrant family who takes her into their home. Through twists and turns both girls find, God, who they truly are, the men of their dreams, and the one thing they both wanted, a friend.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It was well written and is a great read. I highly recommend this to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely Tale

    A lovely tale of America's Gilded Age unfolds as the pages turn on this historical romance. Lottie teaches Dora and the reader that "the first rule of being a lady" is to be "polite, prompt, pretty, and proper," and the second rule is to "smile." That sounds doable, but with the rules of dining, the restrictions of proper clothing, and propriety, we see our characters struggle. Each girl wants to be free and marry for love, but is that possible?

    Along with a look at the extravagant party given to introduce their special visitor from England to the Four Hundred of society's elite, held inside the mansion owned by the nouveau riche fictional Tremaine family, the reader experiences the horrible conditions of Five Points, the first American slums, where three to four babies would suffocate each night in the airless tenements. What a contrast!

    I read this novel straight through; I did not want to put it down. Although I guessed at the ending, I was never certain that I was guessing correctly. If historical fiction is your genre, grab this one.

    Discussion questions are included.

    Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Bethany House for my Advance Reading Copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1