BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Masquerade: Book 3 in The Games Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this author and this series. When I first found out that

    I love this author and this series. When I first found out that the readers would get a book from Maddox point of view I squealed. Such a mysterious and angry boy deserves to have his story told.

    Plot: This story follows Maddox in trying to get his life straight. Like his sister, he is dealing with his own personal demons. The plot moves at a good pace, revealing Maddox past little by little. This plot is similar like his sister but has it own originality.

    Love: This area nervous me at first. I mean they just met and well….lets just say they get frisky right away. I struggled with the thought of how they can build a friendship or even a relationship when they are so blunt and forward with their needs. It took a while for me to see their genuine feelings. I’m glad that this love was not rushed cause if it was I would have been disappointed. Still, it was built up nicely for the reader to understand.

    Ending: This book gave the happy ending that Maddox deserves. Like his sister, Maddox has to learn to let the past go and move on. Not everything that happen when he was little was his fault, despite if he knew. He was just a child. It felt like this ending really shined a light in learning to move on.

    Overall, I enjoyed this story. As I said before, this story starting shaky and very ummm… forward but the story that is built up around the character help forgive that. A complicated yet distinguished story, Masquerade is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First off I'm such a huge fan of Nyrae Dawn and also this series

    First off I'm such a huge fan of Nyrae Dawn and also this series. After falling in love with Adrian in Facade I couldn't wait to find out what was eating at Maddox.

    For Maddox he is mad at the world but in reality he is mad at himself for not telling the truth that could have changed everything.

    For Bee she is another bitter Betty with a her own hurts, anger and secrets.

    Together they both have 'needs' and use each other to get what they need until...reality doesn't make them anonymous any more and they start to need each other in other ways.

    For Maddox and Bee they are both so broken and guarded but with Laney's pushy ways, Adrian's beautiful heart and reality they realize that to heal they can only do so by needing each other for it.

    At times their bitterness and guarding got in the way of me feeling their love connection but in the end I still fell hard for Maddox and Bee.

    Great story, Great series. I do hope we will be seeing more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Maddox has always been taking care of the ones he loves, but his

    Maddox has always been taking care of the ones he loves, but his guilt for the one time he didn’t speak up has hunted him for years. He feels unworthy and like a failure, so he keeps to himself, making no commitments and keeping people from seeing who he really is. So when he meets Bee his rapport with her is no different since he doesn’t expect to see her ever again.

    For the past few years Bee has been struggling about who she is and about what her family expects her to be. She knows what she wants and how to go about it, but she’s still conflicted by that one aspect of her life. Not one to let people get close to her, she sees in Maddox something that calls to her and although she wants to keep her distance, their chemistry is too strong to be denied.

    Loved. L-O-V-E-D this story.

    Out of all the books in this series, I have to say that Masquerade is so far the edgiest and most emotional of them all. I loved Maddox. He tried so hard to do the right thing and feels so conflicted about his actions when his family came apart. He feels guilty for Adrian, for his sister and his mother. He carried such a heavy burden on his shoulders that I just wanted to smack some sense into him and keep him from feeling worse.

    Like Maddox, Bee’s problems were taking its toll on her. But in a sense she was stronger and more determined to stick to her guns. I loved how the author went about bringing these two together. It was great to see how Bee recognized some aspects of herself in Maddox and how drawn they were to each other.

    Was there chemistry? Hell yeah! But there was so much more to their connection than lust. Slowly but surely they came to rely on each other. Their interactions grew from cold and withdrawn to something more meaningful where you could glimpse their vulnerability and their need to connect to someone else. Neither one of them was looking for love, but they got smack with it nonetheless. Through flirtatious banter, honest exchanges, looks and touches Maddox and Bee’s connection grew into something palpable that could not be stopped.

    Masquerade is the second book in the Games series and although it can be read as a stand alone I recommend reading Facade first so you can get the whole story behind what has Maddox so conflicted. Plus it was a great story and a 5 star read for me.

    All in all, an amazing story of letting go, fighting your demons and opening up to what the future holds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This series is my favorite so far from Nyrae Dawn.  I absolutely

    This series is my favorite so far from Nyrae Dawn.  I absolutely loved Charade, and Facade was great to, and I have to say that I adored Masquerade.  We get to know Maddox in Facade, and I was so anxious to read his story, and anxious to meet Bee and find out more about her and her story also.  She is very different type of character, and refreshingly so.  She and Maddox are so much a like and both have gone through so much, which has shaped them into the people they are.  They share a a hot night together, both understanding that that is all it is, neither planning to or wanting to see the other again, because they neither one do relationships.  Bee's a tattoo artist and has opened up her tattoo parlor "Masquerade" in town.  Maddox wants to be a tatto artist and is looking for somewhere to apprentice.  Needless to say, when he walks in to ask for a job, they are both shocked when they see each other.  Despite both of their reservations, Maddox ends up apprenticing with Bee.  The chemistry between these two is sizzling hot, and despite their determination to stay away from each other, they have a hard time succeeding.  They have a connection, whether they want to admit it or not, and gradually, the walls begin to come down, though both have many secrets they harbor deep inside.  




    The story is told from both Maddox and Bee's point of view, alternating chapters, which I really love in a book, because it enables you to get inside both of their heads and connect with them both.  Maddox is a total badass.  He's hard, broody, sexy as sin, tattooed, rides a bike, and can come across as a real jerk.  Bee is also hard, doesn't care what anyone thinks, she's tattooed, knows what she wants, and isn't afraid to put Maddox or anyone else in their place, anyone that is except her mom.  Maddox's past has left him scarred, as has Bee's, but Bee gets him, and he gets her, something that both frightens and intrigues them both.  She isn't like anyone Maddox has ever met before.  




    As for the secondary characters, it was so wonderful to see Laney and Adrian, as well as Cheyenne and Colt, and I love that Nyrae Dawn incorporates this into the series so that the connection you make with the characters continues from book to book.  I also really loved the way she wrote the book.  Neither Maddox or Bee actually say a lot, but there is so much inferred in the little they do say, and they understand what each other means in those few words that are actually spoken.  Nyrae Dawn writes both the spoken and unspoken words and does it in a way that just captures the character, the depth of what they are actually saying, and their essence so beautifully.  




    Masquerade is painfully beautiful and I could not put it down, and found myself totally engrossed in the novel from beginning to end.  I found Masquerade to be an outstanding installment in a must read series and I totally fell in love with Maddox and Bee and their story.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Masquerade is the third and I believe final book in Nyrae Dawn's

    Masquerade is the third and I believe final book in Nyrae Dawn's Games series. When I learned this book was about Maddox, I was thrilled. Maddox is Laney's brother from the second book Facade and I loved his protective nature and bad boy attitude in that story.

    Maddox is that perfect alpha male, bad boy who is broken and needs saved. Unfortunately due to carrying misplaced guilt for his family's problems, he rarely shows emotion and keeps himself from getting close to others, until Bee. Bee is the owner of the only tattoo parlor in town and Maddox wants to be an apprentice there, unfortunately he was unaware of this fact when he became "shall we say, acquainted" with Bee the night before he tries to get the apprenticeship.

    Bee is a wonderful person to help Maddox. In some ways they are so much alike. Bee struggles with her identity due to past traumas. She is confused by the concept of love and as such is hesitant to let herself experience it. Both characters are rough around the edges and say what is on their minds. While working together it gets harder for them to deny the attraction and feelings that are between them. The tattoe scene at her home...OMG, loved it. Together they help each other express and get through the problems from their past and find a way to have a relationship.

    One of the best things about Masquerade is that we get more of Laney and Adrian in this book. It is no secret how much I loved Facade and I was deeply touched by their story. Their is continued drama for Maddox and Laney dealing with their mom and Maddox's struggle with his feelings brought me to tears. My emotions only intensified with the raw exchange that takes place between Maddox and Adrian.

    This book has it all: the passion, the emotion, and even lighter moments which will make you laugh. I loved the epilogue and how Dawn incorporates the titles of each book in the series into the ending...genious.

    Thanks to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional, romantic, and absolutely amazing! Masquerade was a br

    Emotional, romantic, and absolutely amazing! Masquerade was a brilliant New Adult romance. I loved this book! From the romance, to the secrets, it was all wonderful. Loved it, just loved it!

    Bee was a great heroine. She had an odd past that made her unable to fit in, no matter how hard she tried. So, eventually, she started pushing everyone away, rather than fail at who everyone wanted her to be. She was very strong, determined to succeed on her own right. I really liked her. I thought she was wonderful.

    Maddox was amazing. He was very sweet and very loyal and protective of his loved ones. He blamed himself for his father's mistakes, but he was obviously a truly good man. I totally adored him. I thought he was a perfectly flawed hero.

    The romance was lovely. Bee and Maddox were very sweet together. I loved how they both helped each other heal. And, the chemistry between them was super hot. There were definitely some steamy moment to turn the heat up. I thought these two were perfect together.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. There were some surprising secrets lurking in the characters' pasts that took me by surprise. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect.

    Masquerade was a brilliant New Adult romance. I loved every bit of it, from the sweet and steamy romance, to the surprising secrets. Romance lovers, this book is a must read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 5 of 5 ¿¿ Bee just opened her own tattoo





    My rating: 5 of 5 ¿¿








    Bee just opened her own tattoo studio, the realization of her dreams and the one place she feels is really her own. Disjointed by a traumatic childhood having been kidnapped at a young age and kept by a couple other than her parents for nine years before being returned, she has trouble finding her place in the world. Tattooing is her life, it's what she loves to do and what feels right. 




    When she walks into a club for a celebratory drink and spots a lone man standing against a wall, she is intrigued by his demeanour, his ink and his good looks and doesn't hesitate to act on the hot surge of lust.




    Holding tight to his tough exterior is the only way for Maddox to avoid getting drawn into any more emotional entanglements. He's had enough of those in his life. Looking after a suicidal mother and his sister after his bastard of a father went to jail for killing a child was enough to last him a life time. The only thing he had left was his art and his hopes of finally making his debut as a tattoo artist.




    He is working his security job at the club when he sees her walk in and sit next to his station. Gorgeous and inked up beautifully. Never looking for more than instant gratification, he jumps on the opportunity to find short term relief in her delicious body.




    The last person Bee expects to find as her new apprentice was the incredible one night stand, Maddox. But with the understanding that neither of them is looking for repeats, she can't resist the promise of his drawn art and takes him on. They are both liars. The chemistry between them is so thick, it is impossible to resist. And even though neither is capable of using words as a way to express themselves, their bodies don't seem to have any problems.




    Over time, both Bee and. Maddox let their guards slip and the people behind the characters they portray are exposed more and more. Until they have to make the decision to be satisfied living behind their masks or whether they are going to have the courage to open up and rip them off completely.....




    *****




    WOW!!! What a fantastic surprise!! 




    I had not read the previous two books and honestly, it was not necessary to get the backstory for this book. It does very well as a standalone. The context needed came through quite clearly and concisely.




    I'm not going to miss one of Nyrae Dawn's books again, I can tell you that!! A lovely writing style and a mesmerizing flow that had me pulled into the pages of this novel. 




    The story is a tad dark and angsty at first glance, but there is a lightness there as well, a relief found in the art the protagonists practise, that brightens the entire feel of the book. Add to that the addition of the supporting cast of two couples who are blissfully in love and committed to each other, and you have a perfect contrast that stands out in balance. 




    Both Maddox and Bee have come through a traumatic time in their life and are stuck in a coping mechanism, not able to move through and out of it, despite the fact that the trauma and the coping mechanism are no longer a necessity. Their way of standing in life has become such an instinctual thing, it requires a shake up of massive proportion to jar them out of position. They are each other's "shake up". 
    Love sneaks up on them and by the time they realize it's there, it has its claws so deep, they are completely thrown off by it. Exactly what is needed to jump start their individual and joint development.




    I loved this story. I loved the fact that it wasn't schmaltzy...but still it was sweet, it wasn't crass....but still it was direct, and it wasn't overly emotional.....but was very compelling. There was no over-doing anything in this book, everything was 'just right'. Kudos, Nyrae Dawn, my eyes are peeled for your name!!




    ¿A sharp, vivid and fierce fan-freakin-tastic read!! ¿








    **ARC provided by NetGalley and Forever in return for an honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1