Customer Reviews for

Masques (Sianim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The rebellion against magical evil story line is entertaining

Aralorn the shapechanger has been a spy for Sianim for years as the money is great. She is assigned to penetrate the Kingdom of Reth where the powerful sorcerer Geoffrey ae'Magi has established a cruel dictatorship; her mission is to assess how potent the mage is and w...
Aralorn the shapechanger has been a spy for Sianim for years as the money is great. She is assigned to penetrate the Kingdom of Reth where the powerful sorcerer Geoffrey ae'Magi has established a cruel dictatorship; her mission is to assess how potent the mage is and what he is scheming on beyond this beleaguered land. To Aralorn accompanied by Wolf, this is another easy task.

However, once inside she realizes how dangerous and powerful Geoffrey is. Aralorn quickly completes her mission and rushes back to Sianim to report. Only she now learns how far Geoffrey has ties as his insidious control reaches everywhere. With Wolf at her side, Aralorn the mercenary takes her first stand without a thought of money when she joins the resistance.

This is a revision of Patricia Briggs' first fantasy from the early 1990s; the sequel never released before will soon follow. The rebellion against magical evil story line is entertaining even without Mercy although the cast comes across stereotypical of the sub-genre. Still fans will root for Aralorn as she goes from avarice give me the money realist to rebel with a cause idealist.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brutal

I accidentally purchased the sequel to this book, Wolfsbane, not realizing it was the sequel until I was a few pages into the book. Realizing that I needed to read this book first, I went ahead and bought it. I CANNOT GET THROUGH THIS BOOK!!!! I keep hoping that if I...
I accidentally purchased the sequel to this book, Wolfsbane, not realizing it was the sequel until I was a few pages into the book. Realizing that I needed to read this book first, I went ahead and bought it. I CANNOT GET THROUGH THIS BOOK!!!! I keep hoping that if I keep reading it will get better but I eventually give up, buy and read a whole other book and then try to go back to this book but I STILL can't finish it! The characters spent way too much time STUDYING BOOKS about how to defeat the bad guy and going off into tangents about random folk tale than they did actually FIGHTING the bad guy. (yawn)

posted by SherE1 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The rebellion against magical evil story line is entertaining

    Aralorn the shapechanger has been a spy for Sianim for years as the money is great. She is assigned to penetrate the Kingdom of Reth where the powerful sorcerer Geoffrey ae'Magi has established a cruel dictatorship; her mission is to assess how potent the mage is and what he is scheming on beyond this beleaguered land. To Aralorn accompanied by Wolf, this is another easy task.

    However, once inside she realizes how dangerous and powerful Geoffrey is. Aralorn quickly completes her mission and rushes back to Sianim to report. Only she now learns how far Geoffrey has ties as his insidious control reaches everywhere. With Wolf at her side, Aralorn the mercenary takes her first stand without a thought of money when she joins the resistance.

    This is a revision of Patricia Briggs' first fantasy from the early 1990s; the sequel never released before will soon follow. The rebellion against magical evil story line is entertaining even without Mercy although the cast comes across stereotypical of the sub-genre. Still fans will root for Aralorn as she goes from avarice give me the money realist to rebel with a cause idealist.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Another Great Patricia Briggs

    This book is set in a different land where magic predominates. As usual Patricia holds your attention from start to finish. The slowly evolving relationship between the two main characters, wolf and aralorn are developed at a good pace and with fine detail. The humor that Patricia puts in all her books is quite evident here and is one of the reasons I love her books.
    You will enjoy this one; I just finished it and bought the next one, Wolfsbane.
    ENJOY

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    I never found the original story. But, I pre-ordered this and downloaded it a few minutes after midnight yesterday. YES! It is great! Patricia Briggs is a great author. Her books are exciting and her characters live in your mind as real people. She is one of the best authors being published today. She does not shortchange her readers.

    I see her name as author on a book and KNOW that I will get a story to cherish and read over and over again with enjoyment.

    Thank you Patricia Briggs

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Masques Review

    I have never been so entranced by wonderful books such as these novels have been. This is a must read on a wish list and you will that these books differ far from what other writers and readers would sterotype most books of werewolf and magical fantasy. I have never been so excited by an author and their books since the final HP book for J.K. Rowling. I cannot wait for her next accomplishment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    excellent storywriter

    to date, none of patricia briggs' works have been disappointing. she pulls you in and keeps your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Super Author - best in world

    Everything that Patricia Briggs creates is so awesome and wonderful entertainment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    I love Patricia Briggs.

    I love Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Love Aralorn and Wolf

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love It

    This was the revisted book that Patricia had reworked, I found the book very good as well as the storyline pulled me in love Aralorn and Wolf want to read more about them Already read Wolfbane and love it as well..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    As usual Patricia Briggs writes like you are actually there! Not too much detail to make if boring but just enough to see into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    g

    hot baybyh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Thoroughly enjoyed this easy read

    I have read more detailed books but this one captured my attention from the very beginning and kept me reading into the early morning hours. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Amazing!

    I have been an avid reader and fan of Patricia Briggs, and her first book Masques is just as great as any of her other books! It has a hint of magic and a kiss of romance, sure to ensnare any reader for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7