Customer Reviews for

The Mass: The Glory, the Mystery, the Tradition

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Simply & Beautifully Written

    I read an interview with the Archbishop concerning this book. I was impressed with the simple and beautiful way he talked about the Mass and it's origins. This book is not loaded down with theology. This book is written in a way that makes it a an interesting read. The new language that is going to be used starting this Advent makes sense. This is definitely a must read for Catholics, but I would also recommend it to others because it explains why Catholics do what they do.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great book

    If you want a simple understanding of the Mass from the begimning to end this is te book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Understanding the Mass

    I understand the Mass more than I ever did. The description of vestments and chalices was very informative. I see the Mass better than I ever did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Catechetical Text

    This book by Cardinal Donald Wuerl and Mike Aquilina is a good catechetical resource for Catholics, especially those in Faith Formation programs or those entering the Church through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) program. It gives good though somewhat basic explanatory look at what the Mass means for Catholics as well as the meaning behind many the gestures, words and vestments that we use when celebrating the Mass. Another reviewer, citing an essay in the May 23 edition of America magazine, rightly notes, however, that there are some mistakes that take place that would hopefully be resolved in a future edition of the book. That being said, however, the book remains a good resource given its basic aim, which, if I understanding the authors correctly, is not a complete, thorough historical-theological exposition of the Mass. If that were the case the critiques of the book would carry more weight. Without saying as much it seems that the authors are leaving such an endeavor for others. Rather, given the forthcoming revisions of the Roman Missal, it was deemed worthy to bring forth this sort of book as something of a refresher course for John and Jane Doe lay Catholic in the pew as well as a help to recent converts to the faith.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    For those who seek a better understanding of the rituals of the

    For those who seek a better understanding of the rituals of the Roman Catholic Mass, this is a treasure of information, covering all aspects and history of the Sacrament, dating back to the original event on the night of the Last Supper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Originally I purchased this book to learn more about language tr

    Originally I purchased this book to learn more about language translation changes affecting the Mass beginning Advent 2012. Much to my unanticipated satisfaction, I found this book to be an excellent resource of facts and history about the Mass. More importantly, it also contains inspirational insights that have profoundly affected my understanding of the Roman Catholic liturgy. While I have read this book from cover to cover several times, I often meditate on a specific section to increase perception of a line, gesture, or part of Mass that had remained hidden to me. For example, previously the Eucharistic prayer said by the Priest had seemingly-raced by without much thought on my part, but explanation of the Holy Spirit’s role in the Eucharist now pulls me into this prayer, and I no longer feel distracted by its recitation. Highly recommended for people recently discovering the beauty of the Mass and for people who have long attended Mass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Don't waste time or money

    It has only 4 pages and that's it. Nothing
    No star rating

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Qualified Recommendation

    A review of "The Mass" in America magazine (May 23, 2011) is worth reading per the books limitations: some historical inaccuracies, no mention of some key figures in the liturgical movement, poor presentation of facts (e.g., the Mass' Kyrie is addressed to the three persons in the Trinity -- wrong!).

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1