Customer Reviews for

The Master Butchers Singing Club

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow - I Love This Woman

I have been reading Louise Erdrich for years and now I make a point to hunt her down when I visit the book store. Fidelis stole my heart from the beginning. As a great-grandchild of German immigrants I felt like he was sitting on a branch of my family tree. Delph...
I have been reading Louise Erdrich for years and now I make a point to hunt her down when I visit the book store. Fidelis stole my heart from the beginning. As a great-grandchild of German immigrants I felt like he was sitting on a branch of my family tree. Delphine is the woman I wished I could be. So daring and honest her actions are not predestined as much as inevitable. The story moved briskly along making me laugh and cry until the all too soon end. Beginning at World War I and continuing into World War II, our heroes try to more than just survive as the try to make a living and protect the flawed people they love. Erdrich creates people who will live on forever.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What did I miss!!!

We read this book as part of our book club. Although the writing style and character development may have been well done, the story was torturous for me. I thought the author made the book unnecessarily depressing. I only kept reading to see if the story could get wo...
We read this book as part of our book club. Although the writing style and character development may have been well done, the story was torturous for me. I thought the author made the book unnecessarily depressing. I only kept reading to see if the story could get worse. All but one in our book club felt the same way. I do recognize as I read the reviews that I am in the minority, but I want to warn others who don't want to end a book in a state of depression of the content of this book. At the end I did not feel moved, enlightened, or better off for having read the book.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    Thumbs Up

    Louise Erdrich is an overall wonderful author, but the Master Butcher's Singing Club was very unique book, because usually Erdrich writes about Native American subjects. While she still mentioned Native American, they had a much smaller basis in this book. The book looked more at the difficulties of individual struggles, gay/lesbian struggles, and German-American struggles during WWII. The Master Butcher is a really touching story that simultaneously makes you hungry (literally), causes you to experience deep loss, and gives you hope through the characters. I really enjoyed the mythological twist on the character's names as well, especially Cyprian and Delphine, but also the mysticism of Native American culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Wow - I Love This Woman

    I have been reading Louise Erdrich for years and now I make a point to hunt her down when I visit the book store. Fidelis stole my heart from the beginning. As a great-grandchild of German immigrants I felt like he was sitting on a branch of my family tree. Delphine is the woman I wished I could be. So daring and honest her actions are not predestined as much as inevitable. The story moved briskly along making me laugh and cry until the all too soon end. Beginning at World War I and continuing into World War II, our heroes try to more than just survive as the try to make a living and protect the flawed people they love. Erdrich creates people who will live on forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    What did I miss!!!

    We read this book as part of our book club. Although the writing style and character development may have been well done, the story was torturous for me. I thought the author made the book unnecessarily depressing. I only kept reading to see if the story could get worse. All but one in our book club felt the same way. I do recognize as I read the reviews that I am in the minority, but I want to warn others who don't want to end a book in a state of depression of the content of this book. At the end I did not feel moved, enlightened, or better off for having read the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    must read

    This is Erdrich at her best. She is a born story teller. The conversations in this book reflect her ability to put you into the the time frame of the story. Always in context.
    If you have never read Louise Erdrich before, you are in for a treat. Bet you will become an "author follower".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    simply outstanding

    This is one of the best books I have read to date, and being an English major means I have read LOTS of books. Each character is so complex and the plot is full of twists and turns that keep you wanting more. It is beautifully written, so many loaded words and passages yet very easy to follow. Definitely not a book that I would ever have read on my own but after reading it for a class I will be reading more of Erdrich's books for pleasure. I would reccomend this to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Unexpected Find!

    This book didn't initially jump out at me, but I absolutely fell in love with it! I truly missed the characters when I finished the novel. You will be engulfed in this book, & you will never guess the twist at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Neat book!

    I read Lousie's husband's book called A Broken Cord and just had to read her work too. Wow! Every word has been chosen carefully. This book is outstanding and I loved the characters, plot, and attention to details! Because of my enjoyment in reading this book, I have purchased another book by the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    a great book!!!!!!

    This book was wonderful, held your interest from the first page...right up there with Maia, and Foxmask.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Rich characters and a vivid story

    I had never read this author before and stumbled upon this book. My gosh. It felt like it took forever to read because the characters were so rich and the story so vivid. It wasn't just that I couldn't put the book down, it's that I didn't want to leave the world Louise Erdrich created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Beautiful Novel

    If Erdrich were to knit like she writes, I imagine hers to be a rich warm blanket, full of color and unexpected patterns, with a few stray threads hanging. Her descriptions of the great plains recall Cather, but with such affection for its inhabitants. I found myself wanting more detail from the supporting cast, but the ends that were left are enough for my imagination. A wonderful treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Superb

    This book is beautiful. It is complete, it is hearty, it is engaging. You leave it feeling totally satisfied that you've had all of each wonderfully spun character. This is a masterpiece. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    The Master Authors Fan Club

    I am an unabashed Louise Erdrich fanatic. The Master Butchers Singing Club is further evidence she is indeed becoming a Master Story Teller. I have no insightful comments about the characters, story line, descriptive passages, contained in the book. It is compelling, thought provoking, entertaining reading. As I drew close to the ending, I did all I could to slow my pace and savor the experience. When I finished the book I had feelings that were similar to those that come from eating a fine meal with good companions, or spending all my passion making love with my wife. Satisfaction, contentment, gratitude with a tinge of sadness that it is finished, but a spark of glee at the knowledge that I will be hungry and passionate again soon. Unfortunately, I will have to wait several months before another Erdrich novel appears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    Great Characters

    I bought this book - the first I've read by Ms. Erdrich - because of the short story (part of this book) that was included in the O.Henry Prize Stories. I wasn't disappointed. She made her characters come alive and gave vivid descriptions of North Dakota without becoming too wordy. There were a few times when I thought she could have explained more in the way of plot, but it was a good read overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    Touching! Reminds you of being human.

    Too much to mention! This book is craftfully written. The relationship that occurs is glorious. The dialogue profound and amusing at times. It took a week to finish and I will start it again when I go skiing. If you love to read about relationships and being human you'll love this witty, fresh book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Great Book!

    This is defintely different from most of Erdrich's past work, but it is a beautifully written look at life in a small town during World War I. The characters are richly developed and knowing that some of this was based on Erdrich's own family makes it even more interesting to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    After a while with this book I truly didn't want to finish it. B

    After a while with this book I truly didn't want to finish it. But for some reason, I stuck with it. It seemed so depressing! I am glad I stuck with it. When I finished I wished there was more, and I laughed at the thought of almost leaving it one third read. What made me continue? I cheated - I read a synopsis of the rest of the book, and knowing how it turned out made me want to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Well written

    An immigrant story spiced with murder. I love Erdrich style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Fun read.

    I found this a great story while simultaneously learning some valuable history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2