Customer Reviews for

The Master Puppeteer

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    The Master's Puppeteer

    10-21-08<BR/>10A<BR/><BR/>The Master Puppeteer: Book Review<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>He¿s a shadow at dawn and a ghost at dust. He is Saburo, the bandit who is a mystery to all at the Hanaza. The title of this book is The Master Puppeteer by Katherine Paterson. The story takes place during the time of Japan¿s isolationism, where a young boy named Jiro goes on a journey to find who this bandit is. Throughout the story the bandit steals from the rich and gives to the poor. I recommend this book to those who enjoy action, and learning about information of another culture. <BR/><BR/>A strength of The Master Puppeteer is that it has a good conflict. The conflict is interesting because Jiro, the main character is trying to find out who Saburo is. Throughout the story, Saburo was a thief that stole from the rich and gave to the poor, but no one knows who he was. The only clue they had was a poem that he left to distract them. For example, he leaves a poem at the Hanaza and people are excited to see if he will show. ¿The bandit¿s message was a source excited speculation¿ (Paterson#87). <BR/><BR/><BR/>Another strength of The Master Puppeteer is that it informs you about Japanese culture. It tells you about Japanese culture by talking about Japanese religious ceremonies. One of those ceremonies is the puppet show. The Japanese people get dressed in costumes and they have swordfights. The ceremonies are located in the Hanaza, a Japanese place for worship. <BR/><BR/><BR/>Some my say that The Master Puppeteer has strong language, and is hard to read. However, I disagree because it makes you a stronger reader, by challenging yourself. Then after a while you would often want to read a higher level of books.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/> I still recommend this book to those who enjoy conflict. I also recommend this book because it tells you about certain ceremonies, and it even tells you about the Japanese place of worship. So this book is recommended to those types of readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    summary

    it was a good book that everyone can enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    The Master Puppeteer

    Let¿s say you¿re living an easy life with no worries or stress, and then one day everything becomes different. Life starts becoming difficult. What would happen to you? This is the dilemma that young boy Jiro, son of Hanji and Isako, is facing. Jiro is an apprentice training to be an artisan. Throughout the book The Master Puppeteer by Katherine Paterson, Jiro goes through many difficulties. He starts to experiment mental change. This book is very thrilling and filled with action. Descriptive language is what makes readers read the book. The characters¿ actions are revealed by language such as ¿Jiro stood, his back against the thin window, hardly breathing as if by not making a sound. He could remain invisible to the blind man.¿ (Patterson149) This helps readers visualize the story and would make him or her want to continue reading. One weakness is that in the first couple of chapters, the reader might lose focus while reading the book. In the beginning of the book, there seems to be no action. Nothing is really going on until you get to about the third chapter. An example of dullness would be the very first sentence, ¿Jiro shook his hair out of his eyes and bent once more over the worktable. ¿I see the first couple of chapters as a disadvantage because it might not catch the readers¿ attention right away. A recommendation to anyone who picks up this book would be to stay focused and interested in the first couple chapters. It might seem a little boring, but you must hold on a bit longer. Once readers pass a few chapters, they won¿t want to stop reading. In this book, the main character goes through things like change, guilt, manipulation and trust. Teenagers would be most interested in this book because it is mostly about trust. Trust would be considered as being a big lesson in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    My review of this book.

    The Masters Puppeteer Book Review What if you based your future on puppets? This book, The Masters Puppeteer, by Katherine Paterson, tells the story about a Japanese boy named, Jiro. This story takes place in Osaka during the 1800¿s. This story tells us the struggles of Jiro before and during his time in the puppet business. His parents didn¿t want Jiro to live with them anymore, so Jiro turned to Yoshida for a job and a place to live. Throughout the story, Jiro uncovered many secrets about the people he knew. The book¿s strengths are that it had believable characters and descriptive language. The book had characters that the reader could connect with. ¿¿I know, I know,¿ the miserable boy groaned to himself.¿ (Paterson 2). The reader could connect with Jiro because this is probably how the reader also sometimes reacts. The book also had a lot of descriptive language. ¿He was still wide awake when Kinshi slipped out from between his quilts and tiptoed silently out the Hanaza.¿ (Paterson 120). Instead of the author just telling us what is happening, she uses descriptive words to show us how he left out the Hanaza. This book¿s strength is that the reader can connect with the characters and visualize what is happening. The book¿s weakness is that it wasn¿t a page-turner. Throughout the book it usually got boring, and there were only some times that the book would get interesting. This book got boring in the beginning and in the middle. The book would get boring because nothing interesting will happen for a long time. If the author can¿t make the story interesting, the reader will lose interest and stop reading the book. I do recommend this book because it gives good historical information on Japan. If you want to learn the life of a Japanese person in the 1800s in Japan, this is a good book to read. This book is a good book for teenagers because it talks about the life of a teenager in Japan, and they will be able to relate to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    the master puppeteer

    The Master Puppeteer has much strength. Strength of the novel is the way it is written. The author uses many figurative language skills to put more feeling into her writing. For example, the author uses personification to give action to different objects throughout the story. ¿The puppet¿s dance was as well as a real woman you could not tell the difference between real person and the puppet.¿ {p.56} . It is sometimes hard to follow the story through the writing and some of the words are hard to understand why she uses them. In the start of the book the characters are hard to understand and the plot makes you think what was the purpose of having this section in the novel. ¿As the fire went through the city I had noticed a fireman that I had seemed to have a resemblance of my father who was sick and in the country. How could he possibly be here if had was sick had he been lying to else all this time.¿ {132} I would recommend this book to anyone who likes drama and the suspense of a great story. The relationship between the characters is amazing. They are so involved with each other they all try to help each other with all of the problems that they have and go through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    interesting...

    very boring from the beginning, but became interesting later on...i enjoyed the book but i suppose it needs something added to it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    A Really Good Book

    I really liked the Master Puppeteer. I thought it was a good book for people who want a little more advanced reading. At some parts I was a bit confused, but overall the book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    The Master Puppeteer

    The Master Puppeteer is a extremly realistic novel. I think that the story is well writen, with a few errors, the book itself is capturing, detailed, resonable, good for history and many other things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Very Realistic

    I liked this book very much. It was exciting and hard to put down at times. It was action packed. I really liked the part where Jiro has to decide if Yoshida shouldbe beheaded! I didnt think it was hard to read at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1