Customer Reviews for

The Master Quilter (Elm Creek Quilts Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A classic

In 2002 Sylvia Compson and her eight partner friends have turned the Elm Creek Manor into a successful quilter making school and meeting place. Her friend Sarah quietly requests former students gift a block to be included in a special wedding quilt for the recently ma...
In 2002 Sylvia Compson and her eight partner friends have turned the Elm Creek Manor into a successful quilter making school and meeting place. Her friend Sarah quietly requests former students gift a block to be included in a special wedding quilt for the recently married Sylvia and her new husband .Andrew........ ................... Summer struggles with informing her Elm Creek Quilter mom Gwen that she has moved in with her boyfriend knowing the angry reaction she will receive about throwing away one¿s freedom for a man. Gwen is also upset that she failed to obtain the department chair at the college she works because her academic research into quilting is perceived as insignificant. With his unsolicited actions Bonnie¿s husband proves that their relationship is practically dead and adding to her woes is the fact that someone broke into her fabric store and robbed all of the blocks received for Sylvia's wedding quilt. Agnes, Judy, Diane and Mary Beth have personal woes too, but all eight women worry about the wedding quilt most............................. More a series of vignettes as each of the quilter friends serves as lead of a chapter, fans of the series will enjoy the close up look at the supporting octet. Of interest is that readers receive the same events over the same time frame, but told from a different perspective (everything is relative). Jennifer Chiaverini¿s vast readership will appreciate THE MASTER QUILTER for it s insight into some old friends, but newcomers will wonder if the story line block was stolen too....................... Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Par!

I loved the first 5 books in this series, but this sixth one was a disappointment. The author writes the same things over and over. It is so repetitious that I had all I could do to see it through to the end. I am afraid that the author should have stopped at...
I loved the first 5 books in this series, but this sixth one was a disappointment. The author writes the same things over and over. It is so repetitious that I had all I could do to see it through to the end. I am afraid that the author should have stopped at five.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    extremely poor editing if any.

    I have found that the Elm Creek series have little editing and numerous mistakes. In Master Quiler beginning on p 61 the author rehashes the same story line at least four times thereafter. I gave up on the book. I will not pick another Jennifer Chiavani novel. What a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Not up to Par!

    I loved the first 5 books in this series, but this sixth one was a disappointment. The author writes the same things over and over. It is so repetitious that I had all I could do to see it through to the end. I am afraid that the author should have stopped at five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    A classic

    In 2002 Sylvia Compson and her eight partner friends have turned the Elm Creek Manor into a successful quilter making school and meeting place. Her friend Sarah quietly requests former students gift a block to be included in a special wedding quilt for the recently married Sylvia and her new husband .Andrew........ ................... Summer struggles with informing her Elm Creek Quilter mom Gwen that she has moved in with her boyfriend knowing the angry reaction she will receive about throwing away one¿s freedom for a man. Gwen is also upset that she failed to obtain the department chair at the college she works because her academic research into quilting is perceived as insignificant. With his unsolicited actions Bonnie¿s husband proves that their relationship is practically dead and adding to her woes is the fact that someone broke into her fabric store and robbed all of the blocks received for Sylvia's wedding quilt. Agnes, Judy, Diane and Mary Beth have personal woes too, but all eight women worry about the wedding quilt most............................. More a series of vignettes as each of the quilter friends serves as lead of a chapter, fans of the series will enjoy the close up look at the supporting octet. Of interest is that readers receive the same events over the same time frame, but told from a different perspective (everything is relative). Jennifer Chiaverini¿s vast readership will appreciate THE MASTER QUILTER for it s insight into some old friends, but newcomers will wonder if the story line block was stolen too....................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    I Recommend the entire Elm Creek Quilts Series

    Jennifer Chiaverini has a way of pulling you into this from her first words. The story of Silvia Bergstrom Compsons wedding on Christmas Eve, the women and men who are part of her story, the way it all integrates their lives as they prepare for the much anticipated day, the quilt that they are jointly making, is truly a story that you don't want to see end. You really don't need to know anything about quilting, I certainly did not, but I have found myself wanting to read each book in this series, (I started out borrowing them from the library), and then finding that I wanted to own the entire set---and so I have. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Meh

    I like stories that continue on with the same characters but not the same story over and over. This book was like watching Groundhog day just from different perspecives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    You guys shud buuy it

    BUY IT BUU IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!"""!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    The whole series highly recommended great family reading

    The Master Quilter is a story about Sylvia and the Elm Quilt camp. Again another story about an old/young 73 year old lady and her amazing knowledge she has to pass on to new and old quilters. I wish I had some one like her to learn from. Keep reading Love-2-Quilt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Good book

    Like the continuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    What Happened?

    I'm glad I'm not the only one. I thought at first that the publisher got the pages out of sequence but when I kept reading the same situation over and over from the other person's viewpoint, I found myself flipping through the pages. I've read some of the other books in this series but I'm trying to decide whether I want to spend the money for another book that may read like this one. I guess I'll pay close attention to the reviews of the others. This is a real shame because the stories so far have been very well written and we've received a lot of information about quilting. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    still exciting

    i have read all the books in the series. and even though there were some repeats. i still am compelled to read the next one. i am a quilter of 6years and am amazed at all the stories and designs there are. i am having fun keep up good work. bonnie bennett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    We Need A Change

    Jennifers first books were so great. You got to know the characters in depth. You felt like you were at Elm Creek Manor. I especially loved Round Robin and Cross Country. While I love history, it was the interaction between the people that came to and worked at Elm Creek Manor that made a great story. I do hope Jennifer will return to here earlier format for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    GOOD BUT.....

    I HAVE BEEN ENJOYING THIS SERIES, EVEN THOUGH I'M NOT A QUILTER. BUT I MUST SAY AUTHOR DID NOT HAVE TO REPEAT EACH EVENT VERBATIM EVERYTIME SHE SHOWED A DIFFERENT POINT OF VIEW. I FELT IT TOOK AWAY FROM THE STORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1