Customer Reviews for

Master Your Metabolism: The 3 Diet Secrets to Naturally Balancing Your Hormones for a Hot and Healthy Body!

Average Rating 3.5
( 417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Understanding Your Enemy

OK, I admit it, I read this book looking for a quick fix. Hoping for a 14 day program to free myself from the fat packing tyranny of my metabolism. I should have known better. What I got was an education. Jillian Michaels, the tough coach of The Biggest Loser, has lived...
OK, I admit it, I read this book looking for a quick fix. Hoping for a 14 day program to free myself from the fat packing tyranny of my metabolism. I should have known better. What I got was an education. Jillian Michaels, the tough coach of The Biggest Loser, has lived her research and presents it in an easy-to-understand, if not do, manner. Early on she tells you that this book has nothing to do with exercise. Well, that's a relief! She also says that it doesn't have to do with counting calories either.

The book does discuss in depth (for the layman, anyway) what we are doing that works against our metabolism and how to mend out ways. We need to Remove, Restore, and Rebalance. Jillian tells us what changes we can make to get our hormones and thus our metabolism working for us so we can be healthy, toned, and fit.

She stresses the importance of real foods, but points out that it doesn't have to be all organic either. However, if the label on your food is mostly chemical names, it's probably not doing you much good. Some of this you've heard before: drink lots of water, eat your vegetables, try to have less stress in your life, shop the perimeter of the store. But here she explains why this stuff matters. There are charts of symptoms you can use to figure out which hormones you have been working against. There are also helpful lists of what to do and what to eat.

The hardest advice from this book for me was "Remove toxins from your environment." I use plastics, cleaning supplies, cosmetics, I bring my clothes to the dry cleaners, I wear makeup and nail polish. Not that Jillian is saying don't use this stuff. She is, in fact, giving us more healthful substitutes. But it's just a lot to do, a big impact on how I am used to living (I whine).

But, back to the good stuff. The book includes a section on the nutrients you need to add back to your diet, tips on rebalancing how you use your energy (where she does suggest 4 to 5 hours a week exercise along with disparaging my "walk across parking lots" and "take the stairs" plan), and a reminder to be good to yourself. You gotta love a book that tells you that.

And, finally, I get my 14 days of menus (with recipes!).

posted by PaulaBSlim on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Missing: Illustrations, Info Boxes, Recipes, and More

I purchased this book hardcover and absolutely loved it. HOWEVER, the vast majority of the reference information, go-to guides and charts, as well as the entire shopping list and recipe section is missing from the electronic copy. I purchased this eBook solely as a qu...
I purchased this book hardcover and absolutely loved it. HOWEVER, the vast majority of the reference information, go-to guides and charts, as well as the entire shopping list and recipe section is missing from the electronic copy. I purchased this eBook solely as a quick reference for this information when I am out and about or at the grocery store and unfortunately it is useless for this purpose. Go out and buy the book, don't waste your money on an electronic copy!

posted by Master_Metabolizer on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hormones, Diet, and Health

    The title of this review seems to sum up the book nicely I think. Potential buyers need to know that this book has nothing at all to do with exercise. It also has nothing to do with calorie counting. While this IS first and foremost a diet book, buy it if you want to lose weight and would like more information as to what role hormones play in you being overweight AND what you can do about it. Having said that, the book is all about the major hormones, such as insulin, thyroid, estrogen, etc..., what they do, how they work, and what role they play in your health and weight. The book proposes a three step "Master Plan" (remove, restore, and rebalance), and comes complete with recipes and meal plans- which many will appreciate. A great read on its subject, get it if you want to get a good grasp on the interaction between you hormones, diet, and health. Do keep in mind, however, that while Jillian is promoting the role of hormones in weight maintenance, she does state in the book that she also eats between 1800 and 2000 calories and day, as well as exercises 5 hours a week- which no doubt plays a major role in her svelte figure. Readers who have trouble sticking to a diet or exercise program might also be interested in "The Sixty-Second Motivator".

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    AWESOME BOOK - DO **NOT** BUY IT AS AN EBOOK

    I bought a nook yesterday, read the sample of this book, and purchased the entire ebook almost immediately.

    (1) Jillian clearly explains things that you kind of already new (junk food bad!), but she explains it in such away that makes you understand REALLY the whys, and, more importantly, the WHY it can do permanent damage AND why you have to stop immediately. SUPER motivational. I am totally going through my kitchen and tossing the cans. Gives me the heebie jeebies just thinking about whats going into my food!

    (2) I read the ebook through.... and then immediately went to Barnes and Noble to look at the physical book. All of the wornderful charts, pics, side tables, etc, that makes this book a five star are impossible to read in the ebook (very small font) AND non-resizable AND the charts that span multiple pages are in the wrong order - and sometimes in different sections of the book entirely. Complete waste of information.

    (3) I called B&N customer service and got the credit back for the ebook and am buying the hardcover instead. YES ebooks are normally non-refundable, but B&N are staffed with rational people - no one expects you to pay for a book that is obviously defective.

    (4) Since B&N lumps all reviews for all formats of a product into one, I wanted to makes sure I gave the book itself 5 stars - but I placed in the title a warning about the ebook, which deserves 1 star. Well, maybe 2 stars. The readable content is still very good.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    A Must Read

    Jillian is fearless in her quest to expose how corporate America is poisening us and making us fat. Her book is an enlightening expose and a credible solution to health and weight loss. Jillian explains how we can literally change our physical destiny. That our weight and or health are not genetic sentences handed down from our parents. I feel empowered for the first time with the knowledge in this book. I have already cleaned out every cabinet in my house and just from the week long change in diet I have slept better and my energy levels are drastically improved. I love this book. If you have been struggling with diet for years or just care about your health it's a must have

    16 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Jillian does it again!

    I am an avid reader of Jillians books and blogs. She is by far the most realistic trainer of our day. She tells it like it is and most importantly does INTENSE research before putting anything out there for you. This is a book like none other with credited medical research to back it up. Once again, Jillian hit it out of the park!! Bravo.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the read!

    This is a great book. If you can put this into practice, you WILL see results. To get any great result with your weight loss, you do need to do work and this is a helpful tool in that area. It opens your eyes to ways to lift your metabolism that you may not have thought of before or known about - but now that you do, you can start to change. While it's ultimately aiming at a 'diet' it's focusing on raising your metabolism which helps you burn calories at a high rate - so not only will you loose weight from eating the right foods etc, but the weight lose will happen faster and in a more healthy way because your metabolism is now boosted and is working for you even when you are resting. Not that I have much to loose, but I've tried this now for one week and have noticed a big difference not only in my physical appearance but in my day to day health (with a weight loss of 8lbs already). I'm not as reliant on Coca Cola to give me my caffiene fix and I'm sleeping better at night.
    This is a lifelong plan that if you put your mind to it, you can do, and it's so worth it, because not only are you going to look better, but you are going to feel better. I do already and I'm only on week one. Give it a try. It's worth it.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    Jillian has delivered a powerhouse book. I feel that for the first time I understand WHY I have been struggling with weight loss for so many years. Understanding that my metabolism can be changed is so empowering to me. For anyone who has struggled with weight loss in their lives this book is a must have.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    This book changed the way I think about diet and nutrition.

    In this book, Jillian explains in a straightforward, easy-to understand, and personalized way how a person's metabilism can become totally out of whack due to toxins in our food and environment as well as stressful and sedentary lifestyles. She outlines step-by-step directions for eliminating harmful foods in our diets and replacing those with healthful, natural foods to get our metablisms back in balance and in optimimum working order. By making a few of the simple changes to diet that Jilian recommends, I'm not only losing weight steadily, but I have more energy and feel much better. I know these are changes that I can live with permanently. If you've been on a yo-yo with weight loss or are confused by the "high fat", "low fat", "low carb", "no carb", etc. diet plans out there, pick up this book.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Powerhouse book

    This book provides real answers and powerful solutions where other health and wellness books fail. The information in this book is life changing for me. It is so scary to think how little we know about our foods and lifestyle products. The cool thing is that in this book Jillian teaches you what to look out for and what to replace the bad stuff with. Her passion comes through on every page. Highly recommend.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for all women

    The title of this book may get you to pick it up to read initially, but it is about so much more than just your metabolism. You will learn exactly what your hormones do, and just might figure out the answers to some of your health issues.

    Jillian writes in such a way that you feel like you are hanging out with a good friend--a very informed friend. She and Mariska van Aalst have put together a book that you will refer back to many times. This is one to buy and put on your booke shelf. If you are a woman heading for menopause, it is a must read.

    My sister and I will both be making appointments with an Endocrinologist. Our regular family physician is throwing medications at us for problems we both believe have to do with our hormones. If this sounds like you. Read this book and you too may want to see someone who specializes in hormones.

    Amazing job Jillian and Mariska!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    I have been tired and having other health issues that my doctors only wanted to address with meds. After reading this book I not only knew why my health was bad but not only is it in my hands to change it but I have help along the way! A must read for anyone who just doesn't feel right and wants to be healthy and happy without meds

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It Scared me Healthy! A total MUST READ!

    I have to start by saying it is absolutely Awesome and well worth the money. I bought it because I am fixing to start watching what I eat and incorporate some exercise and thought it sounded good. I never expected it to have such a profound and truly life changing affect on me. I will try to keep this short but informative for you.
    Basic Overall book description:
    Starts with a little background on Jillian as a child and her home life experience and her weight issues. I liked this part because it helped me understand her better. I thought she was just a very fit tyrant and didn't realy think she was a nice person before reading this book.

    She explains where she gets her information from which makes me feel that the medical facts she explains later are pretty accurate.

    She does an awesome job of explaining (in a way I can understand but not always pronounce) what hormones in your body do what and why. She very bluntly states things so that you know what you should do without her trying to push you into doing anything. Reading it, sounds just like her wording and like she is right there with you.

    She explains the huge benefits of eating organic.She explains too well (although I needed it) the affects of processed foods and the results the chemicals in them have on your body as well as the enviroment.

    I was mortified by the things I read and knew for me a change had to be made immediately. I threw out my cigerettes and will never pick those up again. I also made the decision to aim for 100% organic but knowing in todays lifestyle as long as I do 90% I will have added so much health and longevity to my life.
    I went the very next day and bought the book for my mother and will be buying at least 15 more for friends for b-days or Christmas. Even if they do not change a thing in there lives after reading it. I will feel I have done right by the ones I love just having them be more informed about all the poisons they may ingesting or giving to their children and are innocently unaware of.

    Knowing that some people may not be able to afford to go all organic, she also gives great tips on minor changes you can make to help rid yourself of toxins in your body as well as your immediate enviroment (some of which can save you money). There is a breakdown of produce that are the most toxic and least toxic which is helpful.

    I also found it rather shocking how companies can put disclaimers such as "no trans fat" etc. on thier products but it is enitrely a lie. Also canned foods get toxins released into them from the can itself. Better alternatives are in the book to avoid that happening to you.
    I just can't say enough about this book.

    Please, Please give yourself the gift of a lifetime and get this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    A must have weight loss bible

    As a menopausal 56-year-old woman, I had to STARVE to lose weight. I exercised and watched what I ate, but I always felt a bit sluggish -- not at all like the energetic woman I used to be, and I could never understand why. I get annual physicals, and I would complain to my doctor, but he told me it was just age. After reading Jillian's book, I was shocked -- and relieved! I sure as hell get it now! Jillian reminds me of the little boy in the children's story who yelled, "The emperor has no clothes!" I started cleaning out my kitchen cupboards this afternoon, and I'm so looking forward to cleaning out my body and eating fresh and clean and green.

    I can't believe this information hasn't been in the mainstream. I feel like it was written for me -- I'm an average layperson (university professor), who I now realize had a woefully inadequate knowledge and understanding of nutrition, metabolic processes and hormones. This book has been a revelation for me. It's what I've been looking for. THANK YOU, JILLIAN!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The TRUTH - straight to the point

    With the help, guidance, and motivation of this book, my wife was able to get past her emotional and physical walls and loose 70lbs in just over eight months. This book is straight to the point and may be a big eye opener for those you want someone to hold their hand through life.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Great choice for those close to their goal weight

    This is a great book. One word of caution - it is probably best for those who are fairly happy with their weight and looking to lose the last 10-20 pounds. The advice is great and backed with scientific evidence. This is more of a life changing book than a quick fix, so you must truly be dedicated to a healthy life to get the maximum impact.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    EXCELLENT BOOK!!...WAY TO GO JILLIAN

    I was a little sceptical about being able to change my metabolism when I ordered this book, but it has been life changing for me. I had already started a weight loss regime of diet and excersise, but had been at a plateau for weeks when I saw this book advertised. I was getting very discouraged at seeing no results for all my hard work. I really didn't think there was much else I could do to give my metabolism a kick in the pants and finish losing that last 25 pounds. Was I wrong!
    This book puts out some information and stratigies that really do work. Jillian has done her homework and presents the facts in an understandable and useful way. It, she, is encouraging and straight forward and shares her personal struggles. She gives means and methods as well as the understanding behind them.
    Best of all, it has really worked for me!! I will use the information in this book, well, probably for the rest of my life. I have given copies as gifts to several friends who are fighting the same battle as I.
    Way to go Jillian!...and thank you so much for all your research and the work that went into this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Informative and Useful

    Jillian Michaels has become a house hold name for those who watch the Biggest Loser and her Dvd workouts. Now she brings her diet secrets balancing out hormones to help lose body weight by removing toxins, then restoring then balancing out your diet and lifestyle. Great book!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Anyone Can Do This!

    I have had my family on a natural (not organic) eating plan for almost two years. I did this because two of my children have food issues, and eating the "whole foods" way improved their health and my waistline.

    Because of economic necessity, I began to buy "regular" food (example, store brand corn flakes instead of Wholes Foods' 365 line) to save money. I noticed that my waistline was getting a little bigger, despite exercising six hours a week!

    I love Jillian's DVD's and went to the library to get her book. I am now buying it, because it has so much good information!

    I will find other corners to cut and go back to all natural eating again. Her information is solid. Anyone can do this. Just pick one day a week to do advance food prep (cut all veggies and fruits, crack you egg whites the night before so you just have to scramble them, buy two loaves of bread and freeze one to save a trip to the market, etc.) and while cooking dinner that night, defrost the next night's protein. Plan and organize and get healthy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jillian to the rescue!

    Having been a Biggest Loser fan for some time, I am always delighted to see another book come out by the stars. I love Jillian's work. In this one, she tells the reader how to master their metabolism, thusly balancing their hormones. She's got some great tips and her enthusiasm is unmatched. A must read if you are trying to lose weight.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Comphrehensive Nutritional Guide

    This book gives you an insight into how food affects your hormones which affect your overall health. Everything is backed up by research. There are many good simple tips I use without going whole hog into organic foods. There are so many things that I did not know about kitchen, bath, and household products. It gave me a new outlook on a healthier lifestyle which of course includes a a healthier weight.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great "non-diet" book

    This book will help change your eating habits by taking out the processed "junk" and chemicals not only in your food, but also the environment around you.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7