Customer Reviews for

Master of the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Master of the game!

Sheldon was at the top of his game when he wrote Master of the Game. It is a classic Family Saga/Epic that spans decades. Many writers tried to duplicate Sheldon's success with the same formula but so many fell short because Sheldon was one of, if not the best when came...
Sheldon was at the top of his game when he wrote Master of the Game. It is a classic Family Saga/Epic that spans decades. Many writers tried to duplicate Sheldon's success with the same formula but so many fell short because Sheldon was one of, if not the best when came to writing family drama. This is an excellent read, one I can guarantee will not only hold your attention anc capture your imagination, it will not allow you to put it down, until you're finished.

posted by 148253 on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An exercise in drudgery...

First off, I am giving the book three stars because it was well written and shows the talent of the author. Now, on to what I think. This book is horrible. This book was filled with so little detail and jumped from plot point to plot point something awful. The busine...
First off, I am giving the book three stars because it was well written and shows the talent of the author. Now, on to what I think. This book is horrible. This book was filled with so little detail and jumped from plot point to plot point something awful. The business aspect of this book was a joke to me. Now, the reason why I think this might be circumspect, but I just recently finished the books Tai-Pan and Noble House, by James Clavell. Comparing the lucratively slimness of this book to the over bounding depth and detail of Clavell's masterpiece, this book made me laugh. The characters were great, interesting, and completely idiotic. I have never read a book with so many naïve characters in it. The master of the game, Kate, was the biggest fool of them all. She was written with the wit of a goat. Oh sure, everyone kept beaming about her being bright in the story, and she showed it in the poor written situations of her set to shine, but compared to what it could have been, I am not impressed. I wanted to hear inner thoughts about the subjects in better detail, but was left hanging. I wanted the business aspect to actually be more truthful, but it never came to be. How can a business become so powerful without some real story telling behind it becoming so? I know, the business and all that was not the most important thing, it was about the people behind the Company, about Kate and her devious plotting and manipulating of the other characters, but still, I think there could have been more there. Another reviewer said that Kate was the Master of the Game, and in this book she was. But if you have to compare it to the characters from Noble House and Tai-Pan, there is no contest, she is written like a child in her mind compared to those characters. Ian Dunross was the Master of the Game, because the Game was actually part of the book. Compared to Ian Dunross, or even Dirk Struan from Tai-Pan, Kate measures out to as much as a retard. As for the characters again, I thought not only were they very naïve and all lame, but were beyond evil. That is just a matter of my thinking and has no value to a review, but I think these people were beyond sick and twisted, most of them. Not all, but most. Kate was the worst. And in the end of the book, she stayed ever the fool, not once looking back and realizing, having the insight to figure out that she was the one that caused it all. It was not the weakness of Jamie, David, Tony, etc., that had caused the strife, it was her and her insanity to the ¿conglomerate.¿ I found that a shame that the writer did not have the fortitude to write in the characters coming to terms with being sick puppies, and THEN letting them run off on their evil ways. Oh no, he just left them thinking their naïve thoughts and being sick and twisted and not a single reconciliation to them selves at all¿ shame¿ I will of course read his other books because I am hoping they are better, and in all honesty, this book is a good story and well written, a fine work. But, as to the integrity of the story and it¿s over all emaciated like body of detail, and the page after page of sick people and even stupider thoughts in their fictional heads, I say it was garbage. Library this one, folks¿

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely worth the read

    Love this book! Have read this book several times and enjoy it every single time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Master of the game!

    Sheldon was at the top of his game when he wrote Master of the Game. It is a classic Family Saga/Epic that spans decades. Many writers tried to duplicate Sheldon's success with the same formula but so many fell short because Sheldon was one of, if not the best when came to writing family drama. This is an excellent read, one I can guarantee will not only hold your attention anc capture your imagination, it will not allow you to put it down, until you're finished.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    If you have not read a book by Sidney Sheldon, you need to

    This book was recomended to me by my Boyfriend. I got it used from barnes and noble.com. This book was published two years before i was born. I love to read and novels of this genre are not really my thing, however, i have gon back to barnes and noble.co m and ordered at least 5 more written by this author. If you have not read a book by sidney sheldon, you are missing out. I cant wait to get the rest of his books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book carries you through generations of power hungry sociopaths that will stop at nothing to get what they want. This is one of my favorite books. It is a must read!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    A SUPERB NOVEL.

    Best book of all times. And yes they made a tv mini series out of it. It was 3 days long and it was almost as good as the book. Also he wrote The Other Side of Midnight, and it was so good they made a movie out of that one too. 'Rage Of Angels' and 'If Tomorrow Comes' are 2 more of the best novels from Sheldon. Read them. You wont be dissapointed.. Oh yeah, just remembered, they made a movie out of 'Rage of Angels' too. Awesome author. I was so sad when he died.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Yes he was a good writer but....

    If you prefer Not to read books with very adult content, be it sex, situations or language, then Mr. SHELTONS BOOKS AREN'T FOR YOU, AND absolutely not for children.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Keeps you wanting to know more!

    This book is great in every aspect of the word! Tons of twists and turns to keep you on edge. I would definitely recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of his best

    If you have never read Sidney before, this should be the first one that you pick up. This story was action packed from beginning to the end. Every single character in this story I enjoyed. No one or nothing was out of place and Sidney left nothing to your imagination, no rock un-turned.There were so many twists and turns and you just didn't know whose life was next to be destroyed. It kept you on your toes. The characters came to life on these pages and the plot thickened with each one.Everyone in here got what they deserved, and not at all predictable

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Master of the Game, by the Master of Storytelling.....

    The only book, of over 10,000, that I have read, that has everything a reader could want. If ever there was a perfect book, this is it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    So perfect for me

    OMG! I just finished this book, and I thought it was so amazing, it kept me really entertained. I enjoyed reading this book, I would rather read this book then do all the things I usually do like, watch tv or play on the computer. It's just so sinister, I loved it more then I thought I did. I had to pick a book for my english class, and im like hmm... this will fit the criteria. But as soon as I read the first couple chapters, I was hooked. I would read this for hours, and be completely satisfied. Reading this family, how they go through this pain, with love, death, revenge, deception, and more. It made me want to read more of Sheldon's books. I think I'm going to become a bookworm, and I can't wait.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Doesn't get better than Sidney Sheldon!!!

    I read this book back in 1985 and occassionally STILL take it up for a re-read when I am bored, can't find anything to hold my interest in the bookstore or when the weather is bad outside. Sidney Sheldon was and will be eternally the MASTER OF THE GAME in fiction!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    One of the Century's BEST NOVELS!!!!

    I read this book 13 years ago and I've read it every year since!!! No one creates unforgettable characters like Sidney Sheldon and in Kate Blackwell he has created one of the greatest heroines of popular fiction. A woman and a family spanning a hundred years that makes you laugh, cry and flip through the pages without any thought of the time and which MOTIVATES you into believing that you have learnt something that no one who hasn't read the novel has learnt - the inner darkness of human nature! GREAT READING!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Percy

    Waits for momo

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Is the best novel i ever read,it was in 1995 i borrowed from a f

    Is the best novel i ever read,it was in 1995 i borrowed from a friend,i read up to the middle of the book and i lost it.So sad !since then i was looking for it,i just ordered i cant wait!May all might God keep his soul in pease,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    This book was presented to me by my boyfriend as well. We read i

    This book was presented to me by my boyfriend as well. We read it together and to my surprise I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Definitely the best of Sheldon. This was the very first book of

    Definitely the best of Sheldon. This was the very first book of Sheldons that I ever read, & I did it in one sitting! Deceit, backstabbing, manipulation-it's all here, through the memories of Kate Blackwell! I'm not normally a reader of this kind of fiction, but this is one of the very few exceptions! The story of an incredible, (& at times, very dysfunctional), family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    I have read all of Mr Sheldon's books and there is not a one tha

    I have read all of Mr Sheldon's books and there is not a one that I have disliked. He writes the way real life is. So many times I think that I am in charge of my life and Mr Sheldon shows me that most times we have no control of many circumstances, sometimes the furture was decided for us long before we were born. Thank you Mr Sheldon for all of your books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Very Good Read

    One on Sidney Sheldon's best. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Find it very hard to put down once I started to read it. Would recommend it to any Sidney Sheldon fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    The best yet....

    I'm on a Sidney Sheldon mission right now. I'm a little late in my discovery, i know. But oh how fantastic are his books. This is my favorite one by far. I can't wait to read the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    My favorite Sydney Sheldon

    Love sidney Sheldon, and this is my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7