Customer Reviews for

Master of the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    one of Sheldon's best

    Very good, lots of characters, each with their own stories, but contributing to the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Great read

    Hard to put down, a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2001

    An exercise in drudgery...

    First off, I am giving the book three stars because it was well written and shows the talent of the author. Now, on to what I think. This book is horrible. This book was filled with so little detail and jumped from plot point to plot point something awful. The business aspect of this book was a joke to me. Now, the reason why I think this might be circumspect, but I just recently finished the books Tai-Pan and Noble House, by James Clavell. Comparing the lucratively slimness of this book to the over bounding depth and detail of Clavell's masterpiece, this book made me laugh. The characters were great, interesting, and completely idiotic. I have never read a book with so many naïve characters in it. The master of the game, Kate, was the biggest fool of them all. She was written with the wit of a goat. Oh sure, everyone kept beaming about her being bright in the story, and she showed it in the poor written situations of her set to shine, but compared to what it could have been, I am not impressed. I wanted to hear inner thoughts about the subjects in better detail, but was left hanging. I wanted the business aspect to actually be more truthful, but it never came to be. How can a business become so powerful without some real story telling behind it becoming so? I know, the business and all that was not the most important thing, it was about the people behind the Company, about Kate and her devious plotting and manipulating of the other characters, but still, I think there could have been more there. Another reviewer said that Kate was the Master of the Game, and in this book she was. But if you have to compare it to the characters from Noble House and Tai-Pan, there is no contest, she is written like a child in her mind compared to those characters. Ian Dunross was the Master of the Game, because the Game was actually part of the book. Compared to Ian Dunross, or even Dirk Struan from Tai-Pan, Kate measures out to as much as a retard. As for the characters again, I thought not only were they very naïve and all lame, but were beyond evil. That is just a matter of my thinking and has no value to a review, but I think these people were beyond sick and twisted, most of them. Not all, but most. Kate was the worst. And in the end of the book, she stayed ever the fool, not once looking back and realizing, having the insight to figure out that she was the one that caused it all. It was not the weakness of Jamie, David, Tony, etc., that had caused the strife, it was her and her insanity to the ¿conglomerate.¿ I found that a shame that the writer did not have the fortitude to write in the characters coming to terms with being sick puppies, and THEN letting them run off on their evil ways. Oh no, he just left them thinking their naïve thoughts and being sick and twisted and not a single reconciliation to them selves at all¿ shame¿ I will of course read his other books because I am hoping they are better, and in all honesty, this book is a good story and well written, a fine work. But, as to the integrity of the story and it¿s over all emaciated like body of detail, and the page after page of sick people and even stupider thoughts in their fictional heads, I say it was garbage. Library this one, folks¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1