Customer Reviews for

The Masterharper of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    wonderful

    Robinton is one of my favorite characters along with Lessa, F'lar, Jaxom, F'lessan Menolly and Sebell. You really got to know him in this book. For a wonderful man he led a harder life. It really got deep into his character. I love the harper spies! After reading about Pinch I was happy that Nip and Tuck were very involved! One of my favs in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Just finished Masterharper of Pern, & was extremely pleased

    Just finished Masterharper of Pern, & was extremely pleased with it! I was familiar with Robinton from trilogy of Pern, (Dragonflight, Dragonquest, & the White Dragon). I was very enjoyable to see the life Robinton had growing up-the love of his mother, the difficulties of dealing with his father, his loves as he grew up, & the tragedies in his life. It was also very enjoyable, to see the other characters of Pern, as they grew up-F'Lon, F'Nor, F'Lar, Lessa, Goghe, Silvana, Petiron, & his mother, Merrilan.. I think that every reader of the Pern books should read this, to get the full picture of the very complex person Robinton is! Well worth the money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of the best books in the series with well-defined characters and it is very readable. I love the series and this book in particular.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    If you love the Masterharper as much as the people of Pern you will want to read this book.

    If you love the Masterharper as much as the people of Pern you will want to read this book.
    It tells how he came to his position and explains much about the harper hall. It is a wonderful book that I could not put down. One of Anne McCaffery's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Very enjoyable. Very good read.

    Very enjoyable. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Very good.

    This book was very good. I especially liked the descriptions of Rob's early life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best

    The MasterHarper of Pern was/is my favorite book in the Pern Series. The story is perfect and feels so alive! Robinton, who was already one of my favorite characters, becomes even more so with so much detail of what his life was. Every page is incredible and everything comes together wonderfully, explaining a lot of the little things you might not think of in the other books. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys the other books in the Pern Series, as well as to people who just want a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    LOVED IT

    I absolutely adore Robinton! Tied with Menolly, he's my favorite!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Wow

    It is rare that a book brings tears to my eyes. McCaffrey has truly written a masterpiece. The life led by this remarkable charecter was not always a happy one, and that is portrayed so well that you feel his losses, rejoice at his triumphs. It really left me thinking, and after reading it you feel like you know Robinton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Great Read

    This is a great book in the Pern series--truly enjoyed reading it--word of advice--you might want to reead some prequel books before this one to make sure you'll understand whats going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Go, Robinton!

    Robinton is the best character! I haven't gotton to this book yet, but i'm reading it next. I personnally thought Menolly was good with him, but oh well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    Pern Forever!

    Pern rules! Anne Mccaffrey has to make 100 more! I just started reading this series, and i'm already done. Not fair!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    To All The Readers Of Pern.

    This book was one of my favorite books I have read this year. Do to the fact that Robinton is protrayed as a humanbeing and not a man with a heart of stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    Filling in the Gaps

    It explained so much that was missing in the other books. The who, what where and how. I really enjoyed this chapter in the Pern series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    The best book!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Amazing!!! Robinton finally has his own book!

    I'm an 12/f who has been reading the Pern books since the begining of the 1999-2000 school year it is now January and I've gottin to the book: 'Chronicles of Pern: First Fall' and I've loved them!!! And writing this book for Robinton was a very good idea! I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5