Customer Reviews for

Mastering Manga with Mark Crilley: 30 drawing lessons from the creator of Akiko

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Looking good!

I can't wait to get this! I've looked at all the previews for the book and I'm happy with what I'm seeing so far!

posted by Janelle44 on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

To love it

I had the same issue with another book. I went the a sucky hour listening to a barns an noble lady telling me what to do. The problem is that the transfer was not successful. So re arcive it. Hope this helps.-Zafrina

posted by 8130522 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Looking good!

    I can't wait to get this! I've looked at all the previews for the book and I'm happy with what I'm seeing so far!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    Mark crilley never lets me down he is an awesome manga artists have to get this

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    i have always loved mark crilleys drawing tutourials on youtube,

    i have always loved mark crilleys drawing tutourials on youtube, now i can get the book so i can improve my manga drawing skills!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Mark crilley

    Mark crilley is an amazing artist if you want to learn more how to draw stuff go check out his youtube chanell 'mark crilley'

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Amazing. Best how to draw book ever. Bought it because of mark crilley's how to draw videos on YouTube. He has my support!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Amazon has the ebook for $9.89, why is the nook version so much

    Amazon has the ebook for $9.89, why is the nook version so much more? I want it but feel like I'm being cheated.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    LOVE IT ... one problem

    Im inspired to draw mange thanks to this guy. My book wont open. It just tries to load. ;(

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Amazing Work

    Mark Crilley always does amazingly well with his Youtube "How to draw" tutorials that I couldn't wait to buy this book and show him some support. c:

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Good

    I saw the preview of this book on youtube and look really interesting. I purchased this book for my nook and it work for a couple of minutes then it stop working. Now it won't work I' m really disappointed that's why I give it four stars. But overall during the couple of minutes it was working the book had easy to follow steps and guidelines to help you draw better or show how to draw manga if you never drew manga before.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    =D Need I say more.

    =D Need I say more.


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    None

    This book is nice

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great Book! This book offers a lot of help for people just getti

    Great Book!
    This book offers a lot of help for people just getting started drawing manga.
    Mark Crilley briefly covers different forms of manga and provides reference art
    for hairstyles, eyes, and facial expressions, hands, feet, etc. He also discusses
    wrinkles in clothing as well as perspective and the basics of creating a comic.
    I would recommend this book for anyone just getting started in manga.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Really helpful

    For someone who is genuily intersested in drawing in the manga style, this book is going to help you out a lot. Mark crilley is a great artist as can be shown through his youtube videos and the tips and tricks he provides always inspires me to draw manga whenever i read his book. I recommend this for all levels, more so beginners, but there are definatley things in here for moderate to advanced drawers


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    To love it

    I had the same issue with another book. I went the a sucky hour listening to a barns an noble lady telling me what to do. The problem is that the transfer was not successful. So re arcive it. Hope this helps.-Zafrina

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Four stars.

    It is really great, but it freezes way too much for my liking...might just be my nook though...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No doubt, amazing.

    Mark Crilley is the best at what he does. Anyone who disagrees has no true taste. You have to get this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    This book is really amazing! I've been looking for how-to manga

    This book is really amazing! I've been looking for how-to manga books for beginners, but a lot of them could be frustrating for someone with no experience at all. This book is the best book you can find that is REALLY for beginners!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    BlackStar's review

    After reading this book, I can only say that this is perfect for people who are both new to the manga world and for those who just want to improve on what they have already learned. It has easy step by step instructions that increase in difficulty as you go along. From the eyes to the instructions on how to properly draw the features of the male and female body.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good book but for me difficult to learn on an ebook.

    Really good very informative. I looked thru nearly 30 books before being completely happy with this. The only problem was I found it somewhat frustrating to try and draw from the ebook. I end up buying a paper copy of the book. If your an old school dootler u may want the hard copy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love mark hes epic but if you dont have any money you could just go on youtube :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5