BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mastering Manga with Mark Crilley: 30 drawing lessons from the creator of Akiko

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Looking good!

I can't wait to get this! I've looked at all the previews for the book and I'm happy with what I'm seeing so far!

posted by Janelle44 on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

To love it

I had the same issue with another book. I went the a sucky hour listening to a barns an noble lady telling me what to do. The problem is that the transfer was not successful. So re arcive it. Hope this helps.-Zafrina

posted by 8130522 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Awesome sample

    Love the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Great book, awsome drawi...

    Great book, awsome drawings and best notice and instruction. I loved it and can't wait 'till the mastering manga 2 comes out


    A revieuw by Lloyd Engelen
    I couldn't make a pen name

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    This book is amazing for young people who want to learm how to d

    This book is amazing for young people who want to learm how to draw comics and people!I would recomend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Mark crilley is one of my few heros. This book is authentic and incredible. Subscribeand favorited on Youtube!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    A very useful book for beginners and more experienced artists.

    A very useful book for beginners and more experienced artists. Is not only useful for drawing manga- can also help draw in other styles. A kind of '' Art 101 ''.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Help!!!A Must Buy

    I just recently started drawing again and this book really helped. It has faces, bodies,hair ideas , even landcapes and lots more. Yeah!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Well designed to help the beginning artist

    Clear step by step drawings. Goes from basic to quite detailed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    This is a must need book if you want to draw some good manga.

    This is a must need book if you want to draw some good manga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Yay for Mark!

    This is a great book! I suggest that you buy the physical (sp?) version of it though. It won't always open and it freezes as an ebook. But the book itself rules! I highly reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Can't wait to get it!!!!!!!!

    Can't wait to get it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Plz help me

    Does this hv pictures i know its dumb question but i have the nook glowlight so i can only read.thanks. respond to NerdyGal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Awesomeness!

    I love mark crilley. When i found this book iwas like AMAHGERD! I totally sugest it for anyone who wants to be a manga artist. Thank you mark!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Amazing

    This is the best manga book ever and i watch all his youtube videos also thats how i found this book :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    hey this books just awesome but i live in india its not availabl

    hey this books just awesome but i live in india its not available here:((

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Kai

    This book is so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    F

    The

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Hello again!

    Now i can actually look at my drawings without crying!! Yaaaay!! You should definitely get this book! Its a great book for beginners and its a good reference because not only does it have lessons on how to draw things, but it has lists and options on how you can draw things so that you can personalize your drawing style too. I would just reccommend buying the real book in bookstores. A lot of people have trouble with loading it on the nook. Also it has better pictures and you can understand it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    To >[]<

    Say that you would like to have it and you will gladly do some chores fore the money to buy the book and also you could say you will sell your drawings that you make with the book on ebey and you eill make up the money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love it

    This is a great book. If you are having technical issues with it, such as it not loading or being slow, try archiving some things you arent using to free up a little memory. That solved the problem for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    >[]<

    I want this book but my mom wont buy it for me! I know mark crilleys book will be helpful, so thats what the five stars is for. Compared to other manga how to draw books, from reading the sample, i know this will be different..... hopefully! Any ideas on how to persuade the mother to buy it?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4