Customer Reviews for

Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2

Average Rating 3.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Great Bookset For Beginning Cooking & Beyond

    I own many cookbooks, but this is by far the very best, and I never knew it until I observed one at BN. This is so easy to follow and teaches everything a cook needs to know...I've been married for over twenty years, but now I am mastering sauces and other challenges I always had...I never had any knowledge or guidance in a kitchen growing up, I was always working..so I wasn't the cook. Now I'm having a ball re-discovering how it all begins and not failing. Its funny that Julia Childs books are still this valuable even in todays life, and especially in todays life. This would be a great gift for any new couple, college student, or anyone getting ready to venture out on their own.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a "must have" for all cooks who wish to broaden their knowledge and skill of specialty cooking. With ingredients in the left column, and corresponding directions in the right column, recipes are made understandable.

    In the Preface of Volume One, Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child, Louisette Bertholle & Simone Beck, the forward states, "To La Belle France whose peasants, fishermen, housewives, and princes - not to mention her chefs - through generations of inventive and loving concentration have created one of the world's great arts." When reading both the Introduction and Foreward, it becomes evident that Julia Child lived and breathed cooking.
    The reader gains particular knowledge in Kitchen Equipment, Definitions, Ingredients, Measures, Temperatures, Cutting, and Wines.
    The ten Chapters start off with Soups, Sauces, Eggs, Entrees & Luncheon Dishes and Fish. Poultry, Meat, Vegetables, Cold Buffet and Desserts & Cakes.
    In Volume Two's "New Revised Edition," Julia Child and Simone Beck break down this book in to seven chapters and three appendices. The authors are more detail conscious in this book. We learn soups, bisques and chowders in Chapter One. Chapter Two covers the baking of breads, brioches, croissants and pastries. The next two chapters include meats and chickens. Chapter Five separates the boys from the men with Charcuterie: Sausages, Salted Pork and Goose, Pates and Terrines. Chapters Six and Seven include vegetables and desserts. The Illustrations are clear and precise.
    The Dedication of this book reads, "To Alfred Knopf who is as much an appreciator of good writing, types faces, layout, and paper as he is of fresh 'foie gras, truite au bleu,' and Meursault Les Perrieres. In short, he is the ideal publisher for this kind of book, just as he is the ideal dinner guest for those who have mastered the art of French cooking.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Learn to cook...all over again

    I love Julia Childs (after seeing Julie & Julia) and have re-discovered the joys of cooking. I'm a veteran meal preparer, but her recipes have taught me a whole new way of cooking. Although many would be nervous about too much butter, wine and cream, the overall outcome is four-star restaurant quality meals. My family is in heaven!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Not enough time to say....

    This book is thrilling! It's more than just recipes, its a practical guide to eating, cooking, technique and AWESOME flavor.

    The meals have been out of this world, and it has opened up a whole new direction in my kitchen!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great printing to an American Classic

    This boxed set of Mastering the Art of French Cooking is a wonderful addition to anyone's kitchen. I love cookbooks and had been looking for a good copy of the original for a while. They are hard to find! After the movie came out (Julie and Julia) it was everywhere! The most valuable aspect of these books is that it actually teaches you to be a better cook. It defines all of the tools, ingredients and technniques used in cooking. This is a fun part of our kitchen for the entire family. Experimenting with my daughters on several recipes already! This would be a spectacular gift, especially for a new cook (maybe for a new bride) along with a few of the cooking tools used (a nice enameled, cast iron casserole, for instance) Good luck and happy cooking!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love these books

    Saw the film and had to have the books-very very detailed and for the serious 'cooks' and serious want to be cooks this is a must have set for your kitchen library. Just the history on how some recipes were classically prepared is worth it but there is much much more! Great fantastic gift!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Julia Child Lives

    The most thorough, thought provoking, comprehensive writing I have come across on French Cooking, bar none!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    A True Julia Classic!

    Although this set may not be for every cook, it is surely a winner! Both volumes are packed with information and are uniquely detailed. For the beginner cook it could be a bit ambitious but the techniques that are conveyed could easily transform a beginner into a sure talent. Many of our new kitchen gadgets such as food processors, choppers, etc. can be used to eliminate the more time consuming elements of her dishes but either way THEY ARE WORTH THE EFFORT!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I bought this as a gift and the person I bought it for has already made one of the more difficult recipes. It was delicious.

    It makes a great gift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    This was purchased as a gift and it was very well received. I enjoyed the ease of buying on line and the value.

    See above

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    The Julia Child set was a Christmas gift requested by my daughter.

    She told me she's been reading the books like a novel and plans to make "every dish". I call that inspiration.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    A Kitchen Essential

    It is the best cooking encyclopedia I have ever found and my third set. The first was so used up that I had to purchase a second set within three years. Now twenty years later, I will just keep this one for show.
    By the way, the book is so good, they should make a movie out of it...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Learn to cook for real!!!

    For many years I have dreamed of owning these two books, and at last my dreams came true for Christmas this year. These books are meant to be read and fully 'digested', not simply scanned hastily for a recipe when you're ready to head to the kitchen. By spending time reading different sections and practicing what you read, you will indeed learn to cook, and not just blindly follow a recipe. I highly recommend this set for persons who love to work with food, love to cook, and want to gain a more in-depth knowledge of how to prepare awesomely delicious food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I REALLY ENJOY IT. MAKE DIFFICULY THINGS MUCH EASIER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE!LOVE!LOVE! ALL JULIA CHILD FANS MUST HAVE!!! :)

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOK BACK IN JANUARY'2010 AND I STILL CANT PUT IT DOWN. I HAVE MADE COUNTLESS RECIPES ALREADY FROM ASPARAGUS SOUP TO ORANGE SPONGE CAKE. AMAZING!!! I LOVE HOW THERE IS A MEASUREMENT SYSTEM-DEFINITIONS ON DIFFERENT INGREDIENTS AND EQUIPMENT USED THROUGHOUT THE BOOK. ITS SOMETHING THAT EVERYONE MUST HAVE IN THERE KITCHEN AND RECIPE BOOK COLLECTION! IF I COULD I WOULD GIVE THIS BOOK A 100'STARS. ALSO IF YOUR A HUGE FAN AS I'AM. JULIA'S KITCHEN WISDOM IS A GREAT BOOK. IF YOU OWN THE MTAFC SET YOU NEED THIS BOOK! I COULD GO ON AND ON ABOUT THESE BOOKS. JUST BUY THEM ALREADY! AM GOING TO GO MAKE JULIA'S BUTTER SPONGECAKE NOW! BON'APPETIT!!! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Cooking Source

    A set of cook books that every serious cook should have, Easy to follow. Great food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set

    Have always wanted to own these books even though I was told they were a little more on the involved side of recipes. They may take more time, and not be what some people consider healthy, but I am very excited to try these out. Both my husband and myself enjoy more involved cooking (and baking for me), so we are looking forward to enjoying an evening together in the kitchen.
    I ordered it in mid-January and it did not arrive until February 13, but I was informed up front that it wouldn't even ship until February 10. Shipping was fast even through the bad weather and the books were in perfect shape.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3