Customer Reviews for

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing

The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cook...
The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the pork chops with mustard, cream and tomato sauce, and scalloped potatoes with meat stock and cheese. Julia guided my through the process carefully. She also provides information for finding quality ingredients, using the proper cooking instruments and technique, choosing complimenting wines, etc. I like the hierarchal organization of the recipes. Usually she begins a subsection with a master recipe, such as casserole-sautéed pork chops, and then follows with many variations on the master recipe, for example the one I mentioned. At any rate, great food is one of the things I truely enjoy in life and I appreciate this book for its help.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great to have a searchable digital edition, but one fatal flaw

I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Juli...
I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Julia's explanation of how to beat egg whites. But then there is no easy way to get back to your original recipe. AH! The search function is the only thing that keeps this from being unusable. And it's not ideal. This must be fixed in the next edition!

Also, all of the illustrations found in the physical version of the book remain intact!

posted by karlamei on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Simply Amazing

    The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the pork chops with mustard, cream and tomato sauce, and scalloped potatoes with meat stock and cheese. Julia guided my through the process carefully. She also provides information for finding quality ingredients, using the proper cooking instruments and technique, choosing complimenting wines, etc. I like the hierarchal organization of the recipes. Usually she begins a subsection with a master recipe, such as casserole-sautéed pork chops, and then follows with many variations on the master recipe, for example the one I mentioned. At any rate, great food is one of the things I truely enjoy in life and I appreciate this book for its help.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    A Timeless Classic for all Ages

    Even after forty years since the release of the first Mastering, this book continues to teach, to show, to amaze, and to amuse. At 16 years old, I can say that even if Julia is much much older than I am, her impeccably witty charm and down-to-earth personality inspires me to cook a la francaise. From her excellent stocks to her luxurious Filet de Boeuf Prince Albert, every recipe gives you the know-how needed to transform a gamut of ingredients into a satisfying three-star meal. With her culinary advice, an ordinary home-cooked dish will turn a supper into a dinner party. Without a doubt, this book will continue to make chefs out of amateur cooks.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great to have a searchable digital edition, but one fatal flaw

    I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Julia's explanation of how to beat egg whites. But then there is no easy way to get back to your original recipe. AH! The search function is the only thing that keeps this from being unusable. And it's not ideal. This must be fixed in the next edition!

    Also, all of the illustrations found in the physical version of the book remain intact!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Julie and Julia

    I have never bought a Julia Childs cookbook before because I felt her techniques were way over my head. While on vacation with my girlfriends we went to see Julie and Julia and decided to buy the book and cook the Beef Burgundy from the film. Not only was the recipe easy to follow with great advice on the ingredients but it tasted phenomenal. Can't wait to make it again and try something else from the book. By the way the editors have updated the entire book for new innovations (like the electric mixer etc) and lower fat foods, that were not available when the book was first written so this is not just a reprint of the original first volume. The movie was great too!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    "Self taught" gourmet cook for over 40 years

    I am replacing my original from 1971. It may seem "complicated" at first because Julia offers such in depth instructions, but it is an invaluable tool for any cook. I have been tryng to perfect the perfect soft cooked egg for several months. I referenced many books in my over 150 cookbook library and had no success. I actually bought a Cuisnart egg cooker and the I deceided to check JULIA. Ah yes, I should have looked there first. With no effort I produced the perfect egg and returned the Cuisinart. Don't be daunted by the length of her instructions, the chicken with or without morels is the perfect sauteed chicken. My egg was absolute perfection. Take your time... read, absorb and enjoy. It is worth the time and effort.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Not for phone NOOK

    Pages are cut off and unreadable. Format is scrambled so the sidebars don't reference the text.
    Do NOT buy this if you're going to use it on a smartphone.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Julia is Terrific

    Julia Child's cook book Mastering the Art of French Cooking is totally user friendly. She explains everything in an easy to understand everyday speech manner that makes it simple to follow and obtain wonderful results for each recipe. Julia accomplish exactly what she set out to do to make elegant, deliscious gourmet French cooking available to the average American housewife! I tried the Boeuf Bourgignon recipe my first try was a deliscious success. I recommend Julia's cookbook as an excellent course to having good cooking in your home. Her humor makes it a delight to cook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    This is the Classic Julia

    I am a good cook - not a great one and I usually like pictures of the finished recipe, but this is a different sort of cookbook. Read it like a novel first, because Julia teaches then gives examples. I think I will be a better cook because of this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    The Book That Started Everything

    I think people may not appreciate how revolutionary this book was. It made French cuisine available to Americans in their homes. There just wasn't a book on French cuisine in English prior to this one. I'm from a generation that can remember just how bad American food could be in the fifties and sixties. The food revolution began with this book. A classic. Everyone should own a copy (at least of volume one) THANK YOU JULIA, SIMCA AND LOUISETTE!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic, and a must for any chef!

    Julia Child was one of the first big tv chefs in the U.S. back in the 60s and 70s, and her book is still as useful as the day it was first printed. Sure its not all that exotic anymore to say that you want to make a crepe or a souffle, but it is still invaluable to have a good solid recipe handy for both of these, and that is exactly what this book provides, good, solid recipes from the repetoirs of traditional French chefs, that are easy to use and delicious to boot! A must! Bon appetite!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Horrible Formatting

    The recipes and advice are wonderful. The formatting is dreadful. Go buy the hardback. I truly regret that I didn't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Charts

    If you click on 'text' on bottom of page, then click to turn 'ON' publishers defaults, the charts will appear properly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    What a fantastic book for the French Cooking enthusiast!

    I have to state that I am prejudice in my review of this book after seeing the movie "Julie and Julia". I have followed some of Julia Childs recipes and cooking shows over the years but never really had a strong interest in pursuing French cooking until after seeing this movie. The history of Julia's life was very poignant and one that I did not realize, especially the depth of her sadness that she could was not able to have children. This book was actually purchased for my daughter who shared the movie with me and now wants the book to try her own hand at some of Julia's recipes. The book itself has been regarded as a masterpiece by many professional chefs so it is hard to say much more except that it stresses technique, good ingredients and stresses the need to have FUN! If there is any downside it would be that I wish there were more illustrations.
    I highly recommend this book for anyone wishing to try French cooking and it is an especially elegant gift.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    As delicious to read as it is to make one of the recipes...

    I bought this book because of the movie Julie and Julia. It exceeds my expectations.

    The recipes are easy to follow, delicious... and lovely to look at. The book itself is interesting, inspiring and fun to read. Again, exceeded my expectations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Classic

    i had this book in the 70's and I just bought it again. The recipes are timeless and delicious. The recipes do require prep time and planning but worth the time and effort

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Julia teaches cooking well

    I find the book very educational. I believe that Julia Child was and still is through her books a very good teacher. There are some recipes that you build by doing previous recipes so you really have to read your recipes before starting, but without doing this she would not have gotten near as much information in the book.
    There are detailed instructions for every step with drawings if needed. This is definitely a keeper in my kitchen. I will refer to it often. I may even need to buy the second volume soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Super

    At one time in my life I've been a Chemist and a Food Technologist. My father was a baker and owned his own business. Very early on I had a love of cooking.

    Julia Child's book is fantastic not only for it's in depth coverage of French cooking but the techniques/information covered is applicable to other styles of cooking. In other words, if you understand the things she covers for french cooking, it's applicable to Italian, American, Asian, etc.

    Going further the receipes are great and are presented in such a way and with detailed information, to make your efforts in applying what you read successful. Many cook books fail on this point.

    I highly recommend this book to both the beginner chef and veteran gourmet chef.

    I will now buy vol. II.

    I almost forgot - very important, the book is fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Must Have Classic

    Mastering the Art of French Cooking is a classic that belongs on the shelf of any self respecting chef. What I love most about this cookbook is how it takes some of the "scariest" dishes and breaks them down into skills that even the lowliest cook can master. You are sure to be happy with this purchase!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    If I had to keep only one cookbook, this would be it.

    What can I say. It's Julia, at her best.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    A pleasure to own

    This book makes an otherwise complicated pursuit suprisingly simple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12