Customer Reviews for

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing

The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cook...
The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the pork chops with mustard, cream and tomato sauce, and scalloped potatoes with meat stock and cheese. Julia guided my through the process carefully. She also provides information for finding quality ingredients, using the proper cooking instruments and technique, choosing complimenting wines, etc. I like the hierarchal organization of the recipes. Usually she begins a subsection with a master recipe, such as casserole-sautéed pork chops, and then follows with many variations on the master recipe, for example the one I mentioned. At any rate, great food is one of the things I truely enjoy in life and I appreciate this book for its help.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great to have a searchable digital edition, but one fatal flaw

I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Juli...
I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Julia's explanation of how to beat egg whites. But then there is no easy way to get back to your original recipe. AH! The search function is the only thing that keeps this from being unusable. And it's not ideal. This must be fixed in the next edition!

Also, all of the illustrations found in the physical version of the book remain intact!

posted by karlamei on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Mastering the art of french cooking

    Love the book, what a collectors item. Great way to explore cooking and other methods of putting together receipes. Really enjoy picking out something new, opening a bottle of wine and spending the evening making something yummy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    "Supremes De Volaille A Blanc" to die for

    I received this for my 50th birthday.I tried the chicken with cream.It was very easy to make and understand.Not too mention it was to die for.My kitchen is not stocked with fancy pots & pans.I made due with what I had.I didn't incure any problems.This will be a repeat recipe.I highly recommend this cookbook for people who want a simple change in their menu.
    Can't wait till the next recipe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Wonderful

    No longer merely a book. Now something of a national treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Bon Appetite

    Really enjoyed this book. The "tools" section was extremely informative- I need more pots, pans, thermameters, double boilers! In the process of trying recipes and find the instructions very good. Many hours of cooking to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Flavor FAVE!!

    YUMMY! Flavorful and detailed step by step recipes that ensure success!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tasty Treat!

    I bought four of these books to give as holiday gifts along with the movie Julie & Julia. Everyone who received it thought it was yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Learn the art of French cooking

    Julia Child's Mastering the Art of French cooking is a masterpiece! It is a wonderful book for beginners and experienced cooks alike. Wish I had time to prepare a dish every night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cooking as an Art

    received as a gift. Really enjoy the basic notes and definitions. This is a comprehensive 'how to' with detailed instructions to create some incredible dishes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    good for starters, but not interesting for library

    The person I gave it to was very interested in french cooking. She was just an ordinary, everyday housewife. She turned the book in because it had no illustrations and the ingredients were hard to understand. They were items not normally carried in the pantry, more than she cared to have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great for Learners

    This book really breaks down everything when it comes to cooking. From cutting to temperature this book has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    delicious

    yum

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You can make French food

    Follow the instructions and the food is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Great addition to any kitchen

    I bought this for my daughter, telling her "everyone needs Julia in her kitchen", even if you only refer to it occasionally. I have the first printing from which I learned many basic cooking techniques - my green beans, carrots, vinegrettes, pastries, etc. The recipes may look long and daunting at first glance, but that is mainly because she gives you complete instructions every step of the way. Every recipe turns out well, in my opinion. I have experience with other cookbooks, where after trying a recipe for the first time, I revise it myself with additional spices, or tweak it in some way because I was not satisfied with the results. I can't say that about "The Art of French Cooking". I have other Julia Child cookbooks, but have used this one more than the others. It's an essential cookbook if you like to cook. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I have always wanted to include this book in my cooking library.

    The book was in good shape, came promptly and I am really happy to now own it. I also purchased the movie, "Julie and Julia". I haven't watched it yet, but am looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    The Chef loves it

    I gave volume 1 and 2 to my daughter's boyfriend. He is a chef in an
    upscale restaurant in Ohio. He absolutely loves the books and started reading them immediately. The dishes they both prepared together were wonderful.
    He would recommend this book to every cook out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    What a book!

    I just enjoyed looking over this book before giving it away as a gift. The recipient loves it and displays it proudly. I would love one for myself to show off but I rarely cook so it would be wasted on me. Everyone who cooks should have it and pass it on with other heirlooms and treasures when cooking days are over. Thank you Julia Child for this treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Old Classic

    Despite the detailed ratings this is a must have for aspiring cooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    The Art Of French Cooking (ISBN-13: 9780375413407)

    I bought this book for my daughter as a Christmas gift - along with the book and DVD Julia and Julia. I always found the recipes too fancy for me but my daughter loves to cook and I thought she would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I need help

    I had been trying to find this book, but i can't. I am from Belgrade, Serbia, and i wish to by book Mastering the Art of the French cooking by Julia Child, so if i may to buy online please tell me. Thank you and i hope that i will find this book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cookbooks beware. You have been outranked!

    Julia's Vol. 1 (haven't received Vol. 2 yet) is a must for the beginner and servantless homemaker alike. A great wedding gift. Her easy to read, step by step instructions remove the intimidation to try exotic dishes - and they actually turn out!! The suggestions for everything from what cookwear to have on hand, to what wines and cheeses to serve are most helpful. After 45 years of cooking, I am learning new wisdom and technique that makes me feel like I'm at Le Cordon Bleu in France. My family is loving it, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11