Customer Reviews for

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing

The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cook...
The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the pork chops with mustard, cream and tomato sauce, and scalloped potatoes with meat stock and cheese. Julia guided my through the process carefully. She also provides information for finding quality ingredients, using the proper cooking instruments and technique, choosing complimenting wines, etc. I like the hierarchal organization of the recipes. Usually she begins a subsection with a master recipe, such as casserole-sautéed pork chops, and then follows with many variations on the master recipe, for example the one I mentioned. At any rate, great food is one of the things I truely enjoy in life and I appreciate this book for its help.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great to have a searchable digital edition, but one fatal flaw

I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Juli...
I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Julia's explanation of how to beat egg whites. But then there is no easy way to get back to your original recipe. AH! The search function is the only thing that keeps this from being unusable. And it's not ideal. This must be fixed in the next edition!

Also, all of the illustrations found in the physical version of the book remain intact!

posted by karlamei on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Charts

    If you click on 'text' on bottom of page, then click to turn 'ON' publishers defaults, the charts will appear properly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    As delicious to read as it is to make one of the recipes...

    I bought this book because of the movie Julie and Julia. It exceeds my expectations.

    The recipes are easy to follow, delicious... and lovely to look at. The book itself is interesting, inspiring and fun to read. Again, exceeded my expectations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Classic

    i had this book in the 70's and I just bought it again. The recipes are timeless and delicious. The recipes do require prep time and planning but worth the time and effort

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book

    Provides some history of Julia, provides very good basic information. Can't wait to read the rest of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Classic French Cooking in a great read!

    Julia Child is a genius. She is a gifted teacher with the ability to make any daunting cooking endeavor seem achievable and enjoyable. I've just started reading it from front to back, enjoying her engaging and thoroughly practical sections on such basics as white sauce, soup, and ...(that's as far as I've gotten). When reading this book, you feel like Julia is in the room with you, carefully explaining the in's and out's of these classic French cooking techniques.

    I admit I bought the book as a result of seeing the movie "Julie and Julia", but I'm so glad I did. It's an excellent manual of cooking techniques and recipes that make your mouth water. I thoroughly recommend for any cook's kitchen library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    French Cookint!

    Neat, neat book. Fun to cook out of. Except no pictures! A little heavy on the butter. Can't cook out of it too much, due to its high use of butter. But, delicious in any case.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If Not Butter then Cream

    I think this book belongs in the home of everyone who wants to cook, likes to cook, may think about cooking or is just learning. Julia Child knew what she was doing in the kitchen. In these days of less fat every once in a while treat yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Matering French Cooking

    I was so excited to get this cookbook. You have to really take your time and follow the instructions exactly. Some of the recipes are complicated. Also some of the recipes refer to previously read pages for certain techniques. I have to say I was a bit let down by the way the recipes are written. But Julia Child was a master and I don't regret purchasing the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Both Vol available for Nook Color an less Expensive

    Ok I'm happy. I was able to purchase both vol l and vol ll for the Nook Color. I had to do a search for Nook book to find them and they were less expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Comprehensive

    We purchased this cook book after watching the movie Julie and Julia. It is an invaluable reference. We've tried several of the recipes - all outstanding. Highly recommend this book to anyone wishing to advance their culinary skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Julia lovers delight

    Like a lot of Julia Childs books each chapter is specific to that particular subject. An example is a chapter on soup is all about soup. A great book for the culinary student, the gourmet chef,but would be a little challenging for the beginning cook. Julia tells some of the stories behind the receipes, thus making the book very entertaining. The recipes ingredients can become expensive. The book was written for a time when things were made more from scratch with less prepackaged ingredients. The end result of the reciepes are well worth the extra effort that is required. If you are looking for a uniquely entertain book for your aspiring gourmet Chef this is the book to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tasty Treat!

    I bought four of these books to give as holiday gifts along with the movie Julie & Julia. Everyone who received it thought it was yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Learn the art of French cooking

    Julia Child's Mastering the Art of French cooking is a masterpiece! It is a wonderful book for beginners and experienced cooks alike. Wish I had time to prepare a dish every night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cooking as an Art

    received as a gift. Really enjoy the basic notes and definitions. This is a comprehensive 'how to' with detailed instructions to create some incredible dishes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great for Learners

    This book really breaks down everything when it comes to cooking. From cutting to temperature this book has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    The Art Of French Cooking (ISBN-13: 9780375413407)

    I bought this book for my daughter as a Christmas gift - along with the book and DVD Julia and Julia. I always found the recipes too fancy for me but my daughter loves to cook and I thought she would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth It

    I think buying this book was worth it. The recipes I have tried have turned out and received rave review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Julia Child

    I was one of the many who was too young to know who Julia Child was until I saw Julie and Julia. I bought the cookbook after seeing the movie and deciding that I too could make some of the dishes despite the fact that I'm only a college student. The recipes are easy to follow and delicious. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    Just what I expected

    Classic Julia--detailed and exquisite. Enjoyed every meal we tried from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm feeling, So Julia!!

    As I follow each reciepe I hear Julia's encouraging voice tell me to "Keep it up, my dear!" So often French cooking sounds so "gormet" the cook in the kitchen writes it off as impossible and gabs the handiest mix, finding the rewards just aren't there in the final product. This detailed insructional offers hope to those of us who ask more of ourselves (of which a can of Redi Wip will ever suffice. . . no offense to its manufacturer.) So, go for the gold, and enjoy the legacy of one who brought French cooking home, Julia Child herself.

    Karen Lee, Auburn, Indiana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3