Customer Reviews for

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing

The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cook...
The title says it all. This is not simply a set of recipes, but a well-organized compendium of French cooking knowledge. I have cooked many things, but have never created something as delicious tasting as my first attempt from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the pork chops with mustard, cream and tomato sauce, and scalloped potatoes with meat stock and cheese. Julia guided my through the process carefully. She also provides information for finding quality ingredients, using the proper cooking instruments and technique, choosing complimenting wines, etc. I like the hierarchal organization of the recipes. Usually she begins a subsection with a master recipe, such as casserole-sautéed pork chops, and then follows with many variations on the master recipe, for example the one I mentioned. At any rate, great food is one of the things I truely enjoy in life and I appreciate this book for its help.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great to have a searchable digital edition, but one fatal flaw

I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Juli...
I love having a digital edition of one of my favorite cookbooks. You can search, which is fantastic. And there are great hyperlinks... so for example, if you are making a bavarian cream, you can click on "beat until stiff peaks are formed" and it will take you to Julia's explanation of how to beat egg whites. But then there is no easy way to get back to your original recipe. AH! The search function is the only thing that keeps this from being unusable. And it's not ideal. This must be fixed in the next edition!

Also, all of the illustrations found in the physical version of the book remain intact!

posted by karlamei on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    A classic for the kitchen

    This is a must have for the aspiring cook, from a true master chef--before the Food Network, there was Julia Child! Great as a gift (and don't forget Volume II). Do yourself a favor and read My Life in France, and watch the great Meryl Streep as the great Julia Child! One only wishes the movie was more Julia, and less Julie. No disrespect intended for Julie as anyone would be overshadowed by Julia Child's and her joie de vivre. She was a true pioneer and a cultural who made you feel welcome in her kitchen and made you believe that you, too, could master the art of French cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Enjoyed this book - give it a try

    Using this cook book has allowed us to create some very delicious meals that have delighted our family and friends. I reccomend using this book if you are into cooking and eating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Great Book

    This is a wonderful cookbook, I plan on giving it to the new brides in my family. Everyone should at least try this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    mastering the art of french cooking

    I have watched Julia Child many times , but have never read this cook book until now. After watching Julie/Julia I rushed out to get it! I have to say, I wish it had been my first coookbook! It is the best overall cookbook and the most interesting I have ever read. I would highly recommend it to novice as well as professional cooks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    A cookbook that no serious cook should do without

    I love this cookbook, but it is not for the faint of heart. Some of the dishes are quite complicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Great book,i am glad i got it.

    I am enjoying reading this book and am making lists o fthe recipes i want to try first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommend !!!

    For anyone who really wants to learn the basics of cooking, this is such a great cookbook. The recipes and information provide a 'master' recipe, which Julia has adapted variations for. As is explained in the book, once the rudamentary recipes are learned, along with basic sauces, they all can be adapted to any other recipe. Recipes were updated by Julia Child to include instructions for use with food processors. Some may think French cooking is full of sauces and too rich for the palate, but that is not the case. Take a look for yourself. [I also HIGHLY recommend, as a really basic and thorough cookbook, "How To Cook Everything", by Mark Bittman.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Bible of Cooking -- available again in hardback!

    This is a reference work for budding cooks or old pros... a treasure trove of wonderful French-influenced recipes.
    Most important, however, in this tome is the specific "how to " advice. Julia walks you through beating ingredients, folding, saute-ing, glazing, clarifying butter... just about any cooking method. She also shows you, with beautiful illustrations, exactly how your work and your food items look as you work on a recipe. For the utter novice, she even shows you exactly what your cruet or electric mixer should look like, so you can obtain great results--perhaps even the first time you try a recipe.

    This wonderful cookbook makes you appreciate Julia Child on a whole new level -- if you never saw her programs, never roasted a TG turkey, never beat egg whites by hand until stiff -- you can do it with her help, and lots more! She includes hints to help you when something goes wrong... are the egg whites falling? is the pan/ingredient too hot? is the gravy not congealing? She's got suggestions for all kinds of mini-disasters, so you don't have to abandon 1 1/2 hours of effort.

    It is essential to read every recipe thoroughly a few times at least before you fire up the stove and measuring cups. Look over her advice about ingredients and methods. Make sure you have the pans/utensils she recommends.

    This is a must-have cookbook! The instructions and helpful suggestions, as well as specific illustrations, can teach anyone a lot or a little more about cooking methods, ingredients, and results. Any cook will benefit from the wonderful instructions herein. Would make a wonderful wedding, birthday, anniversary, Valentine's or other gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Special Anniversary

    My husband & I were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary when the movie "Julie & Julia" was playing at the theater this past summer. I had watched her on her television show that she had a few years ago. I liked her style & my mother also was a fan of hers. After seeing the movie, my husband said I could purchase her cookbook. When the book arrived, we picked out a recipe directly from the book, bought all the ingredients & fixed our anniversary dinner. It was delicious, fun & a very special evening. I felt like one of the character's in the movie as we tried to fix our dinner just as the recipe was written. I had pans all over the kitchen, trying very hard to make that recipe just right. It was a special time together for us. The book is delightful, with hundreds of her recipes that she had mastered with detailed steps & instructions on preparing each dish. The title, "Mastering the Art of French Cooking", can be intimidating, but her recipies can be prepared by anyone. Some take more time for thought & preparation but there are many to choose from. The book is just under 700 pages, chocked full of culinary delights & just regular everyday meals that are prepared with a little extra flair. The book also contains her detailed instructions & knowledge on choosing the right cooking utensils, selecting the correct dinner wine, to the basic explanation of sauces. For anyone who likes to read cookbooks, or collect them, and to try their cooking skills at some delicious & out of the ordinary recipes, it is a wonderful addition to the kitchen. It brings with it a sampling of an iconic chef who loved food & enjoyed teaching all of us to boil water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    A Special Saturday Dinner

    I knew how much my "Julia's recipe" impressed my boyfriend when I learned that he was bragging to his colleagues at work about my cooking! If you want to make a difference in your relationship get a copy of this book....and try it. Many of the recipes are time taking to make but as you work through them you can learn little tricks that can improve your other kitchen efforts. For example I learned that when saute'ing with butter adding a little olive oil to the frying pan raises the smoking point of the butter... and this makes a difference to the flavor. Good Eating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great addition to any cookbook library!

    Mastering the Art of French Cooking Vol. 1 is the latest addition to my vast cookbook collection and I am loving it. It is a beautiful book, full of illustrations and cooking tips. I have enjoyed just looking through it and reading the recipes. I love to cook for my family and friends so I know that this book will always have a place in my home as the recipes are very unique and many of them seem to be one-of-a-kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great addition to my library.

    This is great information for those who want to learn new as well as basic cooking techniques. Many of the recipes take time to cook and they are so worth it. The taste is like nothing I've ever experienced. The time and care putting into the prep of food made me slow down and savor the eating of it. It is a great gift for those who love to cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great kitchen "bible."

    If you want to learn French cooking, is there anyone better to learn from than Julia? Yes, there can be multiple steps in a recipe, but they are clearly stated, and if you follow them, your recipe will turn out as it should. There are several cookbooks that every kitchen should have as basic references, and Mastering the Art of French Cooking is a must-have for the home chef who wants to venture beyond basic bake, broil, and saute recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    one to have

    a classic, a must to have on your shelf both I and II.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great classic of French cooking

    I have "rediscovered" this after losing my copy from the '70s, and I appreciate it more than ever. I heard the audiobook Julie and Julia, about the woman who did all the recipes in one year, and delved back into the original book. What fun! The two definitely compliment each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 5