Customer Reviews for

Masters of Deception: The Gang That Ruled Cyberspace

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Excellect book! Cannot put it down!

    Easily one of the best books I have ever read. The story is gripping and told by an excellent story teller. Even if you are not into computers, the story will engulf you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    'Easy to Understand' Hacking

    Michelle Slatalla and Joshua Quittner¿s Masters of Deception: The Gang that Ruled Cyberspace is about hackers, more specifically hackers that enjoy entering into the telephone companies computers and looking around or as they call it, ¿research.¿ I recently borrowed this from our library for an assignment, and am planning on purchasing it and reading many times more. The book follows the path of the MOD boys as the deal with pranks and ¿pliks¿ along with some very weird Secret Service raids. Quittner and Slatalla make this possibly boring read come to life by explaining all of the hacker underground in laymen terms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Masters of Borification

    Have you ever hacked into a telephone company or any computer for that matter? Well if you are really into computer hacking and computer language then the book Masters of Deception by Michelle Slatalla and Joshua Quittner is a book for you. Masters of Deception is about two young boys in Brooklyn, New York in the 1980s that hack into the phone company computer. The MOD (Masters of Deception) is a gang of computer hackers, who just happen to go into a hacking war with LOD (Legion of Doom) another hacking gang. If you are not into computer hacking I would suggest not wasting your time reading this book. Overall I did not like the book. I thought it was absolutely boring and would not suggest reading it unless you know about and are really interested in computer programming. I would not waste my time reading Masters of Deception because it has hardly any story plot. For the first sixty pages or so all it talks about is Paul, one of the kids in MOD, calling random numbers trying to get a hold of another computer so he can hack into it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Great Book

    I read the book about 3 times, I still have it. The edges are worn and it's very faded, but I'll never forget it. Maybe instead of making movies like 'Hackers' MGM should focus and make a movie about this, with the condolences of the LOD and MOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    this is not a work of fiction

    just in case your 14 and you weren't around, this is NOT fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2001

    A must read thriller

    The Masters of Deception could have been another boring computer book luckily The authors turn the story into a drama that I couldn't put down. I thought that a lot of computer knowledge was going to be needed to read the book but Ms. Slatalla and Mr. Quittner simplify the language in a way few others could. They must have a true talent to take the complicated subject of computers and simplify it so everyone can understand it. The style of the writing is very suspenseful. The authors always leave you wanting to read more. Each chapter switches between the hacking that the teenagers are doing and the government's pursuit of those same hackers. The writing also gives you something to think about. How could teenage kids get such private information? This book was emotionally engaging and just plain interesting. The Masters of Deception is a must read book even if you don't know how to turn on a computer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Excellent!

    I had to read this book for a class project and it was an excellent book. I recommend this book to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    MOD

    I'm only 14 and this is the first crime-related book I've read. I found it to be an extremely intriguing story. It went through and explained a few points that were slightly technical. I do feel that its not for someone who knows nothing of computers- you'd be lost. The character's were well built, the plot was magnificent, and the ending- I'd say disturbing, but a nice way to conclude a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    Great book of hackers

    this book was a real good one. if you are into computers you will really want to read this. excelnt book. i dont like to read but i had to for school and i couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Cyber Wars

    For those who are hacker wannabies, to people that just read a lot, this book will not a be a dissapointment. Full of humor, action, and excitement you are bound to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1