Customer Reviews for

Masters & Slayers (Tales of Starlight Series)

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent addition to Byran Davis's Starlight world

    MASTERS & SLAYERS Tales of Starlight #1 By Bryan Davis Masters & Slayers follows the same basic plot as Davis's Starlighter (Dragons of Starlight) but it follows the adult members of the story - Adrian Masters and Marcelle, instead of the teenage members. Masters & Slayers also begins where Starlighter began with the Blood Tournament. But Masters & Slayers is more grown up as it deals with more of the political under currents that make Major Four what it is. Yet the mission is the same - to find the ''lost ones'' the people who were stolen away and forced to serve the dragons of Dracon. Adrian Masters's mission is more personal as he is also searching for his missing brother Frederick, while Marcelle's double purpose is to find the man responsible for her mother's murder years ago. But before this can happen they must find the portal to Dracon. Aiding them is a glowing being who takes the appearance of a 15 year old girl. This being is named Cassabrie and she is the dragon's messenger. But when Cassabrie returns to Dracon, Marcelle leaps through the portal with her and meets Arxad. Arxad takes Marcelle to the Southlands where the human slaves live. Meanwhile Cassabrie goes back for Adrian and Edison Masters. When they arrive at Dracon danger soon strikes and Adrian and Edison are almost killed attempting to cross a frozen river. They are saved by the white dragon the King of the Northlands. On Major Four Drexel finds the other portal to Dracon and has the genetic keys needed to open it - the fingers of a descendant who escaped Dracon. Once on Dracon he locates some of the slaves and promptly kills the four adults. He plans to take two of the five children back to Major Four with him. Drexel's only goal is to be worshipped as a hero! When Marcelle and Adrian meet up, Adrian is inhabited by Cassabrie as she guides them on their quest. They enter the cattle camps were the youngest slaves are forced to survive. Against Adrian's advice Marcelle attacks the dragon overseer and Adrian is forced to help her. To save Marcelle and the children Adrian gives himself up to the dragon who comes to punish the camp. Marcelle then realizes that her temper and lack of thinking have gotten them into this situation. Marcelle attempts to rescue Adrian though Cassabrie wants him give up so that they can be together forever. What will Adrian choose and who will be lost in this battle for Starlight? Masters & Slayers is an exciting addition to the Starlight world. This book is most definitely intended for adults and older teens. Publisher provided Digital Reader Copy for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Awesome book. Great for anyone who enjoyed the Dragons of Starl

    Awesome book. Great for anyone who enjoyed the Dragons of Starlight seires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Saphire

    What happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Davis creates another gripping story

    NOOOOO!!! My book just ended and I wasn't ready for it to be over yet! This was another outstanding book by Bryan Davis. Each book I read by him is as impressive as the one I read before. He has a way with creating the world he puts the characters in that brings the story to life. The characters are people you want to know, and when the book ends....I can't believe the book ended!! I have got to get my hands on the next book and fast, I MUST know what happens.

    This book brings together fantasy, religion, heroism, chivalry, bravery, love and friendship together, and before you know it, 400 pages have flown by and it honestly hasn't seemed like you have been reading that long. I am now, more than ever, a fan of Mr. Davis.

    This book has me guessing at every turn. Who really is on the right side, who may have alterior motives? Great authors have this ability, and Davis has shown he is fantastic at this twist. At the end of this book, I know the characters well, and I know who I like, but am I liking them for the wrong reasons? Could they be working some hidden angle? These characters are definitely 3 dimensional, and once I catch up on a few books that I have to read, I'm diving right back into this amazing world created just for us by Mr. Davis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Have to read this!

    This book, also set in the world of Starlight, shows events from a totally new and different perspective. The characters, Adrian and Marcelle, are fellow warriors who must work together as they risk everything, even their lives, to travel to Dracon and attempt a rescue of the humans that are enslaved by dragons there. Along the way they learn to face their weaknesses and help each other in overcoming them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    A Thrilling Journey

    In Masters and Slayers, you join characters Marcelle and Adrian on a heart rending adventure. Traveling through two different planets, their story is constantly packed with excitement and exhilaration. At selective intervals, characters from the book Starlighter make their own appearance in the eyes of the new acquaintances the book has given us, as well as the mysterious starlighter, Cassabrie. Dragon slaying, sword fighting, damsels in distress, and children in need of rescue all make their common place story into Bryan Davis's gifted imagination, becoming a new story ready to be well loved and received. This book is filled with beautiful quotes, inspiring characters, and the ever-present theme self sacrificing love. The adventure was gripping, and I was left ready to continue the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Great new read!

    If you think that Bryan Davis can't get any better, think again,
    for this book is one of the best!! The plot is ingenious, and with a lot of twists that will
    make sure you keep turning the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Thank you Mr. Davis!

    Thank you Bryan Davis for a wonderful book. I was once again captivated by your story, characters, and setting. This is definitly an enchanting book. I love it! I can't wait for what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    A Captivating Adventure!

    Masters and Slayers, the first of the Tales of Starlight series, has earned a prominent place on my "favorite books" shelf, right next to Starlighter. While Starlighter follows the adventures of teenaged Jason Masters, Masters and Slayers is about his older brother Adrian as he sets out to locate a legendary portal and bring the Lost Ones home. Bryan Davis's take on this story is truly unique. Flawlessly, he weaves these two series into one tale of excitement and inspiration. While both Starlighter and Masters and Slayers can stand on their own, reading both has offered me a deeper understanding for the story world. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Best Book Ever!

    Masters & Slayers is a truly amazing book; I stayed up all night reading it! I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series and companion series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Secrets revealed, an awesome book!!!!! Recommend it!!!

    This book revealed a lot of mysteries from Starlighter. You met more characters and got to spend more time with already existing characters. I highly recommend it if you read Starlighter. This book was sooooooo good!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Finally a book for adults!

    When Adrian went off on his adventure in the beginning of Starlighter I really wanted to know what happened to him, and now I get my wish. Plus this books deals with adult characters which I appreciate. I am nineteen years old, which still puts me in the category of teenager but also legal adult and I still enjoy reading books for teenagers, but I begin to feel old when the heroes of the story are fifteen and sixteen, who says once you hit twenty-five you can't have fun? As an older reader I appreciate having characters closer to my age that still go on the sword swinging, dragon riding adventures that I have always loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    The Best Book Yet!!!!!!

    Masters & Slayers...... The Best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book I think Mr. Davis has ever written!
    It is epic!
    I got this book and couldn't put it down until I was forced too. :)
    I love the story, the characters, and the possibility's for the next upcoming books.This book answers a lot of mysteries from Starlighter. You won't be disappointed about this book, even the cover is so special with that sword design! Thanks Mr. Davis for the best book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1