BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mastiff (Beka Cooper Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Tamora Pierce saved the best for last

At the beginning of our story, Holdon is gone. Beka and Holdon were engaged, ready to walk down the aisle, when Holdon did an incredibly brave and stupid thing and ran into a fight with no backup to prove, perhaps, that he was a better warrior than Beka. However, Beka d...
At the beginning of our story, Holdon is gone. Beka and Holdon were engaged, ready to walk down the aisle, when Holdon did an incredibly brave and stupid thing and ran into a fight with no backup to prove, perhaps, that he was a better warrior than Beka. However, Beka doesn't feel the sadness she should. Because, quite frankly, she was about to end her relationship with Holdon right before he died. The guilt that runs through her for not feeling angrier about the death of her betrothed is what is eating Beka up inside. But before she has time to really deal with it all, in the middle of the night her lord Gershom appears at her door, and with no information, tells her to pack her things. They are headed out on a Hunt of secretive proportions. So Beka, without a word, brings Achoo (her scent dog who can literally find anything), her cat, Pounce, who is far more than a cat and gives her information that only a 'god' would know, and follows the lord out into the night. Reaching the docks, Beka, her partner, Tunstall, and Gershom, are the small team that boards one of the Crown's most precious super-fast vessels, and fly across the sea to the Blue Harbor, finding themselves at the Summer Palace of Their Majesty's. There, they discover the royal guards pasty white and shaking, and a true landscape of death. Meeting up with a mage called Master Farmer, the secret is revealed that Beka's team must work for the King and Queen in secret to find something that is more precious to the kingdom than anything else. Working with this odd mage, Beka's team must investigate everything from slave ships and slave traders to whether or not the mages, themselves, have begun an uprising because of the taxes and laws that the King has put into effect. As always, this author has created a fantasy world at every turn, and the pages come alive with locales and characters that the reader will not believe. And, in the end, Ms. Pierce has made sure to wrap up this trilogy with beauty, adventure, excitement, and a huge lesson to be learned! Quill Says: Tamora Pierce saved the best for last.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Was not impressed by far my least favorite

Lets get something straight. Tamora Pierce is my all time favorite author but in Mastiff, she let me down. Beka is un-realistic and seems to completely change her character. Two fiances in a span of a year or so...very un-like her. And **SPOILER ALERT** Tunstall at ...
Lets get something straight. Tamora Pierce is my all time favorite author but in Mastiff, she let me down. Beka is un-realistic and seems to completely change her character. Two fiances in a span of a year or so...very un-like her. And **SPOILER ALERT** Tunstall at the end, no way, even for Sabine he would NEVER become the villan. Farmer is bland to say the least and never makes you root for him. Hes just plain boring. Not the right man for beka. Dale was exciting and so was Rosto, why the hell pick Farmer? Pounce seems to be the only character I was really concentrating on in this, he was the only exciting one. All the magic gets boring and it just seems like a circle of magic knock off. No good fights like in the previous books, just alot of damn running around. Very confusing. I also missed all the previous characters we see NONE of Kora, Aniki, Goodwin or Ersken. Its sad really really upsetting actually. I was waiting for so long for this but it really doesnt seem worth it now. Lets hope her next series is alot better than this. Dissapointed to say the least. After this I think I am just going to stick to rereading Keladry, at least that has some action worth reading.

posted by 9887781 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tamora Pierce saved the best for last

    At the beginning of our story, Holdon is gone. Beka and Holdon were engaged, ready to walk down the aisle, when Holdon did an incredibly brave and stupid thing and ran into a fight with no backup to prove, perhaps, that he was a better warrior than Beka. However, Beka doesn't feel the sadness she should. Because, quite frankly, she was about to end her relationship with Holdon right before he died. The guilt that runs through her for not feeling angrier about the death of her betrothed is what is eating Beka up inside. But before she has time to really deal with it all, in the middle of the night her lord Gershom appears at her door, and with no information, tells her to pack her things. They are headed out on a Hunt of secretive proportions. So Beka, without a word, brings Achoo (her scent dog who can literally find anything), her cat, Pounce, who is far more than a cat and gives her information that only a 'god' would know, and follows the lord out into the night. Reaching the docks, Beka, her partner, Tunstall, and Gershom, are the small team that boards one of the Crown's most precious super-fast vessels, and fly across the sea to the Blue Harbor, finding themselves at the Summer Palace of Their Majesty's. There, they discover the royal guards pasty white and shaking, and a true landscape of death. Meeting up with a mage called Master Farmer, the secret is revealed that Beka's team must work for the King and Queen in secret to find something that is more precious to the kingdom than anything else. Working with this odd mage, Beka's team must investigate everything from slave ships and slave traders to whether or not the mages, themselves, have begun an uprising because of the taxes and laws that the King has put into effect. As always, this author has created a fantasy world at every turn, and the pages come alive with locales and characters that the reader will not believe. And, in the end, Ms. Pierce has made sure to wrap up this trilogy with beauty, adventure, excitement, and a huge lesson to be learned! Quill Says: Tamora Pierce saved the best for last.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Decent addition to Tortall

    Not too many surprises - pretty much everyone who you think is evil turns out to be evil, but an enjoyable read nonetheless and a satisfying end to the Beka Cooper trilogy. I could have done without constant references to bodily excrement though.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Good Read and Good Ending to the Series

    Overall this book was a good book to end the series. The begining was a little confusing and didn't make a lot of sense. As the book moved on the plot got better and I enjoyed reading it. However, the ending of the book was unexpected and didn't make complete sense(almost like the author changed a character just for the plot). But, overall the book was great and just what I was looking for.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Ok

    I guess it was a good book her first one terrier was alot better then this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great end not what was expected but ultimately satisfying

    Though the book did steer outside the norm for Tamora I did enjoy the read, there were a few fall pits that left me wanting to skip ahead but I completely loved the final tie in's made the first part about the lioness period Coopers in the first book make me smile... I hope Tamora will produce more for this realm but it felt like write a closer and an excellent one at that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Tamora Pierce pushes the limits of young adult books.

    A must have if you love the Baka Cooper books but be forewarned this one is more graphic than her earlier works, if rotten bodies are a big turn off this can be a hard read but well worth the suspense and clever plot line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the wait

    I don't think Ms. Pierce knows how to write a bad book and that fact alone makes this book worth the wait. That being said; there were some areas of the book,(Beka's romance), that seemed forced. Other areas of the book, (the betrayal), did not ring true for me.

    Rebakah Cooper is called on a Hunt the very day she buries her late fiance. Far from being the cruel twist of fate some think it is, it is actually a relief for Beka as she and her fiance were ready to call off the engagement before he died in a glory hound move while on the job.

    Beka, Tunstall, and a mage named Farmer Cape along wiht Pounce and Achoo are called to the Summer Palace by Lord Gershom. Ms. Pierce's description of the scene that awaits them is masterful. I had no problem visualizing the scene. (Warning, it is graphic.) Beka's emotional response to what she finds is realistic and what one would expect from a seasoned police officer.

    They learn their Hunt will be to find the missing Prince a four year old boy who was kidnapped. The Hunt will take them through some of the roughest lands in Tortall and into some of the most snobbish houses.

    Lady Sabine joins the Hunt to help Beka and Company deal with the nobility of Tortall and she is good at her job.

    We do finally meet the Black God and he does speak to Beka. I've read this scene a dozen times and still love it.

    In many ways I wish this book had concentrated more on Beka's connection with the God. Seeing her interact with members of the Black God's priesthood, those called Friend by others, I fee would have expained her gifts and her service to the God better.

    As a final note I have to say Pounce is bored. While the Hunt is exciting and difficult and Pounce is called on to help out in a way that is risky for him I could feel his boredom throughout the book. I think he was more than ready to return to the heavens.

    I highly recommend this book as a completion to the Beka Cooper series. I would recommend it more if it was the bridge between this series and another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2