BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mastiff (Beka Cooper Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Tamora Pierce saved the best for last

At the beginning of our story, Holdon is gone. Beka and Holdon were engaged, ready to walk down the aisle, when Holdon did an incredibly brave and stupid thing and ran into a fight with no backup to prove, perhaps, that he was a better warrior than Beka. However, Beka d...
At the beginning of our story, Holdon is gone. Beka and Holdon were engaged, ready to walk down the aisle, when Holdon did an incredibly brave and stupid thing and ran into a fight with no backup to prove, perhaps, that he was a better warrior than Beka. However, Beka doesn't feel the sadness she should. Because, quite frankly, she was about to end her relationship with Holdon right before he died. The guilt that runs through her for not feeling angrier about the death of her betrothed is what is eating Beka up inside. But before she has time to really deal with it all, in the middle of the night her lord Gershom appears at her door, and with no information, tells her to pack her things. They are headed out on a Hunt of secretive proportions. So Beka, without a word, brings Achoo (her scent dog who can literally find anything), her cat, Pounce, who is far more than a cat and gives her information that only a 'god' would know, and follows the lord out into the night. Reaching the docks, Beka, her partner, Tunstall, and Gershom, are the small team that boards one of the Crown's most precious super-fast vessels, and fly across the sea to the Blue Harbor, finding themselves at the Summer Palace of Their Majesty's. There, they discover the royal guards pasty white and shaking, and a true landscape of death. Meeting up with a mage called Master Farmer, the secret is revealed that Beka's team must work for the King and Queen in secret to find something that is more precious to the kingdom than anything else. Working with this odd mage, Beka's team must investigate everything from slave ships and slave traders to whether or not the mages, themselves, have begun an uprising because of the taxes and laws that the King has put into effect. As always, this author has created a fantasy world at every turn, and the pages come alive with locales and characters that the reader will not believe. And, in the end, Ms. Pierce has made sure to wrap up this trilogy with beauty, adventure, excitement, and a huge lesson to be learned! Quill Says: Tamora Pierce saved the best for last.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Was not impressed by far my least favorite

Lets get something straight. Tamora Pierce is my all time favorite author but in Mastiff, she let me down. Beka is un-realistic and seems to completely change her character. Two fiances in a span of a year or so...very un-like her. And **SPOILER ALERT** Tunstall at ...
Lets get something straight. Tamora Pierce is my all time favorite author but in Mastiff, she let me down. Beka is un-realistic and seems to completely change her character. Two fiances in a span of a year or so...very un-like her. And **SPOILER ALERT** Tunstall at the end, no way, even for Sabine he would NEVER become the villan. Farmer is bland to say the least and never makes you root for him. Hes just plain boring. Not the right man for beka. Dale was exciting and so was Rosto, why the hell pick Farmer? Pounce seems to be the only character I was really concentrating on in this, he was the only exciting one. All the magic gets boring and it just seems like a circle of magic knock off. No good fights like in the previous books, just alot of damn running around. Very confusing. I also missed all the previous characters we see NONE of Kora, Aniki, Goodwin or Ersken. Its sad really really upsetting actually. I was waiting for so long for this but it really doesnt seem worth it now. Lets hope her next series is alot better than this. Dissapointed to say the least. After this I think I am just going to stick to rereading Keladry, at least that has some action worth reading.

posted by 9887781 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Eagerly waiting on the edge of my seat.

    I am a twenty five year old woman and I love this author. I have been reading her books since 1998 and at one time I owned her entire complete collection up to blood hound. Had to sell it for financial reasons and it broke my heart. I have read all of her books many many times over and find new and fun details each time. I recommend the Immortals series the most.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Tamora Pierce is my all-time favorite author!!!

    I've been impatiently waiting for Mastiff ever since Bloodhound came out! I've been reading Tammy's books for the last 20 years, and I've never been disappointed! Always a great read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Absolutely fantastic!

    I loved this book wholeheartedly. Beka Cooper is without a doubt my favorite of Tamora Pierce's heroines. Her character is the most real and deep, i feel, and she stands out from the others because the thing that is most special about her is that she is herself. All of her strength and the uniqueness of her character comes from within. She's not the first lady knight in a century, she's not a prophecied divine savior, or a uniquely discovered shape shifter. She's just Beka.
    I really loved how the story begins years after the last left off, leaving us with an older Beka with a very different life than the one we left her in. Her guilt over her lack of feelings for Holborn and his death give a depth to Beka's monologue that many authors would not utilize, and the plot leads through places and people rife with complexity and danger. The betrayal at the end broke my heart, and i just didn't want to believe it. The story holds you in it's grip to the very end. Phenomenaly well written, and a worthy end to Beka's story. I pray to Mithros and the Goddess this won't be the last we hear from the land of Tortall.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The third Beka Cooper young adult fantasy police procedural is a terrific thriller

    Holburn the Dog was killed when he foolishly attacked a nest of slave guards. His mother blames his death on her son's betrothal to a fellow Dog Beka Cooper; while her peers, her partner, her superior and the rest of his family knows Holburn acted in a suicidal way with his assault. Instead of mourning her loss, Beka feels free and guilty for feeling free.

    King Roger the "randy one" and his second wife Queen Jessamine need a special top Secret Hunt with a team having the best scent hound. Thus Beka and her partner Matt Tunstall accompanied by her animal friends (Pounce the supernatural cat and Achoo the scent hound), his lover Sabine the lady knight and Farmer Cape the Kennel mage begin a search and rescue Hunt for the kidnapped heir to the throne of Tortall

    The third Beka Cooper young adult fantasy police procedural (see Bloodhound and Terrier) is a terrific thriller due to the lead protagonist. Her peers recognize her strengths as she believes in doing what is right though that is often difficult to gauge. The story line opens with the stunning realistic funeral of her fiancé and never slows down as the heroine and her retinue Hunt clues for the abducted heir in what is a superb kidnapping investigative tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Can't wait!!! can't wait!!!!

    I love Tamora's books!!!! I've read pretty much all of them since I was 12 ( now 25), She is the only author who's books I will read over again... I just started Alanna back up I wanna read them all again :) Get here soon Mastiff I've been missing Beka!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I love Pierce's writing, and have been a dedicated follower sinc

    I love Pierce's writing, and have been a dedicated follower since junior high when she had only her series on Alanna and Daine. I was not disappointed in the Beka Cooper series, and Mastiff was my favorite of the three. I loved the unexpectedness, the twist written into the plot. Maybe it was a little unrealistic, but if you want reality, why are you reading fantasy?! I can't wait to find out what else Ms. Pierce has in store for her readers!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Completly amazing! I could not put it down, it was definatly worth the wait.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Amazing!

    I just want to know why it took two years? Totally worth it though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Just Might Be My New Favorite

    The night after burying her fiance Beka Cooper is summoned by Lord Provost on a mission that he only trusts her with. Death, doubts, and betrayal plague her as she sets out on her great hunt to track down the traitors that have kidnapped the prince of the land. If you have enjoyed any of the other books written by Tamora Pierce, you will enjoy this one also. I had to pace myself to make the book last but by the last third or so I could not put it down until I finished at 2:30 a.m. Recommended for teens and older especially girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Not sure what makes this series for teens

    Terrific ending to a great trilogy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    Let's just say I waited many, many months for this book to finally come out and when it did, I fell out of my tiny desk chair. I was ecstatic when I saw that it was available for purchase and immediately shoved all my text books aside to click on the "purchase" button for my Nook. With heart pounding, I made my final decision and within seconds, my electronic book had been stored in my library. All kidding aside (though this event actually did happen in this sequence), this book is creatively written, wonderful for readers in their preteens and older. Tamora Pierce has craftily intertwined the problems of normal teenagers finding a place in society, dealing with heavy responsibilities, and the importance of the many kinds of relationships that relate to our world. Based on this book, the previous ones in the trilogy, and the imaginative mind of the author, I would definitely read other books by her and recommend this particular book to anyone who enjoys the thrill of adventure, the suspense that every chapter brings, and a bit of magic....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    this was a great book couldn't put it down and it was full of good plot twists. it left me guessing who the culprit was and why they did. very good reading and i recommended it to anyone that is a fan of Tsmora Pierce can't wait to see what she comes out with next!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    cant wait

    I have been reading these books since i was in 6th greade and now even at 25 i cant wait to see what she comes out with next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    :0)

    This is another good book by a very good author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This book was AMAZING and in response to some of these reviews.

    Although it was a bit different then the last two books of the series it makes sense that Beka "changed". Its a series and a journal of her Hunts. As she documents her hunts shes growing up. She learns and grows. I appreciate the change because it shows that there was actual time between these books and periods of which she was being a Dog. If there wasnt the change these books wouldve seemed repetitive. Other than that i enjoyed the storyline greatly. And could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Awsome highly reccommended!

    Awsome highly reccommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    My thoughts

    This book was amazing but sad i cryed when i founld out what tunstall had dis it hurt because now when i rereaad i feel bad i wish she ended up with rosto and i wated to read about there weding but oh well to bad life gose onand i mean it. One thing i did not like was the peragin baot npe but not on allanas time. I mean if this is before that then what happend to them? Otger then those i really loveed this book and say a sad good bye to beka, i loved reading about you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    While I'm obviously not too fond of the fact that this is the la

    While I'm obviously not too fond of the fact that this is the last I'll being seeing of Beka, I am pretty happy with how things ended up. Of course I was devastated by the betrayal she faced by someone that should have been too close to hurt her, and I also wish that I could've seen a little more of Rosto, Kora, Aniki, and Goodwin before everything ended, but I'm very proud of Beka and glad that she finally got her happily ever after.

    Even though I didn't get to see as many of Beka's old friends as I had hoped, I really enjoyed all of the new faces. First off, Gareth. I know that I didn't get to meet him until the very end, but I have to say, that kid's a boss. Seriously. The little guy's only four years old, but he handled being kidnapped better than many people ten times his age would have. He's so kind to everyone too, especially considering his lineage. He is one of the sweetest, bravest, most determined little boys I've ever had the pleasure of reading about, and I only wish that I could have had more time to spend with him.

    Then there's Farmer. There's no way I could have talked about this book without mentioning him. He's just that awesome. Like Beka, he'll play up the stupid Lower City Dog act to make people underestimate him before completely blowing their minds. Unlike Beka, however, Farmer does it with style. I'm not picking on Beka here, but she just tends to slip into a bit of an accent and act really shy around nobles, whereas Farmer goes full throttle with the whole country bumkin act. I swear, if he said, "Ma allus said...." one more time, I don't think I could have contained the laughter.

    And then we have Pounce. Oh, Pounce, Pounce, Pounce, Pounce, Pounce, how I adore you. After Salem from Sabrina the Teenage Witch, I never thought I could love another talking cat so much again, but you completely blow him out of the water (sorry Salem). You are the best character in this book, and you know it. Thank you so much for your meddling, even if it did confine you to the stars for a hundred years. Your smugness will forever live in my heart, and I'm so glad that I at least didn't have to say goodbye to you, Pounce (or should I call you Faithful?).

    Overall, the first half was a little slow at times, but still enjoyable, mainly because I loved spending time with all of the characters so much. I probably would have only given this book four stars if it continued on like that, but what came later more than made up for it. By far, the most exciting parts of the book came a little after halfway through. That was when things really started to pick up, and it felt like I had been thrown in the middle of a whirlwind of excitement and suspense. It really never calmed down from there until the very end, and even that may be stretching it. The ending was certainly something huge, but I can't say anything else without spoiling the book for you. I really felt like everything had finally come full circle, especially after going back to George Cooper in the epilogue. It seemed very fitting for him to close things up, especially since he and his mother started Beka's story off in the beginning of Terrier. Oh, back when she was just a Puppy.... it's making me sad just thinking about it. Goodbye Beka! I'll never forget you! Probably because I'll end up rereading your books every year!

    Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This was an amazing book!

    I've been waiting for weeks to read this book. Finally yesterday night I got it and I couldnt stop reading. Beka has developed sence we last read about her. She was recently engaged and had that broken up. Now on a hunt ordered by the king and queen searching for the 4 year old prince, Beka, a mysterious mage named Farmer, Sabine, and Tunstall go to all corners of Tortall. Beka, I think does not express herself enough in the books but I'm used to people doing that because of Alanna and Aly always did. I think this book is really lacking action.(Maybe it just me??) I like this book cuz its not a all gross. Luv this book=luv yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    You know a book is exceptional when you can┬┐t help yourself by c

    You know a book is exceptional when you can’t help yourself by crying with the heroin at the end. This book had passion, intrigue, fighting, adventure, and much more. Tamora Pierce did an excellent job of writing a fresh new story and throwing Beka, Pounce and Achoo into the middle of it. Through it all, Beka remains true to who she is, but learns some hard lessons that not everyone is perfect. This is an important lesson for all to learn, young and old alike. It also deals with an important topic of that everyone is equal in this world, and everyone has a right to live life the way the choose and not be owned as slaves by others. Some may think that slavery is a topic that our society has surpassed, and all though that may be true to some extent in the US it is not true for many other people and part of our world even today. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good adventure. As for family friendliness it gets a 5 out of 5. Anyone of any age will enjoy this book immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8