Customer Reviews for

The Match: The Day the Game of Golf Changed Forever

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When Amateur Golf Died

    Could two amateur golfers beat two of the world's greatest professionals? Once upon a time, they might. Mark Frost tells the story of just such a contest in his account of The Match: The Day The Game Of Golf Changed Forever. But this isn't a fairy tale. It is instead a can't-put-it-down true account of a high-stakes game played in 1956 on one of golf's most spectacular courses by four of the game's legendary competitors.

    Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson are the pros. They have fourteen major championships between them. Coming from the same caddie yard, the once-close competitors haven't spoken in years--but they teamed up to face the two leading amateurs of the day, Harvie Ward and Ken Venturi. Both of these young men competed at the highest levels of the game in the hallowed tradition of Bobby Jones. As a match-play team, they had never been defeated. The venue for the match? Storied Cypress Point, whose fairways follow craggy cliffs and rocky promontories swept by the winds of the Pacific while the ocean crashes below.

    Frost lays out the play stroke by stroke, pacing the narrative with revealing histories of the players and other notables involved in the day. He puts the game into context, pointing out that this day marked the end of the amateur era and the ascendance of the professional. While the match itself is compelling, the after-stories make fascinating reading, too, especially for those of us intersted in the history of golf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I'm preaty shure I have seen the movie but I'm not shure

    It is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    A must read for any golf enthusiast

    Very engaging and captivating. Not only do we get a shot by shot recap of the Match, Mark Frost provides a look into the lives of the participants. I saw each shot as described by Mark and I felt the personalities of the players. The recap of the Match moves quickly but because Mark intercedes other stories between shots, you need to know what happens, thus I could not stop reading. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Golf

    Is awesome hhjjjfiwhfrgdihdkrhribjfdcf6%-::*,#(#*#-'7$338$-$*$6769473*-+;*-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Groovey

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Dreaam foursome

    Simply outstanding. Recreates a time when the world seemed a little simpler and less combative. If you appreciated the book The Legend of Bagger Vance you will truely enjoy this real life slice of not only golf history but American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Fantastic

    One of the best ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Wow.

    Even if you aren't a fan or player of the game, you owe it to yourself to read this book. It describes in detail some great American history and how some of our most well-known sportsmen and entertainers not only survived but thrived in the early-to-mid-20th Century. From Bing Crosby's Clambake to Eddie Lowery and his pair of dynamite amateur golfers, Frost's simple yet colorful writing makes this a must-read. Do yourself a favor: read it and share it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Top Notch

    Best golf book I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    bread

    superb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Wonderful story!

    If you love golf history and its players you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Overview of Historical Golf Event

    As the author notes, this match could never take place today. Two of the greatest golfers of all time in a "practice round" with the two top amateurs of the day. Beyond giving solid histories on each player, and even the two business men who concocted this event, Frost really excells at painting descriptions of the match -- hole by hole, shot by shot. Not only does he place the reader at the match with his portrayal of how it unfolded, but one can feel some level of the tension that must have engulfed the players and the building gallery at Cyprus that day. If you are a golf or sports fan of any type, you'll enjoy this one immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Could have been coveed in two-thirds of the pages

    Author repeats himself and adds unecessary stuff to stretch the book to an acceptable length. The basic part of the book, the match, is both informative and interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    For Golf Lovers

    If you love the game and tradition of golf, you should read this book. I now have a higher respect for the game. It would be better if a map of the course was included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Great history

    Great story and we learned a lot about the mental game. I would also recommend Mentalrules for golf by Dr. Gregg Steinberg for great stories and mental game stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    A great golf book!

    I really enjoyed this book, especially with Byron Nelson and Ben Hogan being involved. Got a little historical content with the Bing Crosby ProAm Clambake- this would make a good movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Golf History

    Great book about all the golf greats before Tiger Woods. Anyone who plays golf should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Must Read!

    Excellent story! By the end of the book you will feel as if you know each golfer personally. If you are a golfer, this one is a keeper. It was like reading several biographies rolled into one book with a golf game at the centerpiece. Really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    If you love golf or sports, read this one

    I don't read many golf books, but this one captured me from cover to cover. I couldn't put it down. Mark Frost does a great job of not only relating a compelling story, but weaves in golf history that educates and gives almost a cliff-notes life-sketch of legends like Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson and Ken Venturi. While this match won't be found in any golf history books, I've spoken with Mr. Venturi on my radio show, Real Golf Radio, and he still remembers The Match. Tom Watson told me he remembers Byron Nelson relating this story to him long ago. It's definitely worth the read. I'm giving this book to all my friends for Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    A Great Story !

    Very well researched and a great read! How he was able to get all the inside stories from 50+ years ago was quite a feat in itself. The book should have some appeal even for non-golfers but for golfers, it's a must read! Just the backround on each player was worth it but the match description itself was as good as watching any final Sunday 9 holes at the Master's, maybe better! The subtitle 'The Day the Game of Golf Changed Forever' may be a bit of a stretch but don't let that deter you, this one's a keeper. Note to the author: If you sell it to Hollywood, make sure they don't over-produce it with special effects like they did with 'The Greatest Game Ever Played'. Neither book needs any more bells and whistles than the story itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4