Customer Reviews for

Match Made in Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Match Made in Heaven

    What a delightful book! It is poignant as well as extremely funny. I recommend the book highly and only wish that I could apply the wonderful life lessons on a daily basis to my own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    A unique and ingenius story

    Once my wife and I started to read this book, we couldn't put it down. A totally unique story line that features wit and laughter balanced by moments of wisdom, insight and poignancy. In a disarming way, this book teaches us once again that in the game of life (like golf) fulfillment is found not in winning or losing,but in the character of one's struggle in playing the game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Secrets of Life, not Golf

    Match Made in Heaven is a compelling read.After finishing a chapter,I always needed to know who was going to appear on the next tee. Once I found out, I couldn't put the book down, continued reading, and devoured the book in short order. The cast of characters assembled by the author was wonderfully diverse.The philosophies they espoused gave a superb insight into what is truly important in life. I am on my second read now because I'm afraid that I missed some of MMIH's nuances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Storytelling from the blue tees.

    Whether you're a golf nut, a history buff or just a great book lover, Bob Mitchell has written Match Made in Heaven for you. The raw power of a life and death outcome, the unimaginable handicap of playing against God and the constant distraction of a parade of the most colorful characters in history (DaVinci, WC Fields, Shakespeare and John Lennon to name but a few) make this not only a novel idea, but a great novel. Storytelling from the blue tees.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    A Must Read

    Golf?God?Not for me. I thought. However I was intrigued enough to pick it up.Luckily, it took me3 chapters to finish my grande mocha latte and by that time I was hooked.I loved seeing such familiar characters in such a unique way. It's funny, warm and reflective. I loved it!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    The Game's the Thing

    Match Made In Heaven¿s improbable premise, a life or death golf game orchestrated by God, is matched only by it¿s surprisingly clever conclusion. The story contains as many intricate twists and turns as the best designed golf course. This is a book about golf for the golfer and non-golfer alike, with as much to say about life as golf, perhaps more. The philosophy and character of its all-star cast, ranging from Leonardo DaVinci to Babe Ruth, Beethoven to John Lennon, Picasso to Marilyn Monroe, is impeccably captured by an author who is as insightful as he is creative. Sprinkled with a generous dose of light humor, MMIH is a must-read page-turner unlike any other. It should be this year¿s runaway best-seller. Five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    A non-golfer's perspective

    Witty, learned, and unpretentious: even a non-golfer can take something away from this whimsical novel. The Socratic dialogue and the encounter with Freud were my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    A Heavenly Book

    Bob Mitchell's novel, 'Match Made in Heaven' is a wonderfully creative tour de force describing a life or death 18-hole golf match between God and and one man Elliott. If Elliot succeeds in winning the match over God's 18 'designated hitters,' he will receive a reprieve from imminent death. His opponents happen to be some of history's most famous personages, e.g. Leonard da Vinci, Moses, Freud, Bethoven, even Marilyn Monoe, from whom Elliott derives valuable lessons, mostly unrelated to the golf game. It's a far out premise that Mitchell handles extrememly well with humor and insight and from which the reader can derive something about competition itself but even more about human frailties and strength.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1