BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Match Me If You Can (Chicago Stars Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute! Fun!

    The romance between Heath and Annabelle was predictable but the clever, witty journey to get there was worth it. Annabelle, a soft touch, tries to revamp her grandmother's matchmaking business for a new generation and Heath, a hard nosed lawyer and sports agent come together on a professional level. While trying to find a match for Heath, she falls for him herself. Cute! Fun!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    A joy to treasure.

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips scores a sensational, funny, tender story in Match Me If You Can. _________ Annabelle Granger is determined to change her place as the family screw up. She is laying it all on the line to make Perfect for you the matchmaker service she inherited a success. Annabelle sets her sites on Heath Champion, top sports agent. If she can make this match the exposure will help Perfect for you. __________ Heath has decided its time to add a wife to the mix. Someone who will be the perfect partner. He already has a deal with Power Matches owner Portia Powers. But he is intrigued by this quirky woman who steamrolls her way into his life. Dates are coming left and right from both women. But it¿s Annabelle and Heath that shake each other¿s world. Has the matchmaker made her match? _________ Match Me If You Can is a book to treasure. The dialogue is witty, snappy, the passion is hot and the family and friends are a joy. I loved peeking in to former friends for the Chicago Stars. It was like checking in with old and dear friends.______ You can¿t go wrong with this book, it¿s a keeper.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Love it, Love it, and Love it!!!

    This was probably Susan E. Phillips best book in the Chicago Stars series. There were so many laugh out loud moments and the storyline was great. Heath Champion the sexy sport agent for Kevin Tucker (This Heart of Mine)has decided he wants a wife so he hires Portia of Power Matches and the heroine Annabelle Granger of Perfect for you to introduce him to potiental wives. Annabelle is friends with Molly (This Heart of Mine) who first helps Annabelle (who is considered the screwup in her family) land Heath as a client. As she searches for potiental wives for Heath the sparks begin to fly between these two. Great dialogue between all the characters in this book will keep you laughing and entertained. The secondary romance between Portia and Bodie who is Heaths 'bodyguard' is also good. Another treat for fans is the return of some of the old gang like Phoebe/Dan and Molly/Kevin. Highly recommend this book. Great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why I'm an addict

    This book displays SEP witty and sarcastic humor throughout every scene. The diatribe is something I seek in all books and this one is a definite page turner. It does not have the intimate profiles as some of her books, but this can be bypassed with her captivating movement throughout the book. I loved all the characters and even though at times some may seem a little cliche, this book seems to encompass what it takes to make a SEP success. Highly recommend if you want modern and sarcastic dialogue with a twist of romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine animated contemporary romance

    Sports agent Heath ¿Python¿ Champion decides he needs a societal acceptable trophy wife to further his career. The agent of football superstar Kevin Tucker (see THIS HEART OF MINE) does not want to go through the motion of finding someone or bother much beyond the superficial when it comes to the courting ritual. He hires Portia Powers of Power Match, but she wants to control his every move. --- He then turns around and hires cute but wacky Annabelle Granger, who recently inherited her grandmother's matchmaking business. Between the two companies Heath meets a horde of eligible lovely women, but none of Chicago¿s finest is good enough for him. Instead he begins thinking of attractive Annabelle who he finds very kissable when they are not arguing and even more kissable when they are. However, Annabelle is the last person a social climber wants by his side so he keeps asking himself why does he want to make a permanent match with the madcap matchmaker? --- Heath and Annabelle are a fun couple due to their vigorous spats, their vivacious kisses, and finally their undisputed conclusion that each is wrong for the other¿s career goals. In other words love is a wonderful irritating nuisance. MATCH ME IF YOU CAN is a fine animated contemporary romance starring a delightful duo. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I loved this book!!! The characters were very likable, and some

    I loved this book!!! The characters were very likable, and some of the situations were very funny! This is one I'll read again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great

    This was a quick and fun read that was well-worth the money. I won't delete it from my nook, even when I buy a print copy. Annabelle is charming and funny and Heath, even though he's gorgeous he definitely has his flaws which endear him. I loved this book because it made me laugh and it wasn't too cliched or mushy. It's great to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    This was the very first Susan Elizabeth Phillips romance I ever

    This was the very first Susan Elizabeth Phillips romance I ever read. I don’t know if that’s why it became one of my romance favorites, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I enjoyed this book for its humor and romance/love story. There was a great balance between the two that made it a quick read. The antics and relationships between all the characters are what created the quirkiness and humor. There is some heat in the romance area, but not continually throughout the story.

    I enjoyed Annabelle’s attitude especially when dealing with Heath as a client of hers. Could Heath really be that vain? There was never a dull moment in the book and it had a very good ending. I also enjoyed the matching making job outlook. Something new I had never read before.
    I would definitely recommend this book to all readers of romance. Don’t let the sports theme turn you off, it isn’t the full basis for the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A must on the summer read list!

    A fun, enjoyable, well written story. perfect vacation book! i fell in love with this author and had to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    One of my favorites from this author!

    This was a fun story building in the story line of the 'Chicago' series. Lots of familiar characters, and a great love story between strong personalities. Loved the romance, and the small love story that also develops. Ms Philips does a great job of having supporting characters develop a love story too, and in the end they mean somehting to the overall story! This makes it more ineresting, and fun to read. And the leading ladies always have relatable quirks, but they are strong, feminine ladies. And the men are men!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Great story and characters

    This series is an excellent blend of humor and romance with captivating character and a great story. From the first book to the last. One of my favorite authors over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    I loved this book!

    I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Make sure you have time to read this in one sitting!

    I picked this book up at a Waldenbooks and thought that it looked cute. I'm an avid reader of all kinds of books, however, there are only a handful of books that I finished reading and immediately wanted to re-read again. The characters are so easy to relate to and you really root for them. Unfortunately, I did not realize this was part of a series until after I read it and researched the author. HOWEVER, I do not feel like I missed out by reading this book first. If anything it made me want to go back and read the series from the beginning to get more information on the characters. When I received my nook for Christmas, this was one of the first books I "re-bought" because I needed to have it at my fingertips!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    It was okay!

    I got this because there were so many good reviews, but if all her books are like this, I think there are better romance authors out there. I liked Maggie a lot as well as her friends, but I couldn't get into rooting for the relationship. I wasn't hoping, anxious, or excited. I thought the book was rather long for the story it told, maybe it was meant to get you attached to the characters, for which I thought was not done very well. You grew to know them, but the plot was far too drawn out, and I felt like the main characters are quite independent, making the story fall a little flat for me. It wasn't a bad book just not anything I would really remember.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Awesome - hilarious witty banter

    Match Me if You Can is the sixth book in Susan Elizabeth Phillips' Chicago Stars series. Annabelle Granger is desperate to land Heath Champion as a client for her new match making company, Perfect for You. With such a prestigious client, her new company will be sure to succeed and in doing so will get her family off her back. She is basically the black sheep in the family. Heath Champion is a very well known sports agent who is as ruthless as he is handsome. He is looking for a wife and has unrealistic expectations of the type of woman he is ready to settle down with. Annabelle has her work cut out for her if she is to be successful in finding him his perfect match.

    I had a lot of fun listening to Match Me if You Can. First of all the narrator Anna Fields does an excellent job of getting the humor just right. She is able to use really good inflection when delivering those zingers. There is a lot of really great dialogue between Annabelle and Heath. These two go back and forth throughout the book and readers who love a lot of banter between the hero and heroine are going to really enjoy this book.

    I loved Annabelle. She is my kind of heroine. She is funny, smart and completely driven and focused. She was a little insecure but it was only a small part of her character. Heath too was an excellent match for her. He is just as driven, funny and smart. He too has his own little insecurities to get over. I thought this was a great read with many memorable scenes. The dialogue is fantastic and is chock full of rich characters. I even found the secondary love story between Portia and Bodey a treat. Two thumbs up. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book was so good... I had that "good feel" feeling at the end. It was not like the typical romance novels where the girl and boy are together romantically the whole time but do not figure out they are "in love" till the end. It was a very different read and I enjoyed that. I also liked how the characters from the other "Chicago Series" is in the story line and getting an update on them. I really like SEP's books and would recommend them for reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh out loud Romantic

    I absolutely adored the characters in this book. Susan Elizabeth Phillips does a fantastic job drawing you in to each and every character. What was so great about this particular book was that you got two love match stories in one book. Although I have read this series in backwards order so far..(I read #7 first, now this) I am going to start from the beginning now and I am sure I will love the rest as much as this one!! Love, Love, Love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Loved it

    I thought it was such a cute book. Def. good for a rainy day or a day you just want to sit back and read. I loved Anabelle and Heath together. You really catch onto their chemistry straight out of the gate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Match Made in Heaven

    This is was my very first read of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and I was enchanted from page one! Annabelle Granger is a regular gal who has a love for matchmaking and when she meets the handsome and eligable bachelor Heath Champion she jumps on the chance to set him up. Soon she finds herself falling in love with him when she would least expect it.

    I love how all of her characters somehow meet one another throughout the stories, the intricate detail that is involved in making a story like this and having it read as beautifully as she has is truly magical. My heart melted as their relationship blossomed.

    I would give this as a gift to everyone who loved a chick lit, and I already have! You will not regret this wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great SEP book!

    This book is one of the "THE CHICAGO STARS BOOKS" series. They don't have to be read in order, although there are often cameos from past characters, so reading in order is fun.
    The order:
    IT HAD TO BE YOU
    HEAVEN, TEXAS
    NOBODY'S BABY BUT MINE
    DREAM A LITTLE DREAM
    THIS HEART OF MINE
    MATCH ME IF YOU CAN
    NATURAL BORN CHARMER

    Match Me if You Can was one of my favorites in this series. The characters and writing are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10