Customer Reviews for

Matched (Matched Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 3970 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2159)

4 Star

(946)

3 Star

(422)

2 Star

(219)

1 Star

(224)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

182 out of 212 people found this review helpful.

catching story line and characters

this story reminds me of a twist on Hunger Games, Animal Farm, and growing up. it has a somewhat common story line, but well developed characters and a slight twists on the common boy meets girl, boy/ girl fall in love then are seperated, get back together plot. Like th...
this story reminds me of a twist on Hunger Games, Animal Farm, and growing up. it has a somewhat common story line, but well developed characters and a slight twists on the common boy meets girl, boy/ girl fall in love then are seperated, get back together plot. Like the Hunger Games and Animal Farm, it talks about the perfect society and the limitations and control that always seems to go along with it. This is a must read and very interesting!!!

posted by 3245497 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

51 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

It was alright.

The whole time I was waiting for something to happen, and nothing really did until the absolute end. Even then I was disappointed. I felt like the book was coasting along instead of actually building up to a climax that never happened. It was written well thought, bu...
The whole time I was waiting for something to happen, and nothing really did until the absolute end. Even then I was disappointed. I felt like the book was coasting along instead of actually building up to a climax that never happened. It was written well thought, but I would have liked a better storyline.

posted by R_Zaksky on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dystopian romance done right.

    This is the book for those who enjoyed more the love triangle in The Hunger Games than the action etc. Seriously, skip if you don't care for triangles/romance in YA fiction.

    That said, the triangle is done correctly and it is pretty much resolved by the end of the book. It is easy to become invested in Cassia's torn feelings between Ky and Xander.

    There are other elements to the book, like in pretty much every dystopian book I've read so far the people in charge are not what they seem. So there's always some intriguing plot there.

    Will I read the next book in the series? Yes, I really want to know

    80 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I'm probably not the first not the first to say this (and won't be the last), but Delirium by Lauren Oliver and Matched are to similar to be released so close together. But, I'm sure publishing companies think that dystopian fiction is the next big this after the huge success of The Hunger Games series. And I've noticed that how much you enjoy them seems to depend on the order you read them. I still really enjoyed Matched.

    Condie does a fantastic job with world building in this novel. So much so that it was my biggest problem with the story. I honestly did not like the world she created. I think my reasons revolve around the fact that I'm not sure why it was this way. Both The Hunger Games and Delirium (and even Uglies) gave reasoning behind the government in place. I wanted to know what happened that it was this way. It might have helped me accept that people had to die on their 80th birthday. Or that a person was only allowed to learn what was in their skill set and nothing more. I also didn't like the 100 items things. I can't imagine only knowing 100 specific things from history, or having only 100 classic books, poems, music, etc. As much as it bothered me, it also intrigued me. I thought it was a terrifying idea.

    The characters are outstanding. It's amazing how much Cassia changes throughout the book. It also interesting to see how the little seeds of rebellion are all ready planted all around her. All this slowly comes to the surface as you (and the characters) realize how diabolical the government really is. And, how low they will stoop to keep everything in control. I like Ky. But, I wasn't drawn to him the way Cassie was. It's really hard to enjoy a story when the entire time you want her to pick the other guy. I loved Xander. He may not have anything more than her best friend until they were matched, but he proved time and time again how loyal he was to her.

    But, I don't think dystopian fiction fans will be disappointed in this novel. I wasn't.

    60 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique Spin on Arranged Marriages

    The world building in this novel is fabulous! Ms. Condie does an awesome job setting up the rules our main character, Cassia, and the rest of the society have to live by. This novel puts a unique spin on the old school arranged marriage story even though our lovable MC gets matched with her male BFF, Xander. Being matched basically means you know who you are going to marry and have babies with by the time you are seventeen-years-old. No guessing. The decision has been made by 'The Society'.



    Ky, the rebel and outcast of the story, has been around Cassia since they were kids, but Ky comes from the Outter Providence which basically means he's a savage in the world of our story. Someone not able to be thrown into the match pool to have a family someday because he comes from a place where people don't follow The Society's rules. Cassia has always been aware of Ky, but finds herself strangely drawn to him after an error that reveals Ky may be her 'match' instead of Xander.



    I was pretty torn on who Cassia should choose. One one hand you have her best friend, Xander, who is awesome and loves her and you think how awesome to get matched with someone you know. Plus, Xander would do anything for her. Then, on the other hand, you have Ky, who is mysterious and seems to say the right things at the right times. Gah!!! I'm still torn! I will let you in on a little secret, though. There will be a sequel to this novel! At the end you find out which boy Cassia decides to be with and she is just about to start the true quest to make that happen in the last few pages. So this one leaves you hanging at the end.

    38 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    GREAT BOOK (but watch out.)

    This is a good book for anyone who likes romance and excitement. I'm 10, but, I've talked to adults who love this book. I would not recomend this book for all ten year olds. There are some details that you might call mature. Also, It might not be understandable for everyone. Over all, this is one of the best books l've ever read.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    AMAZING!! With a few downfalls.... But it is SOOOOOO worth reading!!

    Matched by Ally Condie is a great book full of romance and drama. It is a lot like the Hunger Games Trilogy but at the same time... it is soooooo different! Ok before i tell you anything else you need to know the basics of the story ( i promise i wont give anything away)!

    Cassia is a teenager that just turned 17, and she has a few problems that most people dont have to deal with.......... soon she will be paired with her Match who she will live the rest of her life with, her grandfather is almost 80 (you'll have to read the book to find out what that means), soon she will get her permenent working place and will have to leave second
    school, and worst of all..... everything she does is monitored by the officals.... they control: where she lives, who she marries, what she eats, where she works, what she reads, ect., and finally when she dies.

    There you have it! And is not exactly the hunger games, because she doesnt have to kill people, she doesnt have to fight for food, and there is much much much more romamce.
    Something that i didnt like about this book is that it wasn't detailed enough about some things such as: the provinces, sorting, school, and the differences between aberations and anonmalies.

    This book is a great book and is soooo worth reading! I would probably recommend it for girls more than guys (no offense to any guy that liked this book) and probably 10+ at least. But pleaseeee read it! You will probably LOVE IT!!!!!!!
    -Taysoccer15 :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Matched

    Matched was one of those novels that I heard nothing but good things about. I’ve heard that it’s supposed to be one of those Hunger Games amazing novels and when I heard it was dystopia I was very eager to read it. The novel started out slowly introducing the reader to the world that the main character Cassia lives in, a world where the Society controls everything and where the Officials enforce the rules and the way of life they all know. It started off an a very interesting note, with it beginning at the Matching ceremony that author Ally Condie explained clearly. It was like that for every other event and simple tool or object that could be found within the Society, the way Condie explained it all with so much depth and understanding that I could imagine everything so realistically. From the green, blue and red tablets to the air-trains that people in the novel would travel on.
    Throughout the novel, I couldn’t stop wondering about the mystery behind the red tablet. About what it could possibly be and after many wild guesses that I threw out there and some of Cassia’s guesses I wasn’t prepared for what they really did until the point in the novel where it is revealed. That was one of many major shockers that came from Matched. The most entertaining and mysterious things about the novel is finding out who Cassia really is meant to be with, if she’s meant to be with the boy she has known all of her life and the one she was matched with or for the boy whose story Cassia finds intriguing, but who was also her accidental match.
    In the novel, I was always wondering about the Officials. They seemed really frightening and very secret. With how obsessed they seem with keeping things the way they were meant to be and doing all of their actions based on statistics and things that they see on screens. The way Condie crafted them made them seem like the ultimate forces to be reckoned with…they could turn you into an Aberration or give you an infraction. Everything about them was just *shivers* weird, from their white coats to their mysteries. Especially that one Official who continues to warn Cassia about (not saying ;).
    I also fell in love with Ky, the whole love triangle concept seems a bit overdone (remember I said ‘seems’) but Condie made it work. She gave both of the boys lovable qualities, but I think that Ky is the better choice. Even though he is an Aberration and is from the Outer Provinces. I fell in love with his personality. He came off shy and sweet. Especially when he began to teach Cassia how to write and gave her papers with words for only her to see. It made my heart melt. Every time he said something to Cassia it was sweet and romantic and just totally amazing. As for Xander well he came off like a jerk to me and maybe it’s just me, but I totally saw him as a jerk.
    The best part of Matched were all of the details, if you love a novel that has the proper amount of details to form vivid pictures in your brain *points at book* you will love Matched. I could see everything playing out in front of me like a movie and every sentence was filled with so much emotion that you could easily feel what Cassia was feeling. I won’t be afraid to admit that at one point early in the novel I cried.
    I recommend this to anybody who wants a dystopian romance where the government is in charge of almost everything and how our main character has to make tons of choices that will affect not only herself but other people as well.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Copy?????

    I loved the book matched, but i had to read the book the giver for school, and these books are VERY similar. There is theidea of a controlling government, but the only thing that is different is the idea of romance.

    If you liked this book, try reading uglies seriesor the hunger games.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Love it!

    I love this series!! The plot is rich and enticing. The world is vivid and alive. You get caught up in reading and won't wamt to put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Stick with it

    This book was very slow, however if you stick with it to the end, it is very rewarding. I now find myself wanting to read the second book, Crossed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Ky! I read the book within a week.

    I love Ky! I read the book within a week.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK

    I enjoyed reading this book a lot !!! Ally Condie did
    a fantastic job creating 3 main charecters Cassia , ky , and Xander . I lovec rrading about all the things the Society makes you do when you yurn a certian age but the whole time i was eondering why the society evern exsisted . I wasn't able to put this book down till i finished it .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great utopian book

    This was a very interesting version of a utopian sociaty.. Very enjoyable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great book. It's not terribly dark for a dystopic future...but i

    Great book. It's not terribly dark for a dystopic future...but it's still creepy. Very enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Better dystopian than Hunger Games!

    I teach grades 6-8 literature and one of my students recommended this book. If you like dystopian, this reads quickly and I actually bought the sequel because I wanted to know what happened. Fortunately, I teach at a Christian school so I am able to work in what happens in society when God is absent (like The Hunger Games), not to mention the pitfalls of government control of your life . . . Girls like the love triangle too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Wow!

    This is such a great book! You just need to read this! Cassia's story will give you a new perspective and get you into a trilogy that will keep you captivated until the end! BUY IT NOW AND READ READ READ!

    And don't forget to buy the sequel Crossed right after you finish this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    GREATEST BOOK AFTER HUNGER GAMES... OF COURSE

    If you liked Hunger Games you will defenitly like this, a rebellion, too many choices, and the fate of your loved ones lives in your hands.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Lovely

    I love this book, one of my favs! I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Definitely Recommend it!

    Very exciting book. Good read. Not as captivating as The Hunger Games but definitely still worth reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I doubt you'll get bored with Matched

    Welcome to the Society where you wont be over crowded by the extensive information that your normal world has, the Society has chosen the 100 best songs, best poems, best paintings, etc. They take away the tedious task of finding your other half, they have a sorting system that will match you with your most compatible partner. You don't have to worry about cooking your meals they have planned the best diet for you, and forget about choosing what to wear when you go out, they've taken care about that to, you'll just wear the same as everyone else. And forget about diseases like cancer and such, they've been eradicated, just be ready to die by your eightieth birthday.
    This is the world that Cassia Reyes lives in, she like every other citizen belives that the Society has their best interest at mind. But things start to change after her matched ball, where her future partner is decided and is no other then her best friend Xander and everything seems to be perfect, she discovers he is not her only match and not only that it's also someone she knows, Ky Markham his face pops out of the flash that contained her perfect match info.
    Soon the Society finds Cassia and tells her that there was an error in the system and that she should not worry about it, that she should ignore the fact that it was Ky's face she saw and not Xander's. But Cassia can't shake it off, and soon she starts to wonder about the was things work in the Society. She will soon face the decision between Xander and Ky, between the world she knows and was raised to be a part of, or the path that no one has dared walk.

    I really liked this book, the story kept moving and it felt like it was all flowing. I liked the fact that we could see the story unravel it self and Cassia grow at the same time. Not only that but the fact that there is a connection with her, there is a moment in the book where I got that knot in my throat that threatens me every time I want to cry.
    With Ally Condie's writing style I doubt you'll grow bored of the book, even though for me the whole story flows perfectly for some the beginning might be a little slow but i assure you it's worth it, and the way the books captures you will leave you waiting for the second part of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Matched

    This book was incredible! It was very well written, dramatic, and a true love story. I can't wait to start the second book! Ky is very silent, unoticable, lonely. And Xander is very manley, romantic, charming. Though I don't like how it is based in the future. It is also very detailed (which I love!) I gave this book four stars because some parts were dull, and some were just breath-taking and nail-biting. I got very curious, this book was an absoulute page-turner!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48