Customer Reviews for

Matched (Matched Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 3881 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2109)

4 Star

(938)

3 Star

(408)

2 Star

(211)

1 Star

(215)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

175 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

catching story line and characters

this story reminds me of a twist on Hunger Games, Animal Farm, and growing up. it has a somewhat common story line, but well developed characters and a slight twists on the common boy meets girl, boy/ girl fall in love then are seperated, get back together plot. Like th...
this story reminds me of a twist on Hunger Games, Animal Farm, and growing up. it has a somewhat common story line, but well developed characters and a slight twists on the common boy meets girl, boy/ girl fall in love then are seperated, get back together plot. Like the Hunger Games and Animal Farm, it talks about the perfect society and the limitations and control that always seems to go along with it. This is a must read and very interesting!!!

posted by 3245497 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

It was alright.

The whole time I was waiting for something to happen, and nothing really did until the absolute end. Even then I was disappointed. I felt like the book was coasting along instead of actually building up to a climax that never happened. It was written well thought, bu...
The whole time I was waiting for something to happen, and nothing really did until the absolute end. Even then I was disappointed. I felt like the book was coasting along instead of actually building up to a climax that never happened. It was written well thought, but I would have liked a better storyline.

posted by R_Zaksky on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 106
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    catching story line and characters

    this story reminds me of a twist on Hunger Games, Animal Farm, and growing up. it has a somewhat common story line, but well developed characters and a slight twists on the common boy meets girl, boy/ girl fall in love then are seperated, get back together plot. Like the Hunger Games and Animal Farm, it talks about the perfect society and the limitations and control that always seems to go along with it. This is a must read and very interesting!!!

    175 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    160 out of 211 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great! Loved it!

    Ummmmm....how could I put this simply???? IT IS SO FREAKING AWESOME!!!




    Cassia lives in a world like no other. Forced to live by Society rules, Cassia has always did everything she was told, until now.... She see the face of Ky come up on her screen. After a talk with her grandfather, she can't help but wonder if he was her match. Ky, just move to their society and is a complete mystery. Cassia takes a chance and does things she is not supposed to do. If she wants answers there is only one way to find out.....




    My gosh, I can't even begin to express how much I loved this story. It was so unique yet mouth watering. Ms. Condie had me reading faster just to find out what the Society was hiding. Cassia's character I loved because she was brave. She stepped out of her bubble and broke all the rules. The male characters Xander and Ky were both great. The both had distinctive qualities that made them a perfect match for Cassia. Both guys were so real and very sweet.




    Matched is a book like no other. The drama, the plot, the writing is something mind blowing to read. The love triangle in this book was absolutely perfect. I can't even express how my emotions were being pulled while reading this book. And I love my emotions being played with! This is a must read!

    136 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Matched is IMMENSE!

    I first heard about Matched by Ally Condie through Melissa Marr who posted on facebook a couple of months ago that she had read it and highly recommended it. I immediately loved the cover art and when I read the synopsis, I KNEW I was going to love this book. I KNEW that this was right up my street and I needed to read it. I tried desperately hard to get an ARC - entering every contest I could find and even requesting one from Penguin but alas to no avail. I was also extremely disappointed that I couldn't go to BEA since I live in the UK.

    I tweeted my frustrations and how I would just "drop my life" to read this book. Out of the blue I got a DM from an extremely kind fellow book blogger who offered to let me borrow her ARC of Matched. I was dumbfounded. I've done some nice things for bloggers before but it was so nice to be on the receiving end. I can't tell you how grateful I was to get this book and I'm not going to name the person (just in case they don't want to be named) but I will always be grateful and I sure do owe them one.

    Matched was everything I expected it to be and so much more. I think my very words were "I want to marry this book and have its offspring". If THAT doesn't tell you how good it is, then nothing will. I will admit that this is the first dystopian novel I've ever read (yes I'm ashamed to say that I have not tackled The Hunger Games or The Mortal Instruments books yet although they're sitting on my shelves, giving me the eye). I got lost in the dystopian world of Matched and more than that, I WANTED to get lost in that world. I find myself even now; days later wanting to dive back into the book just so I can visit Cassia and her world again.

    Let me tell you a bit about the world of Matched and what the story is about. Matched is set in a futuristic, dystopian world where everything is controlled by "The Society". Choice is taken away as everything is decided for you in order to live a healthy, extended life. The main protagonist is Cassia, who is approaching her 17th birthday and on that date she is to be matched. The Society will choose a match for her, one that fits her physical and psychological profile. Obviously nervous, Cassia is reassured when her best friend Xander is chosen as her match but what happens when another face flashes on the matching screen then vanishes just as quickly? Faced with impossible questions and impossible choices, just who is her match? And does she dare to find out?

    I think this book has huge potential to become a classic. Because it is set in the future, not one part of the text dates it in any way - no texting, no teen speak and no stereotypes. The characters were very well fleshed out and I felt like I bonded with them easily. I loved seeing the world from Cassia's eyes although it might have been interesting to see things from alternative points of view. I was certainly curious to know what Xander and Ky were thinking at times!

    As for relationships, there were some extremely sweet and touching moments between the main characters which made me pull funny faces and say "awwww" out loud. Luckily, I didn't have an audience so no explanation was necessary!

    I have to say that this is definitely in my top three favourite books of all time and believe me when I tell you that the ending will leave you breathless for more, thankfully a sequel is in the works!

    47 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Matched

    This is an amazing book! Easy to get into and a lot like the hunger games! Great read!!

    33 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Instantly Hooked

    If you are a fan of the Hunger Games series and The Twilight series you will absolutely love this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out! The future society that Condie creates is interesting and thought-provoking. In this future we only have 100 poems, 100 songs, and 100 paintings. Can you even imagine? I also enjoyed the relationship development between the main character and her love interest. *Don't want to give too much away :) Check it out I highly recommend it.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good Book... but UGH!

    Honestly people this is a FANTABULOUS book but will you just shut up! A review is what you thought of the book! Half of you people are posting REPORTS! Save it for school, or your book club. Reviews are for opinions, and we want to know your opinion not the whole book. If someone reads your "reports" there probably not going to want to read the book because you gave it FLIPPING away! So shut your whole! SIDE NOTE: Great book! Must read ( if you haven't already read a "report!")

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Freedom without Choice - An Inspiring Novel

    Can there be freedom without choice? Ally Condie addresses this question in a suspenseful and mind-blowing novel, set in a society where all the choices are made for you. Told from the perspective of a seventeen year old girl, Matched is an enthralling and fierce tale that will keep you turning the pages. The author does a phenomenal job keeping the reader entertained and deeply immersed in the story. I for one could not put this book down, and believe that this is a fantastic must-read.
    Cassia Reyes lives in the Society, a perfect world created so all of the past¿s horrible events would never happen again. White-coated Officials make all the choices- who you love, where you work, when you die. Cassia is Matched with her best friend Xander at her Matching Banquet when she is seventeen, and she knows that without a doubt he is the one. But later, when she looks at the Matching screen, another face appears for a single second. She is puzzled, for ¿The Society doesn¿t make mistakes.¿ Cassia¿s world is flipped upside down. Armed with forbidden words and longing to create and be something more, she tries to remain in love with Xander, telling herself that ¿I must stop this. The choice is made. ¿ I never had a choice to begin with.¿ Now Cassia MUST choose, between Ky and Xander, between a perfect life and a risky one. Romance and poetry are woven into a tale of rebellion against the only thing Cassia knows. Can there be freedom without choice?
    Ally Condie achieved her purpose. This book entertained you and made you think, about what could be and what should be. The plot of Matched is very well planned and written. It flows smoothly from one event to the next. The futuristic setting is believable ¿ for at the rate we are at now, the world could be in chaos soon. Perhaps a Society like Cassia¿s will form in order to prevent more destruction. ¿You should be free to make your own choices¿ is the theme in the novel, and is extremely relatable. Whether you are a little kid wanting to stay up late or a teenager going to a party, we all want to be able to choose. Cassia¿s grandfather and other supporting characters helped to shape this remarkable story. They added depth to an already deep tale. Cassia as a main character was believable, and her budding romance with Ky along with her feelings for Xander creates a perfect love triangle. There are many other futuristic novels out there, such as Suzanne Collins¿ The Hunger Games or The Giver by Lois Lowry, but Matched is truly unique. The author¿s style of writing spun a fantastic and emotional story. When Cassia first decided to rebel, that was definitely the most emotional part. She says, ¿That¿s when I realize that the statistics the Officials give us do not matter to me. I know there are many people who are happy and I am glad for them. But this is Ky. If he is the one person who falls by the wayside while the other ninety nine are happy and fulfilled, that is not right with me anymore. ¿ that is when I realize how dangerous this truly is¿. I cannot go gentle anymore.¿
    Matched is the best book I have read in a long time. Cassia¿s rebellion and forbidden romance is an epic tale that no one should miss. Cassia is denied the freedom of choice, which shows us that a perfect society is never truly perfect. All in all, I believe that Matched is an unforgettable novel that everyone should read and enjoy.
    I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. The plot and characters are real and flawless, and th

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    It remimds me of the hunger games

    11 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Awesome!!

    All i have to say is awesome!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Amazing

    I've been big into YA fiction as of late, and this is one of the most beautifully writen novels I have read! It's in the same vein as The Hunger Games, and is even slightly remeniscent of The Giver. I have a feeling this trilogy will become as popular as The Hunger Games! A must-read for everyone who has faith in love!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Matched

    Match is an awesome book!l think l like it better than the hunger games because it takes place in an intresting environment and the society is very strict! The laws that the socity passed were all proposterus, like when they told you what you have to eat, dress like, read etch-but even having a formula when you will die! I understand how cassia feels, being told her match and then telling her they made a mistake and to forget ky! If l were ky and the society told me to forget ky i would'nt forget- in fact i would think about him more and what i could have had for a match and what he would be like!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Comparing it to...

    Not as good as Hunger Games, but better than Twilight. Score for Allie Condie!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book has been lying on my self for half a year. i didn't wa

    this book has been lying on my self for half a year. i didn't want to really read this book because it looked really long. today i gave it a shot and wow this book is wonderful. i couldn't put it down. it keeps you entertained for hours! i don't know if was only me but some parts i cried.... haha also this book sort of reminded me of the hunger games (love triangle) and the giver(just a bit) i cant wait to read the next book crossed.. this book is easy to read and fun too I'm planning to go to Barnes and nobles and buy the next book :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Awesome book even my reading teacher read it and loved it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Romantic and Exotic

    This book is romantic, fun, suspenceful, and all around amazing. If you want a good clean novel- this is the one. As a young reader, I search so hard for books that my parents would approve of- and will challenge me. In this book, it doesn't matter if you are 9 or 93. It's a great read and will capture your heart while challenging any book to top it. In the future, this book will be as popular as Harry Potter, Hunger Games, and Twilight. The love triangle lets you decide inbetween a comfortable life- or a new one with a new love.
    FIVE STARS

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wow.

    Just... wow.






    Ky is amazing!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    An epic love story, one of my favorite books

    This book tellls the amazing tale of two people in a tough love situation, it shows us all how far we'lll go and how much e will disobay for love

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Matched

    I love this book! After I started reading it I could not put it down. Best book ever!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    A really awesome book!!!!:))

    Matched was an AWESOME book,,,,,i think people should read it if they like romance and action with cliff hangers((i love cliff hangers cuz it makes me want to read more!!:3))
    I CANT WAIT TO READ CROSSED!!!!!!!:DD

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 106