Customer Reviews for

Material Witness (Shipshewana Amish Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I have read all 3 of Vanetta Chapman's book (Falling to Pieces a

    I have read all 3 of Vanetta Chapman's book (Falling to Pieces and Perfect Square) and now I have finished the last of the series. I can not say enough of how wonderful these books are. Each one is better then the last. I am looking forward to and hoping there will be a fourth book coming out soon. I highly recommend these murder mysteries to everyone. I wasn't able to put any of these book down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I love this series of books, Material Witness, Falling to Pieces

    I love this series of books, Material Witness, Falling to Pieces and Perfect Square. They are a combination of murder mystery and quilt related. I have read all of Vannetta's books and all staying in my permanent library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Absolutely an excellent story, the conclusion of the series-Ship

    Absolutely an excellent story, the conclusion of the series-Shipshewana Amish Mystery! I loved all the characters, but my favorite was Max! The friendship in this book reminded me of the song "That's What Friends Are For", because the characters who were the Amish and the Englischers, did exactly that..looked out for each other and were there for each other.
    All in all, I loved this story, and had a difficult time putting down this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just love it when really talented authors take some of my favo

    I just love it when really talented authors take some of my favorite genre's and mix them together to create such a seamless blend for a great story you truly fall in love all over again with being an avid book reader. In the case of Material Witness by Vannetta Chapman, we are taken back to the small Amish town of Shipshewana, Indiana that is comprised of about 600 residents, not all of them Amish. Here in this small town there's been a bit of competition between two owners of Amish quilt stores. Mrs. Knepp is the eighty-year-old owner of Quilts and Needles and feels that Callie Harper and her friends that run Daisy's Quilt Shop have deviated from the traditional Amish ways by offering quilting, knitting and other craft classes that draw much of the business to their shop. Even the English tourists have been frequenting Daisy's Quilt Shop over Mrs. Knepps.

    Yet in the middle of the Fall Festival, things are about to get interesting. Now the population of the small town is well over thirty thousand and business is booming. The streets are crowded and no one seems to notice an Amish women standing in the shrubs just outside the parking lot of Daisy's Quilt Shop. No one that is except for Aaron, a small boy who is confined to a wheelchair and a Labrador named Max. Without any sound, the woman falls sprawled out on the ground. There is no sound, no blood. In the darkness only the evil eyes of a man who stands over the women and then stares at Aaron is the only lasting memory of what has just happened.

    When Callie Harper learns what has happened and to whom, she is immediately ridden with guilt for all the months that her and Mrs. Knepp argued over their businesses. What's worse is this is the third murder to happen in the small town of Shipshewana in the last fifteen months and in every single one of those cases, Callie Harper has been involved. Not it seems that this murder case is about to get personal on many levels. Callie Harper is the target and not only does someone want what she has or they'll risk murder, but Aaron is the only eye witness. Will Callie be able to help solve this crime or will she finally run out of options?

    I received Material Witness by Vannetta Chapman compliments of Zondervan Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review. I absolutely LOVED this book and it immediately captivated my interest from the first page and I could not put it down until I knew who did it! This is the third book in the Shipshewana Mystery series and once again brings back the characters we have fallen in love with including the romantic tension between investigator Shane Black and Callie Harper. Will they finally realize their interest lies more than just in solving cases and goes much, much deeper? You'll have to pick this one up to find out. I personally give this one a 5 out of 5 stars!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Material Witness

    Just finished another great visit with Callie, and her Amish girlfriends. Deborah, Esther, and Melinda who have made Callie an honorary sister.
    When the owner of the other fabric shop is found dead in Callie's parking lot, and the murder witnessed by young Aaron, Melinda's young handicapped son. You have to think...not again?? Mrs Knepp, the deceased has never liked Callie, but why was she murdered?
    The only thing they can think of is the quilts that an elderly Amish woman left the four of them. Mrs Hochstetler, gave these quilts to them to be restored, and the money split.
    Do the quilts that appear to tell a story hold a clue to this murder? Shane Black the Police Detective, has feelings for Callie, he had arrested her in the first Shipshewana mystery. Will things move forward with them, and will they even survive who ever seems bent on killing. He has even attacked Max, Callie's Aunt's dog that she inherited.
    I read this book in less than a day, and couldn't put it down. I want to spend my days visiting with this great friends.

    I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Zondervan, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Loved this book

    Loved this book, the final book in the series. Like it's two predecessors, the storyline was woven around the town, and the quilt shop owned by Callie our heroine. These were Amish love and suspense stories. I found them very well written, and unusual. They were a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Vannetta Chapman set the bar pretty high in her previous two Ami

    Vannetta Chapman set the bar pretty high in her previous two Amish mysteries (Falling to Pieces and A Perfect Square), but Material Witness has no trouble measuring up. In fact, my only complaint about this book is that it's the last in this series. Once again, quilt shop owner Callie Harper and her Amish friends work together to unravel a mysterious death in quiet Shipshwana. But this time, it seems Callie herself is the target! Some good police work and a trio of brave and intelligent Amish children bring the perpetrator to justice while the women decipher clues from a set of vintage story-book quilts. I found my heart racing as I read through Chapman's signature twists and the dangers her characters - my friends! - faced. You won't be disappointed with the way this series ends, only that it does. As a beginning quilter, I LOVED the way Chapman used quilts to tie each book in the series together: every personality, every clue coming together to make a perfect whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Material Witness ( A Shipshewana Amish Mystery ) By: Vannetta Ch

    Material Witness ( A Shipshewana Amish Mystery )
    By: Vannetta Chapman 
    I have read all three of these books in Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series and I think that Vannetta Chapman really did an awesome job. This story starts out with action and it don't let up till the end. The name "Material Witness" really fits this book good. This one is my favorite of the three. At the opening of the Fall Crafter's Fair a woman is killed right outside of Daisy's Quilt Shop. This really upsets Callie Harper, the owner. She can't believe this is happening again. Someone has been killed and she is right in the middle of it. This time there is an eye witness to the killing.There is Shane Black the office who is heading the killing and he does not want Callie hurt. He has feeling for Callie.  We have the non Amish Callie, and the Amish ladies Deborah, Melinda, and Esther.  These ladies are so close that they feel like sisters. Yes they will have to help and find who the killer is before the killer goes after one of them. We also have another mystery about some quilts that these ladies just has to find out the mystery about them. I don't want to leave out the children and Max in this story. They play a big part in this story. I laughed one minute and on the edge of my seat the next minute. If you love a good clean mystery and light romance, you will love "Material Witness." Just be prepared when you start reading , you will not want to put it down. This last book has really turned out good. I would hope there would be another one . 
    I was given a copy of this book by the author for my honest review and I have given it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    "Material Witness" is the third novel of the Shipshewa

    "Material Witness" is the third novel of the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series. It carries on with the characters we have all grown to love; Callie, Deborah, Esther, Melinda, Shane and Gavin, and continues to wind their lives together in a beautiful story of life and love.
    For me, this novel is about puzzles. Big ones, like why do children fall ill with serious illnesses, why does evil exist in the world. Middle-sized puzzles, like how can Englischers and Plain people become real friends, the kind that are almost family....how does a new marriage become so quickly "normal" that it settles long-lived-with fears with just a glance or a touch at the right time. And the small puzzle in this book that's also the biggest puzzle of all begins with a last will and testament and a set of unusual quilts.
    I will never hesitate to recomment a book by Vanetta Chapman, whether I have read it or not. I have found her stories to be compelling, riveting, and personal. These characters have been brought to life with her words, and I grow to care for each of them as if they have become a part of my family too. How does she do that? There we go again, another puzzle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Well-written and accurate to the setting of Shipshewana, Indiana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Vannetta Chapman has done it again!!!! Super Good Book to Read!

    Vannetta Chapman has done it again!!!! Super Good Book to Read!
    Having never visited Shipshewana, IN, I have fallen in love with the wonderful group of people portrayed in Vannetta Chapmans, "Material Witness" book. When reading this book, one is taken to the place and really becomes one of the townspeople who could very well live there.
    The circle of friends found, in Callie, Deborah, Esther, and their families along with Gavin, Shane Black, and the officials of the town, makes one realize the importance of friends, family, & a loving community. Add to this cirlce of ladies an heirloom quilt given to each that adds a bit of a puzzle to the mystery in town, makes one take to the action really quick. The faith and trust from the youngest (and a Swap) to the oldest is seen when reading this style of Amish Fiction Full of Grace writing by Vannetta.
    The reader is drawn into all the action from the beginning to the end when the romance becomes fully known in this mystery story.
    I have now read all of Vannetta Chapman's books with the exception of her newest, A Home for Lydia, which will be started as soon as this review is finished.
    These books are well-written with all the inspiration of the Amish with a bit of the unknown mystery thrown in that makes it feel really true to life. After learning about the Amish, you do learn that they do have problems just as their Englisch friends do, but it is the forgiving nature and love of the Amish that inspires one to wish that all people could be as forgiving.
    I loved this book, and can't wait to start the newest read! I loved reading the Amish Proverbs throughout the book. Love, love, loved it! And, all of this from a person who doesn't (used to never) read mysteries. These books I love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    An Exciting Mystery - A Real Page Turner! I felt like I was in

    An Exciting Mystery - A Real Page Turner!

    I felt like I was in Shipshewana right there with Callie and her friends Deborah, Melinda, and Esther. Another crime has been committed and of course Callie is right in the middle of it all. Was this latest crime targeted for her instead of the victim? The scary part was Melinda’s son Aaron witnessed it all. Would he be the next target?

    The author Vannetta Chapman had me on the edge of my seat for this read. I turned those pages just as fast as my eyes would allow me to read. I was totally engrossed in helping Detective Shane Black solve this latest crime. Who did it I wondered. I didn’t even figure it out until the name was revealed! Good job Vannetta.

    If you want a good mystery to read I am here to tell you that you don’t want to miss this one.

    I just want to let you know there might be a little romance thrown in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Thoroughly Enjoyed this Novel

    Amish novels are not usually my first choice. I like them, but they tend to languish in my to be read pile. I received the first book in this series as a gift and it languished for a couple months. Then I read it and quickly raced to buy book two. I'm so glad book three is out now! I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery series set in Shipshewana, IN.

    Callie, Deborah and their friends are characters I love spending time with. The mix of Englisch and Amish continues in this story with the added bonus that the kids play a larger role. Because the action centers around Daisy's quilt shop, quilts play a large role. From subplots to descriptions to literally saving the day. There's even a stronger dose of romance than appeared in the earlier novels.

    Even if you haven't read the earlier two books (buy them, too!) , you will enjoy Material Witness. It's perfect for those who love highly relational casts with a fun setting, great supporting characters, and a strong mystery to solve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1