BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Matilda

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ

I LOVED THIS BOOK USUALLY I AM A SLOW READER BUT THIS BOOK TOOK ME ONLY 2 NIGHTS TO READ. 'TS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT YOU WOULD STAY UP ALL NIGHT READING. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTAVE WRITING NOT TO MANY PICTURES THOUGH BUT YOU DONT EVEN NEED THEM YOU CAN IMAGINE IT R...
I LOVED THIS BOOK USUALLY I AM A SLOW READER BUT THIS BOOK TOOK ME ONLY 2 NIGHTS TO READ. 'TS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT YOU WOULD STAY UP ALL NIGHT READING. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTAVE WRITING NOT TO MANY PICTURES THOUGH BUT YOU DONT EVEN NEED THEM YOU CAN IMAGINE IT RIGHT IN YOUR HEAD.

EMMA :)

posted by BOOKBUG101 on February 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great

This book is not the best book i ever read.i read better books.i like the auther i just dont like this one.its about little kids and thier moms.if your telling a story wouldnt you tell it about yourself.i know i proboly would.i mean i wouldnt waist it on little kids an...
This book is not the best book i ever read.i read better books.i like the auther i just dont like this one.its about little kids and thier moms.if your telling a story wouldnt you tell it about yourself.i know i proboly would.i mean i wouldnt waist it on little kids and how thier brats and thier moms giving them whatever thy wanted.i really think this book could e a little better.i love the auther but iguess i just dont like this book he ever wrote.

posted by 5063079 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    GREAT READ

    I LOVED THIS BOOK USUALLY I AM A SLOW READER BUT THIS BOOK TOOK ME ONLY 2 NIGHTS TO READ. 'TS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT YOU WOULD STAY UP ALL NIGHT READING. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTAVE WRITING NOT TO MANY PICTURES THOUGH BUT YOU DONT EVEN NEED THEM YOU CAN IMAGINE IT RIGHT IN YOUR HEAD.

    EMMA :)

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    What an Awesome Book!!!

    As a class we read this book weekly. My students love Matilda because she knows how to trick her parents. Ms. Trunchbull is a character we love to hate. We especially love the chapter on Bruce Bogtrotter. Very funny... We strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves Raold Dahl.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    My Favorite Book of All Time!!! Always Forever!!!

    Matilda is wonderful book for people of all ages. I have read it about three or four times! Matilda is funny, cute, and inspiring. I recomend this book to everyone!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    Best Roald Dahl Book Ever!

    Matilda was a very very good book to read. I would recommend it to kids 8-12. Roald Dahl's writing gave you a clear picture of what you were reading in Matilda. If you are close to a book store, run out and buy this book now and enjoy reading it, like I did!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    Matilda

    Matilda is about a young girl named Matilda. Matilda seems like the average child on the outside, but on the inside is very smart and mischievious. Besides dealing with the averagefamily problems, her family doesn't even love her. They dislike her because she is smart. Eventually, Matilda becomes so bored, because she isn't challenged enough, that she developes powers that enable her to do things by staring at it. In the end, everything works out for her, but how that happens is very exciting. You'll have to read 'Matilda', by Rauld Dahl to find out what happens.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Matilda By Roald Dahl

    "MATILDA
    Matilda is a genius. Unfortunately, her family treats her like a dolt. Her crooked car salesmanfather and loud bingo-obsessed mother think Matilda's only talent is a scapegoat for everything that goes wrong in their miserable lives. But its not too long before the sweet and sensitive child decides to fight back. Faced with practical jokes of sheer brilliance, her parents don't stand a chance. The Trunchbull however is a different story. Miss Trunchbull ex-Olympic hammer thrower and headmistress of Matilda's school has terrorized generations of Crunchem Hall students-and teachers. But when she goes after sweet Miss Honey, the one teacher who believes in Matilda, she goes too far." This is an extrodanary, fasinating and amazing book. I look forward to reading ALL of Roald Dahl's wonderous books.


    Written by: Samantha :)

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love it!

    This book is awesome! I read the book and watched the movie! Great read!
    Paris, age 8

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    One of my favorites!

    Great classic book to share!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Fun to read

    My fourth grade students are reading Matilda. They love the diverse "good guy", "bad guy" characters that Dahl develops. Vocabulary is rich and the adventures and determination of bright little Matilda make for a delightful read. We read Witches, by Dahl, earlier in the year. He is, indeed, an entertaining author!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I love this

    I read the book in fourth grade for school and i fell in love with it. I asked for the movie for my bday and i love roald dahl iv read all of his books

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I loved the book so much, that i decided to write a poem about i

    I loved the book so much, that i decided to write a poem about it!

    I was always pushed around,
    But this is the story of how I was found!
    In a way its a sad story, but at the end there is glory!

    I had nobody to turn to,
    But I never lost hope.
    I knew that when I found a friend,
    I would be able to cope.

    Next, I had found a friend that accepts me for me,
    She is a true friend indeed, that's her guarentee!
    She doesn't care about my flaws, that's what a friend would do,
    She's made my life so much better, Miss Honey, that person is you!

    You have taught me to stand up for mtself and to never cry,
    I know that I can be honest with you, and to never lie.
    Thank you for taking the horrible things in my life away,
    I promise to be there, loyal, and respectful to you each and every day!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Read this book!

    I think this book is sooooo cool! Matida is smarter then me, and i am 8 years old! The movie is ok but they leave out the part about the parort! But i would still say it is about as good as the movie.(:

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Incredable!!!!!Must read!!!!

    :D ;D

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Mikayah Michaud

    I like the book "Matilda." It's a very interesting and entertaining book by Roald Dahl, who passed away in 1990. What a depressing story. Anyway, I think some children should read this interesting and entertaining book "Matilda."

    -Mikayah Michaud

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling, Great, whatever you would like to call it!

    I thought Matilda was an extremely good book. I read it over a year ago, but I just remember not wanting to take my eyes off of it. It is a classic, and like all Roald Dahl books, will definitely satisfy you until the book falls apart. (That is why I would recommend the hard cover.)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    One of the best books by Roald Dahl along with The BFG. This book never gets old and it is hilarious!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Amazing book

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Miltilda

    Great book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Love it.

    It took me ONE HOUR only to read this book. Amazing! I read it ten times already. Wo. Amazing, Rohld Dahl:)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolute classic

    I purchased this book.

    Matilda is the classic story of an incredible smart little girl who develops telekinesis and uses it, not to improve her own horrible home life, but to help others. Don't know it? Perhaps you should.

    The differences between the book and movie versions are minute, but present. The movie is more Americanized and the story is smoother, but it lacks one of the books very strong points-a higher level of vocabulary.

    In Matilda Dahl (also the author of The BFG, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Witches and James and Giant Peach) presents his typical style, pitting a child against horrible adults who actively hate or seek to do the child harm. The title character lives in a home that not only doesn't appreciate her high level of intelligence, but ridicules it because her family is intimidated and scared by it. Matilda's family is emotionally abusive and neglectful, which some parents would seek to avoid, but I find an honest approach to life. Dahl's books don't treat children like they can't handle the darker side of things. Dahl doesn't ignore that there are some pretty crappy people out there, and sometimes they happen to have kids.

    Dahl, unlike a lot of authors, presents childhood as a battlefield. However not all children are perfect angels (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an example here), and not all adults are horrendous bullies. In Matilda her family may be part of the problem, but she finds an ally in her teacher, Miss Honey, who is a survivor of a bullied childhood.

    Through the book we learn not about revenge on bad people, or being nice despite being bullied and neglected, Dahl teaches kids to recognize and treasure the good parts of life, without letting the bad parts define themselves, or their experience.

    Also a smart part of this book is the accelerated vocabulary, which again, shows that Dahl distinctly decides not to treat children as incapable or juvenile. Because of the number of big words, all used in a context that makes them easy to understand, this book is best read as a collaborative effort between an adult and child, unless an child closer to teendom is the reader.

    I highly recommend Matilda on every level, especially because in the realm of fiction girls are often sentenced to be side kicks and creatures of first crushes, but Matilda is a strong, independent, intelligent girl who solves problems on her own. Matilda is the precursor to the more recent Coraline, with less a less scary and a more over the top spin.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15