BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Matilda

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ

I LOVED THIS BOOK USUALLY I AM A SLOW READER BUT THIS BOOK TOOK ME ONLY 2 NIGHTS TO READ. 'TS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT YOU WOULD STAY UP ALL NIGHT READING. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTAVE WRITING NOT TO MANY PICTURES THOUGH BUT YOU DONT EVEN NEED THEM YOU CAN IMAGINE IT R...
I LOVED THIS BOOK USUALLY I AM A SLOW READER BUT THIS BOOK TOOK ME ONLY 2 NIGHTS TO READ. 'TS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT YOU WOULD STAY UP ALL NIGHT READING. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTAVE WRITING NOT TO MANY PICTURES THOUGH BUT YOU DONT EVEN NEED THEM YOU CAN IMAGINE IT RIGHT IN YOUR HEAD.

EMMA :)

posted by BOOKBUG101 on February 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great

This book is not the best book i ever read.i read better books.i like the auther i just dont like this one.its about little kids and thier moms.if your telling a story wouldnt you tell it about yourself.i know i proboly would.i mean i wouldnt waist it on little kids an...
This book is not the best book i ever read.i read better books.i like the auther i just dont like this one.its about little kids and thier moms.if your telling a story wouldnt you tell it about yourself.i know i proboly would.i mean i wouldnt waist it on little kids and how thier brats and thier moms giving them whatever thy wanted.i really think this book could e a little better.i love the auther but iguess i just dont like this book he ever wrote.

posted by 5063079 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Matilda

    This book is awesome and really funny! #i love Raul Dull!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Matilda

    GOOD READ

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Good sample

    The sample was not only contents so thats good and it sounds interesting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Wonderfully interesting and funny.

    In 'Matilda', you will experience the struggles of the protagonist, Matilda, an extrordinarily talented young girl as well as the conflicts between her and her parents. [Don't forget about the terrible Headmistress Miss Trunchbull, though...] This is a very interesting book, but it can be extremely funny as well. Travel with Matilda as she begins preschool and discovers the dark secrets of the Headmistress and Miss Honey, her new close friend and teacher, and puts an end to the horror Miss Trunchbull.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    READ IT!

    Roald dahl books are the best!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than I thought

    I was assigned this book for summer reading an was suprised to fing it very interesting! Wish there was more than 1 of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Matilda

    The book Matilda was a very inspiring story and it really spoke to me. It inspired me on how strong a young girl can be or how strong anyone can be. Matilda was a very brave girl. She out up with her parents and annoying brother bickering at her and most of all her mean, filthy, dirty, and rotten principal Mrs. Trunchbull. Matilda did have people in her life that were nice to her and helped her with struggles. She had her friends and most importantly she had her teacher, Mrs. Honey. This story really spoke to me as a human being saying to not give up on life when it is hard. Matilda was a very smart and intelligent girl. She did sixth grade math. But at home she had to fend for herself. She made her own breakfast at a young age and she loved to read. She would always go to the library. It made me think personally to be happy for what you have and that I should be grateful for it because some people don't have a lot of things like I do. Something else that I was thinking of was that when life gets tough and nothing is going right for you, don't give up on life because eventually it will get better. You just have to be patient and wait. Keep trying and doing your best on everything. Another thing is don't let people control you and don't let people tell you wrong. The other thing that inspired me was that Matilda actually put up with her parents when they were really mean to her and they didn't really help her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Matilda has powers

    Roald made a really funny book called Matilda in this book you will discover that Matilda's parents are really mean to Matilda. But Matilda discovers power that she can lift stuff with here eyes. In this book there was one funny part was when Mrs.Wormwood said "i chose looks you chose books" Mrs.Wormwood said. Mrs.Wormwood called Miss honey Miss chunky.

    Then in one of the parts in the book Miss Trunchbul the head of the the school puts kids into the chocky only when they have done something bad. So Miss Trunchbul puts Matilda into the chocky. Filled with nails, glass, and you can't move because it's so small. Miss Honey Matilda teacher is vary kind to here. And i think you would like to read it and i forgot to tell you Matilda is a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    A Pretty Good Book

    A good enough book people will like. The book Matilda by Roald Dahl is about a girl who has a snotty family and a horrible school principal. She has a wonderful teacher though. Matilda loves to read and even though she's five, she could be in high school. This book isn't the best, but it's great.
    I think this book is really good. People all over the earth would like it, especially kids. This book is really funny, and will get a readers attention. It would rank in the top five for me. This is one of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    perfect book

    Matilda by Roald Dahl. Is a good book about a young girl called Matilda who has horrible whose parents don't care about her. When Matilda was four she was left alone all day. Matilda was a genies with extraordinary powers. That is Matilda by Roald Dahl.
    My reaction to the book. Was that it was really good with exciting parts. My favorite character was Mrs. Trunchbull. I liked it when she said "I want those filthy pigtails off before you come back to school tomorrow". That is my reaction to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Matilda by Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake

    This is a good book to read : SYNOPSIS : Matilda isn't the right child for her parents. When she goes to school she doesn't know the ugly dirty truth. What will happen to Matilda , Mrs Truchbull , Ms. Honey , and the ugly parents?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Everything is not what it seems with Matilda...

    Matilda is a very intelligent little girl. Ever since she started reading at the age of three, Matilda dreamed of going to school and being successful. Her parents always doubted her abilities, but the day she turned five, she convinced her mother to allow her to begin kindergarden. Matilda's teacher, Mrs. Honey, noticed how incredibly smart Matilda was while doing her times tables. She was amazed at how bright she was and reported her intelligence to the headmistress of the school, Mrs. Trunchbull. Mrs. Truchbull absolutely hated little kids. She thought that they were the most annoying, ugly, stupid creatures on the planet, so it was no surprise that she didn't believe Mrs. Honey's story about Matilda. Everyone in the whole school is terrified of ¿The Trunchbull.¿ She yells, screams, and even throws kids out of windows! So when Matilda begins to play pranks on Mrs. Trunchbull, she is determined to show her just how smart a child can be. I loved the book Matilda because the way the author describes everything and because of the book's humor. It's easy to picture the events happening in the story and each chapter leaves you wondering what's going to happen next. Matilda was over- all a great book to read and I recommend it to kids or teenagers who love excitement, adventure, and funny books. By: Courtney Hawkins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A little body with a big brain.

    Matilda is a little girl with extraordinary powers. She can read and do math at an extremely difficult level for the age that she is. Unluckily, Mr. and Mrs. Wormwood, Matilda¿s parents, do not understand her what-so-ever. They believe she is a little cheat who is a load of trouble. When Matilda starts school, her teacher, Miss Honey, notices Matilda¿s abilities right away. She tries to persuade Matilda¿s parents and the school Headmistress, Miss Trunchbull, that Matilda is a very special little girl. Unfortunately, those people do not think the same thing. Then, one Thursday afternoon when Miss Trunchbull took over Miss Honey¿s classroom, Matilda got accused of putting a newt in Miss Trunchbull¿s jug of water. Matilda got a so mad of being accused of something she didn¿t do that something unusual happens. You will have to read the book to find out what happens next! I really liked that the book, Matilda had many different events in it, so there wasn¿t just one event the book was based upon. The book could have used some more details in places and I think it could have had more complex words and sentences in it. I also liked the difference in characters. No to seemed the same. I recommend this book to any girl ages eleven to fourteen. After you have read the book, Matilda I recommend seeing the movie, Matilda. Roald Dahl, the author of this book, is also the author of James and the Giant Peach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    A Good Story for Young Readers

    Matilda is about a very young girl who found a whole new world by reading books. Her parents didn't care about her and neither did the horrible head mistress at her school. But Matilda found two wonderful things. A friendship with her teacher, Miss Honey, and magical powers within herself. Things started to change. I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    One of a kind!!

    This is one of the funniest books that I have ever read. It makes me think that I am very blessed to have the principal that I have now. It made me a little mad when the parents were so mean and didn't respect the little girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    One Of The Best!

    This book I read a few weeks ago and it was wonerful it shows a lesson that you should read a book rather then watch tv and see how educated you will get. Everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    MATILDA, DAHLS BEST BOOK YET

    Matilda is a book about a five year old how knows her 2 times table and can read long chapters book. Maltida is in kindergarden she has a teacher named miss Honey and a mean fat ugly headmaster. This five year old played mean tricks on her parents for being so foolish. The story you will read how little matilda save the school from mean Miss. Trunchbull. The book is just as funny as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Wow what a interesting book this was!

    This story is about a girl who is being mis- treated by her parents , but the only person that respects her intelligence is her teacher and she also has a great intrest in books and wants to know a lot about her teacher because,her momisonly fastinated by the T.V and by playing bingo all day. If your looking for a good book that deals and shows you how some parents don't care abouttheir childs education, and how your family isn't the best their is also/always someone else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    A GREAT Read!!!!

    This book is a really good book!! it is just like the movie!!! It took me only about 7 to 9 days to finish it!!! It is really a good book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    Matilda

    I loved this book. It was sooo funny-- LOL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3