Customer Reviews for

A Matter of Character (Sisters of Bethlehem Springs Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Author

    Each book has been better than the last. Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Great trilogy about strong, intelligent, independent women

    A Matter of Character by Robin Lee Hatcher is the third in trilogy of Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series. Daphne McKinley born to privilege and loves her independent life in 1918 Idaho. She enjoys her life in small town yet secretly writes dime novels under pseudonym about the Old West about a villain called Rawhide Rick who she based on a real man she's heard stories about. Joshua Crawford has come to Bethlehem Springs seeking the author D.B. Morgan who has written series of stories about his grandfather Rawhide Rick aka Judge Terrrell to force the author to retract the stories and to prove that Richard was a honest man of God. Once Joshua discovers the secret, he along with Daphne depart on journey to discover the truth about his grandfather. Can their budding romance survive the turbulence of exposed secret on both sides?

    R.L. Hatcher really does great job in portraying strong, independent, intelligent women & matching them with handsome, bright men, in intriguing stories that pull them together and apart. This trilogy about Gwen, Chleo, and Daphne is filled with wit, faith, romance, and humor which is delightful to read and pass time. Looking forward to her new book Bounty of Silver and her new historical trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Matter of Character

    A Matter of Character is the third book in The Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series, and can easily be read and enjoyed as a stand-alone book. The cover picture on this book is kind of quirky and it captured my interest, and I was not disappointed. Daphne McKinley is pictured on the cover behind the wheel of her bright red McLaughlin-Buick car, which she has affectionately dubbed Mack.

    Living a somewhat quiet life in the small western town of Bethlehem Springs, not even Daphne's family knows about the secret life that she leads. That is, until a newspaper editor, Joshua Crawford, comes to town looking for the author who wrote less-than-flattering stories about his grandfather. Joshua does not believe that his grandfather is the villain portrayed in the novels, and he vows to keep looking for D.B. Morgan until the truth is told.

    Living in a small town means that Daphne and Joshua can't help but see each other often, and neither of them is prepared for the way their lives will be changed. I thoroughly enjoyed this redeeming story of God's love and how lives can be dramatically changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    Refreshing, Inspirational Historical!

    A MATTER OF CHARACTER by Robin Lee Hatcher is an Inspirational Historical set in St. Louis, Missouri and Bethlehem Springs, Missouri. It is a refreshing, historical with romance, understanding, faith, coming to terms with the truth of a loved one's life as a young man into adulthood. It is well written with depth and detail. It is the third and last in The Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series, but can be read as a stand alone. The hero has a temper, and is out to find the truth about his grandfather, who has been written into a dime novel, not in the best of light. He is a villain. He learns the truth is not always want you want it to be and what you believe to be true. He also falls in love along the way, with the writter no less. The heroine is a determined, strong willed young women who writes dime novels under a man's name. She will also find that all is not as it seems and of course falls in love. This is a tender story of faith, romance, and family. If would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the other two in this series, I would also recommend reading them ( Book #1 A Vote of Confidence, and Book #2 Fit To Be Tied). This is a fast paced, page turning must read. A keeper. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Zondervan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best in the series

    A Matter of Character was a fabulous conclusion to an endearing series. In fact, it's my favorite book of the three. I really appreciate how all of Robin's books in this series were set in Idaho and that they all focused on women with unique situations. It was fun getting to know Daphne. Her personality was perfect for an author, and her discovery of true love was beautiful. I thought it was neat how she realized that while she wrote about falling in love, until she experienced it herself, she had no idea how powerful the emotion could be.

    It was hilarious how Daphne handled things at times, too, like when she added a character to her book to torment when she was mad at Joshua. That was a real hoot. I also found the hero, Joshua, to be an all-around great guy even with his flaws. He was a decent person and that was probably why he struggled with setting things straight. I loved that he didn't want to hurt anyone, though sometimes delaying the inevitable hurts people more.

    There were many tender moments in this story and some awesome kisses, too. The best part for me was how it became an enjoyable escape for a few days. It's the perfect CBA romance because it was fun, clean, and had just the right amount of romantic tension to draw you into the romance without it overpowering the rest of the story. Robin is a truly amazing storyteller. Did I mention that I thoroughly enjoyed this final book in the series? I love it when the characters become my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Final book in Sisters of Bethlehem trilogy is sweetly romantic

    A Matter of Character by Robin Lee Hatcher is the third and final book in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series. Daphne McKinley loves her life in 1918 Idaho. She lives independently while spending plenty of time with her brother and sister-in-law and their two adorable children, and she just happens to secretly write dime novels about the Old West, including a villain called Rawhide Rick who she based on a real man she's heard stories about. Joshua Crawford has come to Bethlehem Springs seeking the author D.B. Morgan who has written several stories about his grandfather Richard Terrrell, aka Rawhide Rick, to force the author to retract the stories and to prove that Richard was a wonderful man of God, but when he meets Daphne his plan gets a little off track as he falls in love with her jubilant spirit and intelligence. A desperate illness throws the two together in enforced intimacy, bringing their hidden feelings to the surface. Can their romance survive the revelation that Daphne is the author of the books about Rawhide Rick or will a secret from Joshua's past destroy their growing relationship? Hatcher's writing is always a joy to read with strong handsome men, beautiful, intelligent women, and intriguing stories that pull them together and apart. I did think that the cabin scene happened a little too early in the story, because everything after that felt a bit stretched. This trilogy about Gwen, Chloe, and Daphne comes to a natural end with this volume filled with romance, faith, and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Great Read!

    Robin Lee Hatcher's latest release, A Matter of Character, provides readers with a fully engaging and well written piece. Daphne and Joshua, the two main characters, will have you laughing, crying and fighting mad throughout the book. True tenderness and respect are woven throughout many of the characters--characteristics that are hard to come by today. This book made me long for the days of old, but also reignited a passion to make decisions on a daily basis that shows true godly character to those I encounter.


    This book is excellent and you will close the book feeling refreshed. This was the first book I've read in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series, so now I've got to go back and read the others. And I can't wait!

    I received a copy of this book for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Thank you to CFBA and Zondervan for my copy of this enjoyable Christian fiction novel. Set in a small town in Idaho's 20th century, a romance with a bit of a mystery is skillfully plotted incorporating wonderfully complex characters. The author writes in third-person narrative so that the reader can "get into the head" of each character.

    The plot is interspersed with journal entries written by Joshua's deceased grandfather, Rawhide Rick, a true villain of the Old West. At first, this interruption felt a bit clumsy to me, but I soon adapted and ended up pleased with the overall effect. Although the reader can guess how the story will end, the plot is so well done that it's fun getting there.

    This is the third in a series, but is a stand-alone novel. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Matter of Character

    The book opens introducing Joshua Crawford as he lambasted a fellow reporter for misreporting the facts about his grandfather. After punching him and getting fired, he decides to show them that his grandfather is not the same man as portrayed in a series of dime store novels called The McFarland Chronicles. The author is D.B. Morgan from Bethlehem Springs, Idaho.

    Daphne Mckinley, an heiress who lives in Bethlehem Springs, cleverly hides behind the pseudonym, D.B. Morgan. Her villain in her dime store novel series is Rawhide Rick. She gets her information from a local named Griff. Not one soul in Bethlehem Springs knows that D.B. Morgan writes among them. The year is 1918 and though it was not unusual for women to write dime store novels, it is unusual for them to stray from romantic fiction. Daphne writes westerns. Joshua and Daphne will meet in the newspaper office of little Bethlehem Springs and eventually, Joshua does find out through logical deduction that Daphne is D.B. Morgan.

    Joshua is convinced that Daphne did his grandfather a great injustice by defaming him in her novels with untruths. He accompanies her to her sources and learns about his grandfather-the man he was before Joshua was born. It is a journey of learning for the two of them as neither of them are wrong. Robin Lee Hatcher cleverly intersperses Rawhide Rick or Richard Terrell's personal journal in between the chapters. When you are reading this book, you are actually reading two stories-Rawhide Rick's and Joshua and Daphne. At first, it confused me.

    I wondered if the chapters in italics was one of the McFarland Chronicles I was reading. Then, I realized it was both. I spent a couple of chapters confused before I understood and then I was still wrong when I got to the end of the book. As I closed the last chapter, I was glad I signed up to read it. It made me want to read all the books in The Sisters Of Bethlehem Springs series.

    The book brought to our attention the power of words. Daphne was historically correct in her information on Rawhide Rick and I don't think she was wrong to use a real character in her fictional dime store novel series. Joshua should not have lost his temper. He would have still had a job, but never would have met Daphne. Joshua had every right to get angry at how his grandfather was portrayed, but what both of them did not realize is the power of Rawhide Rick's complete story. He wasn't just a villain in the black and white sense, but lost in the grays were the stories of his life as Joshua knew him-an upright and honorable man who turned his life around.

    Nikole Hahn
    www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Matter of Character - another great book by Robin Lee Hatcher.

    Although it could be a stand-alone book, A Matter of Character, continues on the great saga of Bethlehem Springs with the same heartwarming characters from her last two books and fun spirit of the early 20th Century adventures in Old West Idaho. Daphne McKinley, sister to the first Bethlehem Springs hero, Morgan McKinley, is a female author in a dominant male authored world who finds herself in quite a writer's predicament. The romance, humor, and anticipation in seeing how God will help Daphne through this dilemma are quite entertaining. Robin never ceases to amaze me with her tapestry of lives and events she weaves together for our entertainment while she helps us grow joyfully in our walk with Jesus along the way as we relate to her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1