Customer Reviews for

A Matter of Class

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Read

A suprisingly short read, but quite enjoyable. If you're looking for something short to dig into, this will do just fine.

posted by Sflakes01 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Very short read--comparable to a Harlequin, and the book is not much bigger than one. I've read all Of Balogh's books and Matter of Class misses the mark. If you like the Christmas issues with 3 short stories by different authors, you will like this book, if you're expe...
Very short read--comparable to a Harlequin, and the book is not much bigger than one. I've read all Of Balogh's books and Matter of Class misses the mark. If you like the Christmas issues with 3 short stories by different authors, you will like this book, if you're expecting a book with depth, this is not the book for you.

posted by Bookery on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Disappointing

    Very short read--comparable to a Harlequin, and the book is not much bigger than one. I've read all Of Balogh's books and Matter of Class misses the mark. If you like the Christmas issues with 3 short stories by different authors, you will like this book, if you're expecting a book with depth, this is not the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Nice Read

    A suprisingly short read, but quite enjoyable. If you're looking for something short to dig into, this will do just fine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    NOt what I expected from this author

    I enjoyed the story, but really felt that the plot and characters could have been far more developed. I am a fan of Balogh and enjoy rereading some of her novels. This book was finished in two hours and I didn't find myself feeling sympathetic to any of the characters or truly understanding what motivated them in the way I usually do with her other novels. I would have to say that the ending in this novel was a delightful departure from the typical conclusion of this genre. It is overall a pleasant, light read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick Entertaining Read

    It's a short and sweet novel that took me just one evening to read. For the short length that it was, I thought it was entertaining and a special twist was added in the book to add more to the story. I thought the twist was well thought of and to be frank, I didn't even expect something like that to happen. It was definitely a refreshing surprise and I was glad to see that this sets the book apart from the typical romances you see on the shelf.

    When it comes to these kinds of books, I expect the main couple in question to have the chemistry required to make the plot flow and to make the reading interesting. Annabelle and Reginald felt well together. Both were headstrong and stubborn, and both had a fiery streak. When they both argued, you couldn't help but chuckle to yourself while reading. They were entertaining and had that perfect chemistry to make them a good couple. They were also both very likable characters, Reginald did start off as a spoiled brat at first but as the story progressed, he was not who I thought he was.

    As for the 'romantic' parts, I'm not a fan of explicit scenes, but this novel passed. It wasn't pages long with unnecessary descriptions, and can be skimmed through for those that are just not into that sort of reading (like I am!). This book is a nice light quick read that can be finished in less than a day. The twist in the novel brings more flavor to the storyline and sets itself apart from the typical romances you see on the shelves. This has been a most enjoyable read - even for a non romance fan like myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Excellent novella (LVR)

    This is another wonderfully written story by Mary Balogh. Even though it was a novella, it was superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    An easy enjoyable story that shows how two young people continue

    An easy enjoyable story that shows how two young people continue to adore each other over time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    She never fails!

    If you like humor along with your romance this is perfect . I laughed at it and really found it inventive. You don't quite know what to expect next.
    I like all her books.
    Book club discussion....who knows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This is an exceptionally clever and touching story. Had depth a

    This is an exceptionally clever and touching story. Had depth and a punch. After Ii read it, I continued to think about it. Short but sweet. Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Short but memberable

    The length really makes it a novella, but it's a story that I come back to again and again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Sweet

    Loved it! Short romance that makes you laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    My favorite Balogh book, kept me guessing almost till the end an

    My favorite Balogh book, kept me guessing almost till the end and I
    loved the back story for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Loved it!

    Reading this is like eating a delicious dessert without all the calories!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Enjoyed this book a lot. Will read more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Charmingly Amusing

    Mary Balogh has a sophisticated writng style and a feel for plot development that many must envy. This story of young love in an age strangled by ritual was funny, tender and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Matter of class

    I have favorits authors that I like and you have most of them. What I like best about them are the trilogies which makes them more interesting especially when other families are introduced and plays a great part in the story.Jillian Hunter, Mary Blough, Julia London are the best, of course there are others, but they are my favorite When I read one of their trilogy novels, I can hardly wait to get the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Short but clever and sweet.

    Loved this book. Get it when you want to read a great quick story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    An absolute must read!!!!!!

    I love Mary Balogh's books. This one has such a wonderful twist that
    left me wanting to read it again. I highly reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    ok for a short read

    I think it would have been a great story, had it been filled out with the details, and interactions between the two main characters more so. Left me wishing there had been more filler between beginning and end of story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Still pretty good

    I have read several book by Mary Balogh. Not the best one I've read but still good it was a little short for me and didn't have many other conflicts or secondary characters to add to the story, stuck to the main conflict. Has several flashbacks and I can't say I like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Unique Afternoon Read! Mary Balogh's style keeps me coming back for more...

    Really enjoyed this book. Had been looking forward to its receipt and when it arrived by mail, I read the entire book without interruption.
    The ending was a surprise to me. I am a fan and collector of books by Mary Balogh and have enjoyed everything she has written. This offering is nicely packaged and would be a special gift to anyone who might enjoy a shorter historical romance. It is now a part of my permanent Mary Balogh Collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5