Customer Reviews for

A Matter of Justice (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a strong entry in one of the best anti-war series on the marketplace

    In 1920, Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge is in Scotland attending his friend¿s Somerset wedding when his London based superior informs him to go to nearby Cambury to lead a murder investigation. Ian arrives at the affluent Hallowfield estate to find the ¿squire¿ former financier Harold Quarels hanging from a harness used to hold the Christmas angel used as part of the holiday gala. He and his inner ghost Hamish MacLeod, whom he had executed during the war, agree that whoever did this murder was extremely angry at the victim.<BR/><BR/>Constable Padgett who found the corpse is not very helpful and in fact he impedes the inquiry. In spite of the local cop¿s hindrance, Ian begins to learn that every villager, estate workers, and even Harold¿s wife loathed him and had motives to kill him. Additionally his business partner Davis Penrith and Quarels only recently ended their relationship and several people lost a ton of money due to Quarles's failed African investment strategy. However, Ian and Hamish feel all this just obfuscates the real reason for the homicide; which lies in revenge of multiple murders and theft during the Boer War two decades ago. <BR/><BR/>The latest Rutledge-MacLeod post WWI police procedural is a strong entry in one of the best anti-war series on the marketplace. Readers ironically know who is behind the murder and why long before Ian figures it out after additional killings occur. Although Hamish seems to behave himself a bit more than usual, fans will relish this excellent historical whodunit as Charles Todd affirms he is no chicken hawk as he once again makes it clear his position that war is only good for the profiteers and politicians.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Fantastic Story!

    Great story! I now have another mystery author to look-out for.

    I'll be acquiring as many of the previous Inspector Rutledge stories as I can find!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I'm a long time fan of Ian Rutledge and this was another case where I was trying so hard to beat Ian to the solution first. Needless to say I was always one step behind even with the help of the opening chapter.

    I've become very attached to Ian and Hamish his "unconventional" partner. The story line is full of twist and turns. The settings are vivid and full of the mood of the seasons. Each book adds a little more to the person who is Ian Rutladge and his struggle with the aftermath of the war he survived. Characters return and others are added. Each is very real because each exhibits human behavior in all its endless variety,good,evil,kind,and self-centered. It's in determining who lets what behavior rule that we find our killer while also understanding who the victim really was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    Another great Inspector Ian Rutledge tale.....

    I just discovered this Charles Todd series in January. I am reading them all, in order, and have enjoyed them all. I love to switch off my reading between several favored authors and each time, I look forward to getting involved in the Inspector latest mystery. The Harold Quarels story was excellent .. kept me guessing throughout. I enjoy Hammish, and try to 'read' it in his accent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Read one book from the Ian Rutledge Series and you'll be hooked!

    I Started with the first book in this series a little over a year ago. I am addicted. The book starts a bit slow, but don't put it down, the author is building his story.... and what a story!! This author draws you in and paints a picture you can see in your mind. Totally immersing you in the world of Ian Rutledge and the time after the war. But not just the mystery itself but the plight of the people, and the soldiers after the war. So many widows and fatherless or orphaned children. History tends to leave that out. This book tells the good and the bad and weaves it into a page turning novel that will have you staying up late to read just one more chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Highly recommended for mystery fans.

    I am hooked on Charles Todd's Inspector Rutledge mysteries. Todd gives the reader an in-depth look at the post WWI period in areas of England while the Inspector solves a murder mystery. The books are also a strong critique on war. Each of Todd's mysteries is engrossing and well written. I highly recommend them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    #11

    Love the main character, Ian Rutledge, but this was not one of my favorite
    stories. Still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just So So.

    I love mysteries, but this one left me flat. I found it slow and boring. Maybe you would like it better. The cover is what enticed me...it looked creepy. But it turned out to just be so so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    a matter of justice

    Good book! This is a good series and the authors are wonderful in the development of complex characters and also in informing the readers of the historical times that surround the story's setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    matter of justice

    I never ordered this book, and those books that I did order recently have not arrived yet.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging

    A Matter of Justice is the 11th and most recent of Todd's Ian Rutlegde series, the adventures of a shell-shocked and haunted World War I veteran returned to his police detective's job at Scotland Yard. My son brought home a middle book in the series, A Cold Treachery, and we loved it. In 2.5 years, I have read them all and now eagerly await the 12th.

    A Matter of Justice shines as among my top favorites of the series, in which Rutledge attempts to solve a murder through deduction and questioning of all the players, while dealing with the ghost of a soldier, a good friend, whom he had shot for disobeying a direct order amid the horrid trench warfare of the war. In effect, the hero is getting on with life while being a victim of post-traumatic-stress disorder.

    These book are thrillers - psychological, drama, mystery and historical. None is predictable. Each has surprises and twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Each new installment in the Ian Rutledge series by Charles Todd is anxiously awaisted.

    I've read all eleven in the Ian Rutledge series and can't wait for the next one. His voice of "conscience" (or of "guilt", if you will) in his head is a creative twist on the detective partner genre. Having a flawed lead character is compelling and makes him seem even more real.

    I usually don't care for co-written novels, but they cleverly write as one persona ("Charles Todd") and I didn't even realize that it was a duo until book #3--bravo! Anxiously await #12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2