Customer Reviews for

Matters of the Blood (Blood Lines Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymous

    All in all this was a great book. Its different, but in a good way. Got confusing at times, but managed to keep up. The storyline is amazing and has alot of twists that keep the pages turning. Id recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Good but

    Not sure I'll read more of it. Can't say why exactly either yet because I cared enough to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Series was great

    Once I picked up this series, I couldn't stop reading. When I finished reading the last book I was sad because it finished. It is exciting, Romantic and suspense. Once you start you will get addicted to Keira Kelly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of telling but no showing, disappointing

    After reading the glowing reviews I had high hopes for this one but it is a real struggle to get through to the end. At first our heroine talks a good game about how 'she knows the dead and the dead know her', but you quickly find out that there is much telling rather than showing going on here, what a shame. She'll tell you she spent years as 'death's assistant' and how she is a 'predator' but by the time we catch up with her in this book she's not nearly so cool, again more telling rather than showing. I don't think the author can quite make up her mind what she wants her heroine to be and I'm not sure I even understand exactly what she is supposed to be. She'll say she doesn't know how to feel 'human' emotions and yet she spends the entire book doing exactly that - how about guilt, sadness, caring, anxiety, fear, lust, etc. Are those not human emotions?

    The dialog is sometimes so simplistic that I feel as if I'm reading a YA novel, the conversation can shift abruptly and does not flow evenly. It was nice to come across a heroine in her thirties but as Kiera refers to herself as 'GDI' which is explained in parentheses as (God-Damned Independent)and uses phrases like 'bucko' and abso-freakin-lutely, it's hard to take her seriously. One other niggle - the fact that she refers to herself as a necromancer, has a couple of stare down contests with some local toughies and then uses phrases like 'bully for him', I wonder if the author has read one too many Anita Blake book and has let this influence her heroine because this is all vintage Anita and Anita does it better.

    I gave the two stars because I thought her visions we very compelling, would have been nice if the rest of the book were written in that way. I also enjoyed the character of Adam and many of their interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Take the time to read this one....

    I picked this book up by chance & I saw Charlaine Harris did a blurd on this so I gave it a shot and MAN - O - MAN!!! This book really sucked me in! I could not get my house work done!!! This book was well written & just a heck of alot of fun! I am running out on my lunch to get the second book & really hope there are more!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    Few know the dead like Keira Kelly does the dead know Keira Kelly perhaps better than the living. Keira is part of a clan of paranormal people although she prefers to live outside amongst the normals. Currently she lives in Rio Seco, Texas if one can call residing there as living. She watches over her cousin Marty Nelson, who not only failed to inherit the family gift making him a pathetic purebred human outcast, but works as he puts it -in a dead-end job as a mortician.---------------- As Keira begins to learn what her powers are, someone is beheading and draining the blood of animals at The Wild Moon resort. Keira believes the culprit is inhuman. However, though she does some tremulous investigation, she is not committed until Marty is murdered with all his blood emptied from his corpse. As her former boyfriend Sheriff Carlton Larson investigates and makes it clear he wants her back, Keira visits Wild Moon only to find Adam Walker, someone she once desired, owns the place. Keira wonders could he have killed Marty because the mortician was learning the truth about the new resort not filled with many guests.----------- The cast makes this horror mystery into a one sitting read as fans will anticipate every chilling bump that sends the heroine into frighten mode. The story line is fast-paced with no one quite like they initially seem as most of the townsfolk are not purebred human. Readers will appreciate this superb paranormal whodunit with a touch of romance with plenty of interwoven subplots that will elate fans of various sub-genres, but the center holding this superb tale together is the likable Keira who makes the abnormal seem so normal.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2