Customer Reviews for

Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Highy Recommend!

I have the hard cover of this Commentary,but it so large, it's just great to have it on my Nook!

posted by READER1LS on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

don't waste your money

Don't waste your money it is not formatted for windows 7

posted by mperiman on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Highy Recommend!

    I have the hard cover of this Commentary,but it so large, it's just great to have it on my Nook!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Excellent!

    Don't be fooled by the fact that this has a smaller pricetag; the links in this version are very well done! This is a great commentary adapted very well to ebook form. The only con is the annoying cover page. :)

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    LOVE THIS!!

    This is my absolute favorite commentary. Generally easy to understand and extremely thorough. My understanding of the Bible has deepened so much since getting this and now I can hardly imagine studying the Bible without wondering what Matthew Henry wrote about the passage. I also love that I can look up the words I don't understand instantly on the nook. If you are looking for a great commentary definitely get this. It is worth so much more than the .99 I paid for it!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    Great resource right at my fingertips, and very easy to navigate.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    After using this commentary for awhile, I am absolutely sold on the content. I need a dictionary to follow some of the brilliant vocabulary, but not to worry. While reading, one can easily look up a word right where you are on the nook. Just press "look up word." B&N's price for this is more than a bargain at $.99.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Excellent resource. Highly recommend.

    This is a must have for any serious bible student.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    Downloaded good - really great resource.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buy now

    Great resource for on the go study and lesson/sermon prep. Only 99 cents whats not to love? Works flawlessly with Nook touch.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Commentary

    So nice to have a commentary to carry with me!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    don't waste your money

    Don't waste your money it is not formatted for windows 7

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Greatest commentary ever written

    I start any serious study with this book. It is so packed with insight that you will rarely need to turn to another study source. The only issue I've ever had with this commentary is being ovrwelmed with debth of understanding thats revealed. I have often had to put this commentary down just to consider what I just read, befoe I move any further.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent concise commentary for any bible student.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly reccommended

    THis commentary on the bible is so FANTASTIC, I purchased the hard back books years ago but the fact that I can search this electronic copy for a specific word and the reading is so fluid. It could not be better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great Study Tool!

    I have this commentary in hard cover and had to have it for my Nook. It is so helpful when I am studying to teach the gospel or just for my own personal learning. Easily, an essential tool for all those who love the scriptures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Exellent

    This is hands down the best Complete Commentary available!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Monday

    Read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Ok

    I found that it was very flowery and subjective. Old world language and of course only covered what the man wanted to learn, not what real people in this day and age are trying to get out of it.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Poor proofreading job

    Missing pages and paragraphs in both Testaments. Compare to Matthew Henry Whole Bible Commentary in Theophilos Bible Software. Needs rework at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Outdated

    It's a little difficuult forr me to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    A high five star!

    A very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9