Customer Reviews for

Mattimeo (Redwall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Very good

    I'm reading my 5th redwall book right now. Mattiemo was my 2nd favorite behind Redwall. The reason I like these two books the most is because of the characters. Matthais, Jess, and Basil are ultimately my favorite. Some things I were wondering about are: are they in any other books, and why does Mr. Squirrel never do anything? It seems like Jaques forgot about him entirely, eg: 'I wish Jess and Sam were here. Nothing like a squirrel for gathering nuts.' Spectacular book, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mattimeo (Redwall #3)

    This is a great book to read. I really enjoyed the third book of Brian Jacques's Redwall. It was fast pace, interesting, and very enjoyable. If you like the first two books, you will really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    Mattimeo

    When Mattimeo and his friends were stolen from their Abby home by a wicked fox bent on revenge. However Mathias (who was both guardian of the Abby and Mattimeo's father) and a band of woodland creatures went off to save their children. Along the way they met a few unlikely allies and then they finally found their children in a slaving kingdom. And it wasn't going down without a fight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Epic Story of a Father and a Son

    When I first looked upon the Redwall series, I thought they looked interesting. Years later, I decided to pick up Redwall, the first book. It swept me away. The following summer, I picked up Mossflower. Yet again, the incredible writing style of Brian Jacques and his ability to combine both dialouge and descriptions effectively blew me out of my seat. Mossflower was superior to Redwall in every way. Then, in the fall I read Mattimeo. WOW. This book was just incredible. It was more emotional than the first two, and had everything. I sometimes wonder if it is just me, but this series seems to get better as it goes along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was written by my favorite author. Mattimeo was a wondeful and action-packed book that will keep you reading.The suspense will keep you reading.you will meet some new characters and some familiar ones too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    One of the best in the series!

    The book starts of so peaceful, then becomes a tale of action. It was hard to stop reading, I even stood up until midnight. The book includes diffrent point of view and at the end of each point of view there was suspence. This book has humorous parts and scary ones too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Not what I would have liked

    A good story by one of my favorite Authors. However, I found that this one lacked the fire and flow of the normal round of novels put out. Slow at points, pointless bits that dragged down the story. In essence, i would skip this book, as not a whole lot happens thats important to understand the rest of the storys (Like Martin the Warrior and Mossflower were important to read to get everything in Redwall).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Redwall!

    Mattimeo is one of the best Redwall books i have read. its exciting, scary, funny, and hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Awsome action filled

    The book is one of the greatest in the Redwall series. It is great for almost all ages. Unbelieveable Five Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    MATTIMEO

    Just like everybody else - five stars. I think that so far, Mattimeo is the best book in the Redwall series. Mattimeo, son of the Warrior Mouse Matthias, gets captured by Slagar the Fox along with is friends. Matthias and a few other characters, including the silly Basil Stag Hare and the skillful Jess the Squirrel set out to find them. Meanwhile, the other Redwallers stay at the abbey, and with the help of the smart Baby Rollo), they outwit invading birds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    AWESOME!!!

    I loved this book!It's a page turner for sure!When you're bored and need something to reed this is definately it!Brian describes everything perfectly so it's not difficult to imagine things. The stories aren't hard to follow either!It's an awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    oh my god!! so awsome

    ............ i cant beleive it how anyone could do a piece of work so well you must read it. I recomend it for all ages. (But some parts may not be good for children under 7 for example the battles).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Awaome!! My Favorite Book in the Series!

    It was a great book. It follows up Redwall and has many of the same characters like Matthias, Constance Badger, and my favorite, Basil Stag Hair!!!!! Kool battle at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    This is a great book!

    In the book there is a feast when these clowns come, but it is Slagar¿s villains. While everyone is watching the clowns Slagar is poisoning the drinks. When everyone is poisoned he took all the kids. The main characters are Orlando the Ax, Mattais the Warrior, Mattimeo, and Slagar the Cruel. The problem is that all the kids in Redwall have been take as slaves. I would say the genre is fantasy because of the warrior animals. The setting is in Mossflower¿s woods. In one part of the book Mattais challenges the strongest of the bad guys. As he is fighting he gets tied in the bad guys net and is thrown off the edge. I like this book because off the excitement and fantasy. It has a new world. I¿m recommending this book because when I began reading it I couldn¿t put it down. I would rate this book a 9. A kid who likes fantasy book will surly like this one. Connor M., grade 5 Bales Intermediate, Friendswood, Texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    this is the beast

    ok i am in h school this book i have read it thought about 6 times its thst goiod its hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    bound to be great

    Mattimeo is a pointless tale to an already mediocre series. Just kidding! Mattimeo is actually an amazing adventure to an already great series. There is much adventure in it, which is why it is my favorite book in the series (so far). There is plenty of suspense and action to hold your attentiion and the final battle is so exciting and cool! READ IT OR ELSE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    MATTHIAS AGAINST SLAGAR. GET OUT THE POPCORN AND GET READY FOR ACTION!

    MATTIMEO GOES BACK TO THE CHARACTERS IN THE FIRST BOOK REDWALL AND BRINGS ANOTHER AWSOME ADVENTURE! READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    I'm Breath-taken!

    Little Mattimeo the brat is what Mathias's son is known by at Redwall Abbey. Everything changes after Slaggar the Cruel comes and kiddnaps Redwalls precious young ones. Mattimeo must change his rebelous attitude if he is to get himself and his friends free from Slaggars fierocous slave band. Mathias must travel, track, and fight fast if he wants to rescue Redwalls young back. This book was an excelent novel and I recomend it to ages eight and up. This funny heartwarming story is enough to cheer anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Matthias' son Mattimeo

    This book starts out with a Redwall Jubilee Feast and introduces Matti, a little kid mouse without a care; but who looks forward to weilding his father's sword. He's a mischevious type,(like all little kids are), but when he and some of his friends are captured by the twisted fox, Slagar, he has to learn bravery. The parents of the captured children(including Matthias), set out to find them and meet up with Orlando the Badger. Well, that's it. READ IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Eric, Book worm

    BEST REDWALL BOOK EVER!!!! I FINISHED IT IN 5 DAYS! I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! I AM ON SALAMADTRON RIGHT NOW!! NICE BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5