BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mattimeo (Redwall Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    A GREAT READ!

    Everyone who has read the Redwall series should definately read this one! You'll become familiar with Matthias oll over again. A long journey that keeps you begging for more! You won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Jacques continues to impress

    By far this is one of my favorite books so far. The second direct sequel (in terms of time)is so much better than it's predecessors, and it's nonstop action will keep you entertained till the very surprising and heart-rendering end. Fans of the previous two or any other for that matter do not need to think before picking this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    Eulaliiiiaaa!!!!!!!! Redwaaaaaaall!!!!!!!!!!!Logalogalogalogalooooogg!!!!!!!!!

    Mattimeo is a young mouse who grows up from a troubling little youngster into another brave hero of Redwall while he and other young creatures of Mossflower had been taken under captive of Slagar the Cruel to be sold off to the foul empire of Malkariss to serve as slaves. Mattimeo is a must read and I give it an excellant rate: five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    The Best Redwall Book Ever!

    I loved Mattimeo for the characters. I loved how he told how hard Mattimeo strugled to live up to the expectations of being the Warrior's son. You don't see this again until Dann in Marlfox. I also love how Mattimeo shows more friendship than Redwall did. Matthias didn't seem to hang out with people his own age. Mattimeo has great friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Mattimeo is a fantastic book! I love all the characters, though my favorite character is baby Rollo. You just can't put it down at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Another Success for Jacques!

    I've never read a Redwall book I didn't like, and Mattimeo is no exception! The best part of this book, in my opinion, is the end (of course for what books is that not true?) This book is filled with action and page turning suspense from cover to cover! A bit gruesome at parts, I won't lie, but still this book is AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    The best one yet!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Mattimeo is the best book in the Redwall series yet.Matthias is still the true warrior he is like in the first book Redwall! Matthias and Orlando were the best characters in the book in my opinion. This book is recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Best Redwall yet

    This is the most exciting,wonderful Redwall book yet.It has suspense and all the good qualities of a GREAT book.If you havent read it,go out and get a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!

    ive read all the redwall books and i have to say this is one of my most favorite! all redwall books are so COOL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    ................Amazing

    this....book was the best ive ever read. the plot was great and it was a real page turner (just like all the other redwall books)I also read Redwall,mattimeo,martin the warrior,pearls of lutra,outcast of redwall,and marlfox but this was (like my title) amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    Mattimeo is the best book!

    Mattimeo is the best book that Brian Jacques has ever written! That means it's one of the best books ever.It's the longest Redwall book ,but the Taggerung is as long,but don't let the number of pages scare you off. Each chapter leaves you beging for more! The hero is Matthias's son,Mattimeo and the villain is a well knowen villain from the past. So you better read it!Zach.C.Berg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Best book yet!

    Matti is captured by the venomous Slagar. And taken south. That's where this famous book starts. I realllllly recomend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Redwaaaallllll!!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book it is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    best ever

    I have read everything from Dr. Suess to Victor Hugo, but I have never read a book as good or interesting as Mattimeo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Definet 5 star

    Matt a mouse from redwall is kidnapped by a evil fox, while Matthias Mattimeo's father father is hot on the trail of the kidnappers. Mattimeo is lead to be a slave and along the way there is many escapes that almost worked but didn't. This is deffenenly the best of all the redwall books and i think anyone who likes adventure will like this book alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Mattimeo is Matti-awesome!!!

    I've read Marlfox and Redwall and I own Marlfox, Redwall, Mattimeo, The Long Patrol, The Pearls of Lutra, Legend of Luke, and Martin the Warrior, and Mattimeo is definetley the COOLEST book i have ever read. It's even cooler than Harry Potter 4. This book has the coolest name of animals, ranging from Slagar, Nadez, and Malkariss, to Basil Stag Hare, Auma, and Orlando the Axe. It has incredibly tense parts, (when General Ironbeak comes into Redwall)sad parts, (when the young are taken to be slaves and 2 animals from Redwall are killed), and funny parts (when B.S. Hare is insulting Cheek). This is an incredibly great book with amazing twists and hair-raising turns. If i could i would give this book 500,000,000 stars. Thanks for writing the coolest book ever, Brian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    REDWALL'S BEST

    When Slagar The Cruel encounters Redwall surprises are definitely instore. When the warrior of Redwall leaves to defeat the Sly One, Redwall is left unprotected. General Ironbeak sees his chance and the siege of Redwall is on! Will a new warrior be born? Find out in this incredible adventure. The best book Brian Jacques has ever written. You gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2001

    This is a great book!!!

    I have just started reading Brian Jacques' books, but Mattimeo is the best Redwall story so far!!! It's packed with adventure, excitement, detail and evil villans. I couldn't put it down until the last page had been read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Wonderful and Memorable!!

    I have not read this book in two years, but everytime I think of it I remember how much I loved it! The plot is wonderfully written, and the characters are fun. This is one of Jacques's best in the Redwall series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2000

    A writter who of course loves to read!

    Everytime I began a Jacques book I cringe a bit to think it may not be as adventurous as the last. Yet I'm always wrong! Mattimeo is a great extended adventure where obstacles and events continually pop up. Mattimeo is the best book of the Jaques series I've read so far. I recommend this book to ANYONE who enjoys adventure/survival/historical-fiction/animal-stories. Your imagination will forever be missing something splendid if you don't read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4