Customer Reviews for

Maus: A Survivor's Tale - 2 Volume Boxed Set

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Descriptive and Cunning

    If you like Night by Elie Wiesel, you would love Maus by Art Spiegelman. They both contain father and son relationship, that would leave you turning the pages until the end. Introduced to me by inspiring English teachers, who deserves all the praise, Maus captures the perspective of life during the Holocaust. It teaches readers more about the personal and physical life during the time of racial discrimination. Read it. It is worth your time knowing more about the past. You would know what I mean once you get your hands on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    Art Spiegelman is an American cartoonist, editor and comics advo

    Art Spiegelman is an American cartoonist, editor and comics advocate based in New York City, best known for his graphic novel Maus. His awards include the Pulitzer Prize Special Citations and Awards. His point of view is majorly for the Jewish and anti-Nazi propaganda as his family and cultural is culturally bonded more to Jews. Maus is the story of the Jews and the Nazis as it pertains to the extermination of the Jewish ghettos within Nazi Germany. The book also analyzes the establishment of a protectorate government within Poland and helped me grasp the political and economic situations of the times via telling the Holocaust as though the Nazis were cats and Jews were mice. The initial situation begins with Vladek. He begins as a well-to-do young man in Poland. Vladek’s story is Maus’s central theme. This relates back to Spiegelman’s description of World War II and Spiegelman’s point of view. The importance of these events to our historical study is the evolution of genocide and effectiveness of point of view within the recalling and analysis of Maus I and II. This book connects to what we’ve learned in class via pertaining to the growth of the genocides and the leading and resulting of World War II. This book gave me a deeper insight into this era of world history. It is from the time period and this tells us about the people during the time the author was writing about political structures and cultural cosmopolitan of Europe. Political structures such as the Polish protectorate of the German lands; economic stability of Poland; and the cultural cosmopolitan of Europe. The author’s writing style and general pace of the book was generally slow. As a graphic novel, it pertains relative to even pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Published Book Review on Maus II I read Maus Volume I previousl

    Published Book Review on Maus II

    I read Maus Volume I previously and was intrigued by how great of a story it was. I loved how it was a
    graphic novel, so essentially a comic book, but still managed to convey an extremely touchy subject,
     like the Holocaust very well. I also love the way that the Spiegelman uses the different animals as the
    different peoples in the war. He draws Vladek and all of the Jewish people as mice, and all of the
    Nazis as cats. This symbolizes perfectly how the Nazis are more powerful than, and against the
    Jewish people, just like how a cat is the natural, well known, enemy of the mouse. Later in Maus II,
    Spiegelman elaborates on this by making the Americans dogs, showing how the Americans
    combated the Nazis during the war, like how a dog and cat may fight.

      Maus Volume II starts out in the present as Art and his wife Francoise were notified that Vladek and
     Mala, his wife, had broken up. After hearing the news they went to Vladek’s to stay with him for a short
     while, where he then takes up telling his story again where he left off. The book then abruptly switches
     to a scene that looks to be it the future where a defeated Art Spiegelman tells of his father’s death,
    and the struggles of writing the book, all while being a human wearing a mouse mask. I thought this
    scene was very odd when I first read it, being that nothing in either of the books up to this point had
     been anything like it. Never had we seen a human in a mouse mask, and also never had we heard
    him talk about the writing of the book. But, I also think that this way of telling his side of how the writing
     and publishing of the book affected him worked out well in hindsight. It showed the downsides of
    writing the book, like how it made him feel at times like a child, and how he consulted a therapist to
    help him deal with these things. 

    Aside from this though, Maus II was somewhat different than the first book in the series. I thought that
    it had more description than the first book. Although it was slightly shorter than the first one, it was
     actually a slower read because of this. I actually liked this more though because I felt like there were
    places in the first book that Spiegelman could have elaborated more, but didn’t. This further
    explanation helped to better understand some of the scenes, and the back story leading up to them. 

    All in all though, I thought that Maus II was just as good as Maus I, and an excellent continuation, and
    finish to the series. It addressed all of the things not included in the first book, and finished the story,
    while including other things such as glances into the future along the way. The Maus series is one of
     my favorite stories of all time, and would be fun and informational for anyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an amazing graphic novel. The use of animals as humans

    This was an amazing graphic novel. The use of animals as humans during WWII never takes away from the emotional impact of Spiegelman's father's story. Beautifully illustrated and harrowing - an amazing experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Different Spin

    I read these graphic novels when I was in college & thought they were a great way of explaining ordeals related to the Holocaust but in a different way than most books do. Now I finally own a copy for myself & look forward to rereading and sharing with others. I would definitely recommend reading this set!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    My Father Bleeds History

    Art Spiegelman hasn't invented the genre but he's certainly expanded it, he's created a unique graphic book by the subject he's chosen. The author a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker, cofounder/editor of Raw, the acclaimed magazine of avant-garde comics and graphics has made first and foremost a classical comic, a story about anthropomorphically depicted animals, told sequentially in a series of square panels six to a page, containing speech balloons and voice-over captions in which all the lettering is in capitals, with onomatopoeic sound-effects to represent rifle-fire, and so on.

    The story has three levels, the author shows Art Spiegelman, the narrator when he's overrun and overwhelmed by the success his Maus stories have, ad people urge him to give them the permission to use his mice for their own purposes, he has to see a psychiatrist for help. On the next level we find the cartoonist Art Spiegelman, the author's fictitious alter ego, born in the USA as the son of a Jewish couple, survivors of the holocaust, interviewing his father about his life.

    This is the third level, Vladek Spiegelman tells his son about his family's life in Poland before the rise of the Nazis, what happened to his family during the Third Reich, his and his wife's experiences in the concentration camps of Auschwitz and Birkenau and their final salvation, inserted photos of Art's younger brother (he died during the war) and father show that this is a real biography; Vladek's story forms the core of the book.

    The situation of the son interviewing the father serves as a frame, but it doesn't appear only at the beginning and at the end, Vladek's story is repeatedly interrupted; these interruptions serve several purposes, they show Vladek, the survivor, in his second life in the USA, what the camp has done to him, what kind of man he has become, and we also learn that the son is affected by what his parents went through, he was born in the USA but he's also shown as a mouse just like his father and the other survivors now living in the USA.

    I think I'm not the only reader who experiences these interruptions as a kind of relief, too, a possibility to breathe freely and relax a bit so that one can go on reading and contemplating the horrors of Vladek's story. Last but not least we can watch in true post modern fashion how a story is made, Art lets us share his scruples and reflections one of which is the question if a comic is an adequate art form to describe the horrors of the holocaust.

    I pondered a long time on Spiegelman's decision to depict the characters as animals or rather as human bodies with the heads of animals, Jews are mice, Germans are cats, Poles are pigs, Americans are dogs and a Frenchman is a frog. The book would also have been a comic had he drawn human beings, why animals? For one we see at once who's who, an author can write, "Two Poles came in", a cartoonist doesn't have it that easy, how can a reader know which nationality a character has if the outward appearance is the same?

    This leads directly into the story, indeed, from the outside people look the same, but the Nazis classified people and then went further, first there were German Jews, Polish Jew, Hungarian Jews and so on, then these people weren't Germans, Poles or Hungarian citizens any more, just Jews, later they weren't even human beings any more, they were seen as vermin, vermin that had to be extinguished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Maus - Remembered

    Wow! After seeing Hotel Rwanda (about another genocide), I remembered reading this book over 10 yrs ago in high school. It was a very unique portrayal of a time in history that will never be forgotten - this reading will never be forgotten, at least not by me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    History In the form of Comic Books

    This book is about the Holocaust in a coimic book form. It is one of the best books I have ever read and it teaches you about all the deatails of the Holocaust. This is by far one of the best descriptions of the Holocaust that I have ever read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Awesome

    This is a great book to read. I was reading it at school during our reading time and I couldn't put it down! Maus is really realistic, and I cried a couple of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Brilliant

    This was one of the best books I have ever read about the holocaust and the people affected. The comic book style is a great vehicle to tell such a sobering story; the graphics are captivating. The lives of the author, his father, and their families are shown in both past and present, drawing parallels between the generations. The characters' experiences and relationships give new meaning to the human experience. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    An alternative format can be very successful

    These books are incredible! Spiegalman does an amazing job of portraying one of the most well-known holocausts in an alternative format. The characters are so much more than simple personafied animals. The representation of Poles as pigs may not be true as a whole, but nor is the representation of all Germans as evil cats. Some Poles were pigs and some Germans were evil cats. The truth is not always easy to swallow and Speiglman does nothing to ease the pain that the Jewish Holocaust will forever remind us of, nor should he. I first read these books years ago prior to having studied the topic in depth, as a 17 year old high school student, and was moved. I highly reccommend it for high school students and for adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Maus, An Amazing story.

    Maus is probably one of the most uniquely made books about the Jewish holocaust. It involves not only good writing skills, but also involves amazingly depicted pictures which completely relate to the story. The Author Art Spiegelman does a great job of stereotyping some of the races that are involved in this book, such as Jews equaling mice and Germans equaling cats. I really enjoyed this book for a couple of reasons. One of these reasons is because it really taught me more about a subject I thought I knew everything about. Normally I will read a book about the holocaust and I will really feel tragic about what happen to all those people but I feel myself becoming bored with the book, since usually there is no flare that keeps me going. Instead I feel myself falling deeper and deeper into depression. How ever with this book I didn¿t feel the same way. Maybe it was the amazing pictures or the casual state in which the dialogue was said, but for some reason it kept me going with great enthusiasm about what was going to happen next. Another reason why I really enjoyed this book is because of the clever drawings the author produced for this book. An example of this is the Germans, since there are many reasons for why he might have chosen this particular animal. I have thought of many such as maybe he made the German cats because they had clawed their way back from WWII and were ready to fight again. Or maybe he purely chose them because cats are mice¿s worst enemy and the mice in this book are Jews. The reason why I like these clever animals is because the reader has to figure out why Art Spiegelman chose them for his book. This makes the author think into the book a little more which further brings the reader into the story of WWII. I would truly recommend Maus to anyone who wants to learn more about the holocaust and also about the people who were thrown into those terrible circumstances. This is truly a great book and I also recommend it to everyone of every age since it really teaches more about the world¿s history and not just about the normal American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Wonderful

    This is more than a graphic novel, more than a story. This is the Holocaust. Maus was introduced to me in the eighth grade by my English teacher, who I shall never forget. Reading this was an eye-opening experience. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    One of the Best Holocaust Interpretations

    This set I use in my HS Holocaust Class and it seems to help out the students much in regard to comprehension because of the visual means. My hats off to Art Spigleman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1