Customer Reviews for

Max On Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Max on Life┬┐Answers to your spiritual questions! Pastor and tea

    Max on Life—Answers to your spiritual questions!

    Pastor and teacher Max Lucado probably needs no review to promote interest in his books.  Because he is a pastor, he's received a fair share of letters with questions from both readers and church attenders looking for his view.


    He answers questions on: who is God, hurts, conflict, prayer, scriptures, second chances, sex, disagreements, why church, who goes to heaven or hell, etc.
    Max handles these with simplicity and understandable concepts for beginners as well as the mature questioner.  


    If you've had times you've wanted to get the ear of someone like Max and fire away questions on life, God, relationships perhaps your answers are here in Max's book.  You will find it a good read, even if you may know some of these answers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great overview in one book.

    With my husband a Seminary Grad, and I myself finishing up my Master's in Counseling, Max Lucado is an author whose books grace our shelves....however I have only read 2 all the way through, I saw this one and instantly wanted to dig in....I was craving tools I can use in my counseling that are practical, reliable, and Biblical based. Lucado does just this. Although most everything in this topical chapter booked are things I have already contemplated and addressed in my own Christian walk, Lucado pulls them together, and make concise and educational conversation on these topics....it will be a resource I will use continuously in the future when I find myself without words...

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    An insighful book!

    Max on Life by Max Lucado is a very insightful book that attempts to answer some common questions that people sometimes wonder about life, family, finances, and other pieces of life's puzzle. Max Lucado is a pastor in San Antonio, Texas and he has been asked many questions over the years. He features some of the most commonly asked questions in his book with very direct, but simple answers. All of the questions are categorized by subject matter, and he gives honest answers to each one. Many of the questions that are featured in this book are the same questions I have asked myself about life. Although I am not a religious person, I found this book to be easy to read, but I also got a lot of information from this book. I will be keeping this one on my bookshelves to look back at when I need to, it is a great book for people who are religious, as well as those who have never been to church.



    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed is my own and cannot be purchased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great resource for every library

    Classic Max Lucado, and the one I'd most recommend because it's equal parts inspiration and practical use.

    This is like an FAQ for life: Max picked the top questions readers ask him and answered each in one or two pages. Helpfully categorized into themes and easily searchable via an index, you can easily find a well-informed, encouraging answer that can help you (or a friend) gain perspective.

    This is a great gift. Non-readers who can't stick it out with a whole chapter will love Lucado's Q&A format and straight to the point style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Insightful and sensible

    I am far from being a devout Christian, although I did have my share of bible verses and Gospel stories when I was a little kid vacationing with my aunt and uncle who were and still are working in the service of God. I may not always gravitate to Christian books, but on the rare occasions that I do I always eventually end up surprisingly satisfied despite having a slough of doubts at the beginning.

    Max Lucado's Max On Life is no different, of course. There may have been parts where I just had to raise my brows and roll my eyes, but most of his answers to practical questions really made a lot of sense. Now here's a Christian book that not only teaches us the importance of inviting Jesus into our lives, but also gives sensible insight on how to harness an inner character based as much on bible truths as it is on acceptable social ethics.

    The views on death, heaven and hell just seemed too fantastical for me, and some answers just seem to go against the very idea of freewill. Aside from those, however, I found other things to like about this book. For one, it has managed to make more sense out of all those bible verses I had to memorize in childhood. For the other, it did help me think more seriously about my life, my preferences, and my actions in relation to what God expects of me. After all, if there is any Christian principal that I strongly believe in, it is the fact that we have been created by a Higher Power, and that showing gratitude and respect for Him should be part of our daily lives. We may not always conform to what God does with our lives. But Max Lucado assures as that everything that happens to us, happens according to God's plan.

    More than insightful and inspirational, this book may just save your life. Whether it's about hope, hurt, help, love, home regrets and death, let Max Lucado's bible-based, and life-based wisdom guide you through this confusing labyrinth more popularly known as life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    good book

    I couldn't wait to get this book from Book Sneeze. I've always loved a Max Lucado book. What I mostly like about this book is the simple outlook on different matters of life. The book is structured in different areas and sections which makes it easier to find the answer to the questions one is interested in. The topical index at the end of the book is of even greater help as it sends you to the pages that deal with a certain situation.

    The questions that are tackled are important ones, and apply to different people. What I really like and find useful when reading, is the fact that the answers to questions are not just simple talking. Is something given in a nutshell. The author doesn't try to pretend he knows everything. Just as the 3rd cover says, "Max Lucado doesn't pretend to give the final word on difficult issues. But question by question he keeps you looking toward the One who is the ultimate Answer to all our hows and whys and wheres and whens. Which, after all, is what life is really about."

    I recommend this book for those who like to have someone else's input on things, but without going into much detail, since, as I mentioned, the answers and not abundant in details. Still, is a good book, mostly dealing with questions that have been raised by people who wanted a quick answer to "why" "where" "how" etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Good, NEW stuff from Max Lucado...finally

    I enjoy a good Max Lucado book from time to time, but I will admit that his stuff has become somewhat stale to me. They all seem to be the same.feel-good, God loves you books written in different ways with different stories. While his writing style is impeccable, I would prefer something more. This is finally that book. I am again a fan of Max Lucado.

    In this book, Lucado answers questions he has received from people throughout his years of ministry. And, he answers them honestly, in his style. He answers questions about Heaven, Hell, hope, relationships, and others. He also doesn't just rehash older books, which some of his "new" books have become, but actually writes valuable information.

    I also enjoy the fact that the chapters are short. For some reason, I just like to be able to read quick chapters when I have the time. This is a great book by a man who has many already to his credit.

    P.S. I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Max on Life

    We all have the most challenging questions, genuine, extremely important questions that cannot be ignored, questions that defy answers

    What proof do we have that the resurrection really happened? Do people who have never heard of God get to go to heaven? Why do bad things
    happen to good people? How can you teach a child humility without destroying his self-esteem? And what's really permissible in the Christian
    marriage bed?
    As a pastor, Max Lucado received thousands of questions and wrestled with plenty of his own. Big questions about life and faith, heaven and hell
    and closer to home, dilemmas about sex, money, career, family, etc. In this book, Max answers all these questions - all 172 of them in a very
    down to earth, honest and biblical way.
    Here Is where Max Lucado stands out- He responds in a way that not only answers the question, But does so by telling an enchanting story but
    includes Scripture Verses to support it.
    I like the the down to earth, relateable style. Another winner from Max Lucado!!



    I received a copy of this book free for my honest opinion, from Booksneeze

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Max On Life

    Max On Life: Answers and Insights To Your Most Important Questions
    Max Lucado's - 'Max On Life: Answers and Insights To Your Most Important Questions' is a book dealing with the most common questions that any individual has and the answers that Max Lucado, pastor, author, father and husband provides is based on a lifetime's experience of have faced the same.
    The most important aspect of this book is that the solutions that Max offers are actually not just solutions but more like advice that one can follow throughout life.
    Max On Life: Answers and Insights To Your Most Important Questions' contains 172 question divided up into seven chapters:
    1. Hope
    2. Hurt
    3. Help
    4. Him / Her
    5. Home
    6. Have / Have Nots
    7. Hereafter
    I feel that this book is meant for all of us, since the topics discussed her encompass the lives of each individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Great Resource

    I was very excited when I saw that Max Lucado's new book was up for review. Max Lucado has always been a family favorite.

    In Max on Life, Max answers hundreds of questions on a variety of topics. Questions from his readers.
    He covers spiritual concerns like prayer, faith, suffering as well as things like finances, relationships, and parenting. In typical Max Lucado style, his answers are clear, concise, and easy to read.

    There were questions that I've always wondered about and questions I'd never thought of. (And maybe I should have.)

    My favorite part of the book was the topical index. If you're looking for an answer, it will be easy to find it. This makes the book not only a great read but a great reference tool. I've already found myself referring back to it. There's also a scriptural index as well.

    The only thing I found lacking was that the answers were very basic. Sometimes I wanted a more in-depth answer. However, the shorter answers did make for an easier read. Especially for a stay-at-homeschooling-mom like me, who almost never has time to herself. It was easy for me to read a question or two and then come back and read more when I had time. The basic answers did give me a jumping off point so I can research a question further.

    I was given a copy of this book for review by Tommy Nelson Publishers. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Max On Life Review

    Have you ever had a question that you wanted to ask a Pastor but you were too shy or embarrassed to ask? the new book, "Max On Life- Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions by Max Lucado, may be for you. I recently had the opportunity to review this book.
    Throughout the years, people of all ages and backgrounds have written letters to the well known author asking him intimate questions. Max decided to compile these letters, change the names and organize them into an easy to read book. Inside you'll find answers to questions like:




    "I'm a new Christian. Over the years I've developed bad habits. How do I get rid of them now?"
    "My anxiety id affecting my health, family, and work. Where do I turn?"
    "I know the bible says I'm forgiven. But my conscience says I'm not."



    You'll also find many questions on who God is, life after death, relationships, you name it.

    I like the that this book is written with real questions from people like you and me. It also feels like a promise book to me. You know those little books with topics and scriptures that cover them? I love them and this book has that type of feel to it. I would recommend this book to anyone who has burning questions about a life of faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Max on Life by Max Lucado

    Max Lucado has been a pastor, family man, writer, and leader for over 30 years. During those years he was been asked a variety of questions. In his newest book Max on Life, he answers the most asked about questions. He answers questions about life, faith, sex, money management, writing, leading, raising kids, mercy, hope, hurt, and a variety of other topics.

    Each answer he provides is well written and only about a page long, which makes it a quick and easy read no matter if you have time for one page or several. I found this book to be insightful and encouraging. I believe you would benefit from reading this book no matter where your faith walk is at. I would make this a must read if you're a church leader because it will give you insights on the questions your people will ask you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Max On Life

    The other day I finished reading Max Lucado's - 'Max On Life: Answers and Insights To Your Most Important Questions'. The book contains an assortment of question that Max as a pastor, author, father and husband has been facing for the past three decades or so.
    Max On Life contains 172 question divided up into seven chapters:
    1. Hope
    2. Hurt
    3. Help
    4. Him / Her
    5. Home
    6. Have / Have Nots
    7. Hereafter
    and the answers are mostly backed by spiritual reasoning. Max also quotes verses from various scripture books to state his views.
    'Max On Life: Answers and Insights To Your Most Important Questions' is a book meant for each and every one of us. The most important reason being that we all have questions and Here are some of the answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Good Read..

    Max On Life: In Max On Life, Lucado answers them in a straight forward, easy to understand, easy to apply. Mr. Lucado doesn't just speak to children's hearts, though, he has a special gift of being like Paul the Apostle "all things to all men." He speaks to your heart through his many works. My favorite parts of the book were his quotes from C.S.Lewis. Then again, who can compare to C.S.Lewis? I have no doubt some people will be greatly encouraged and helped by this book. This resource is perfect for a new Christian just beginning their journey. It's a perfect resource for someone who has turned away from God. Lucado answers so many questions from people that have been disillusioned by faith; have had situations arise where they have turned away from God. It's a valuable tool for pastors everywhere to share in their counseling sessions. Quick and simple, no long drawn out chapters. No big words and high tech theology. Book well written..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable Q&A

    If you enjoy Max Lucado's style, then you will really enjoy this extended question-and-answer session with one of the most popular Christian authors of our time.

    He tackles problems and questions in the following seven "H" categories: hope, hurt, help, him/her, home, haves/have-nots, and the hereafter.

    If you are already convinced that Christianity and the Bible are an important resource to face life's troubles, then this is a great resource.

    If you are not convinced, then this book may not be right for you.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it.

    Disclaimer: the publisher gave me a free copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    "Excellent Daily Devotional Resource" - Max On Life by:Max Lucado (Book Review)

    Real life questions, real concerns, real issues that every person faces in their life. That is a little snapshot of the content of this book. The questions that are penned down on paper, typed in emails, and maybe even text messages that are a part of the daily flood of inquiries that are presented to minsters, book writers, and family men like Max Lucado give us insight to the magnitude of problems that mankind faces daily. These thoughts are put into print in this magnificent book "Max On Life" for all of us to read and reflect on the very thoughts that have crossed our minds about each of these topics. Max does his very best to answer these questions in a realistic way and even though not everyone will agree with every single answer 100%, I assure you that you will take away something valuable to ponder from each chapter of this book. I have always recommend books written by Max Lucado due to the fact they will minister to your soul in ways that are beyond measure. However, this book would be one that I would recommend that you keep close on hand and use as a resource and part of your daily devotion. The way it is broke down into small sections would make it an easy read everyday for just a little encouragement or insight into real life questions that you might be faced with not only in your own life but maybe you could minister into the lives of others. I cannot say enough about how uplifting this book will be to you. I definantly think that you would want this book in your library. Max has done it again!

    Shawn P.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers' program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    need answers? this might be the book for you

    in this book, Max answers simple, basic questions that a Christian gets from day-to-day. i love the simple, short answers he gives that hits straight to the point. for instance, a few days ago, i was asked by a non-Christian why i believe Jesus resurrected. The person said, anything could've happened, Jesus' body could have been taken by people who wanted to make his death mysterious. And i was at a blank on what to answer. Until i read this book today. =) Do you want to know the answer to that question? Read this book! (i'm not gonna spoil the surprise)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Motivating

    Max Lucado is a well known voice in motivating people working towards their goal as well as living a much more fulfilling Life. Max on Life is a very inspiring masterpiece from Max Lucado and it certainly does not disappoint.

    Readers who happens to be lucky enough to get a hold on this book would find that this book is not only motivating, but provides some probable answer to some question marks that you may have at certain point in your life.

    Thumbs up for Max Lucado's Max on Life. It is highly motivational, and anyone who needs a little bit of those boost that cannot be found anywhere else can be sure to expect that in Max on Life.

    Max on Life ought to be rate 4 out of 5 stars simple for captivating and making the readers look on a much more positive side of life. This is one book that ought to be on everyone's coffee table. Max on Life would also make a wonderful addition to one's permanent library.

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher in exchange of an honest review. I was not compensated in any ways for writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Big thumbs-up on this book!

    Max answers questions received in letters, e-mails, and phone calls primarily on topics like God, spirituality, faith, salvation, forgiveness, fear, prayer, healing, and death. He tells you in the introduction that many of the answers appeared in earlier books, which he has done before. That doesn't change the impact of the questions or the answers. The questions are very thought provoking, and in Max Lucado easy-to-understand style, the answers make sense and are biblically-based. A big thumbs-up on this book! I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Max On Life

    Max on Life by Max Lucado is a very inspiring and motivational read, just like many other books written by him. I find it interesting that after following his works for so long, he have yet to lost touch in motivating and inspiring people to lead a better and a much more fulfilling life. Max Lucado is getting better and better in writing, I give him that.

    I highly recommend this book to those in need of motivation and inspiration.... and those who are doing some soul searching in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3