Customer Reviews for

Max On Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    As I continue my spiritual journey, I'm looking for uplifting gu

    As I continue my spiritual journey, I'm looking for uplifting guidance around how to live my life, raise my son and treat those around me well. "Max on Life" is a different type of spiritual book. Max Lucado compiles 170+ questions that he has received and answered during his career as a pastor. There is almost no question that Max hasn't had to answer or deal with during his lifetime and he has separated these questions and answers into Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Home, Haves/Have-Nots, and Hereafter categories. Regardless of your religious proclivities, Max can help you address some of the tougher questions that come up as part of life. My only complaint is that some of the answers are a little vague and can lack specific actions to take that will help you through life's challenges. At worst, it contains some kludgey logic with advice that is subject to interpretation. At best, it provides solid spiritual guidance. In many ways, "Max on Life" is an owner's manual for your soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Good Read

    Max Lucado¿s book, Max On Life, deals with life¿s questions and seeks to provide biblical answers to them. According to the author, a lot of the questions in this book came from the church he attends. With over 100 questions, ranging from financial difficulties, to marriage problems, and sexuality concerns, Max Lucado draws from his experience as a Christian clergy and knowledge of the Bible to provide guidelines for finding lasting peace and solution.

    Max On Life reminds me of a similar book by Billy Graham that was of tremendous help to me over ten years ago as a young Christian. I would recommend Max On Life as a good resource for any Christian as it does not shy away from the life¿s difficult questions. It is a kind of book one can always come back to for answers, while checking the Bible for more insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Good Read

    Max on Life By: Max Lucado
    "Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions"

    The book, Max on Life, is a collection of answers to questions Mr. Lucado had received. The questions are practical, everyday questions that many of us might have had at one time or another. The answers are well thought out and concise. The book is broken down into seven topic sections; Hope, Hurt, Help, Him / Her, Home, Haves / Have-Nots, and Hereafter. The book includes a topic index, as well as, a scripture index to make looking up specific threads easier. Overall, it is a well written, well thought out book.

    The above in mind, it was not the easiest book to read for a review. I can see it being a good reference book, but as for a book to sit down and read cover to cover, it was not the most interesting book I have ever read. I enjoy Mr. Lucado's books. I enjoy the study of the specific topic his books usually cover. This book, being a book of questions and answers, was quite different in as much as each question was answered in one page. If you are looking for an in depth book on a single topic, this is not it. However, if you are looking for answers to specific questions given in a brief, well thought out response, then this book is a good resource.

    *I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended to EVERYONE!

    As a pastor, Max Lucado received thousands of questions and wrestled with plenty of his own. Big questions about life and faith, heaven and hell and closer to home, dilemmas about sex, money, career, family, etc. In this book, Max answers all these questions - all 172 of them in a very down to earth, honest and biblical way.

    There's not one question in this book that you personally have not ask anyone or yourself before and there's not one question that you wish you had the answers at that point of asking. The answers are from Max are just amazing. Like the jacket of the book says, the answers are 'Vintage Lucado - Simple without being simplistic. Knowledgeable without being know-it-all. Direct but compassionate, honest and authoritative and always deeply practical. Full of challenge and comfort'.

    For easy references, the author sections out the contents into Hope (God's grace, etc), Hurt (conflicts, relationships), Help (prayer etc), Him/Her (romance, sex, etc), Home (family lives, children, etc), Haves/Have-Nots (money, work, etc) and Hereafter (heaven, hell, life and death, etc). This is a book not to be read in one sitting but over time. I have put in my personal notes for future references and there are some questions and answers that I would like to revisit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Good Book!

    Upon recieving the book (I had already seen the cover when the book was chosen) I was even more clueless when I opened the book. I was totally not expecting this book to be in Question/Answer format. After getting over that I had no clue that it was a Christian book. I was not offended by that, just not prepared that it was a religious based book. nothing on the cover shows that it is; however, that's my sad mistake because if I had read the book description, i would have "gotten" it.
    So, upon reading the book I found myself interested in the questions and the answers. I did find that he could have based more theoretical knowledge in the answers, but for the most part he was great in answering the questions he had "developed" to answer. What I did find very interesting was that most people really would ask the questions that were in the book. That was a plus for me! I loved that he used scriptures to answer some of the questions and then developed a more detailed answer based on the scriptures. I also like the fact that at the very end of the book he includes a couple of indexes for the readers: scriptures used, notes, and an added addendum. There is even a very detailed readers guide of more of his books and what they are about.
    Would I recommend this book? If you are a religious reader and have life questions, absolutely! I would recommend it to my church going friends, too, even if they do not have questions. I found it very insightful and humbling. I hope you do too!
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Recommended.

    Book Description

    We have questions. Child-like inquiries. And deep, heavy ones.

    In more than twenty-five years of writing and ministry, Max Lucado has been the receiving line for thousands of such questions. The questions come in letters, e-mails, even on Dunkin Donuts napkins. In Max on Life he offers thoughtful answers to more than 150 of the most pressing questions on topics ranging from hope to hurt, from home to the hereafter.

    Max writes about the role of prayer, the purpose of pain, and the reason for our ultimate hope. He responds to the day-to-day questions-parenting quandaries, financial challenges, difficult relationships-as well as to the profound: Is God really listening?

    A special addendum includes Max's advice on writing and publishing.

    Including topical and scriptural indexes and filled with classic Lucado encouragement and insight, Max on Life will quickly become a favorite resource for pastors and ministry leaders as well as new and mature believers.

    My Review

    now i'm a huge fan of Mr Lucado's works. and i would say this is not a regular type of inspirational books written by him.
    it's not your typical, must read back to back book in order to get a full understanding of the entire story, this book is meant for you to pick it up as a reference book and as you encounter some of the questions, you can turn back to this book and see the references and answers and insights given by Max Lucdao.All of Max's answers are backed up with Bible verses to show how he came to each conclusion.

    great book to have, as usual. any of lucado's is always great to add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    Max On Life Answers and Inspiration for Today's Questions By Max Lucado Published by Thomas Nelson This thoughtful book provides a question and answer format covering a wide variety of topics in the 172 questions. Some of the questions include coping with problems in marriage, being single, pornography, sexuality, honoring one's parents and coping with serious illnesses and death. I am sure that at least some of the questions would resonate with virtually every reader, but due to the volume of questions, the answers tend to be very short and would perhaps not be tackled deeply enough to satisfy a person who is deeply troubled about that particular topic. I think that this book would be most useful particularly if someone is very new to Christianity and looking for answers to things that perplex, and it is therefore a good starting point. For fuller answers which are tailored to individual circumstances, there can however be no subsititue for discussing things with one's own Priest/Minister. I particularly liked the comprehensive index of topics at the end. The book is very much geared to the Protestant Christian outlook, with a heavy emphasis on PSA and sadly would not really be suitable or useful to the Orthodox or Roman Catholic Christian reader. BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in return for my honestly held opinions and review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Max on Life - For Those Who Need Answers and Hope

    I have a hard time deciding what to tell you about this book. It has a lot of great information in it. It addresses some age-old questions that most Christians (and non-Christians) deal with. It uses a lot of really great Biblical references to support the answers.

    I can imagine that it would be really great for three groups of people: 1.) those investigating Christianity, 2.) new Christians, and 3.) Christians struggling with some aspect in their life.

    Honestly though, I was a bit disappointed. I have heard all of those answers and they would be great to look back on when I had questions, but maybe this was just a bad time in my life to read that particular book. Not, that I feel like I have all of the answers, but I don't feel like I have any questions that really NEED answering at this time. Therefore, it made for a lackluster read.

    And you know, I LOVE Max Lucado's books. I was looking for something more along the lines of what he typically writes. Those books full of inspiration and snippets that I find myself quoting him on. There were none of these in this book.

    Honestly, it is a good book. It would be great to buy for any of the above groups of people. Or you might just want to have it handy on your shelf for when times of questioning do arrive, you have some Biblical reference ready to go. Either way, although maybe not a must-read on my list, still full of great information.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free to review. The opinions expressed are my own and are no way affected by the receipt of free product. No additional compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Book Review: Max on Life

    "Max on Life", Max Lucado's latest book, is unlike most of Lucado's best-known efforts. Typically, he will base a book on a book of the bible such as Romans ("In the Grip of Grace") or Acts("Outlive Your Life"). But "Max on Life" deviates from that format in that it consists of Lucado's answers to 172 questions he has been asked. The questions have been submitted, by believers and unbelievers alike, to the author over the years, and reflect a wide spectrum of topics, such as prayer, the goodness of God, sex, scripture, money, heaven, and hell.

    I have to admit: at first, I was thinking this review was going to be pretty negative. It seems that most of the questions and answers touch on surface-level topics and and never delve deep enough for my taste. But upon reading it more closely, I cannot deny that the answers are in fact enlightening, thoughtful, and full of wisdom.

    I still don't think this book is for the most seasoned Christians. But there are many people who this book is for, and who can benefit greatly from it. So I'm giving it 3 out of 5 stars. I'm recommending it, not for everyone, but for most readers.

    Disclaimer: I am a participant in Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program; I received a free copy of this book for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Max On Life by Max Lucado

    PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

    We have questions. Child-like inquiries. And deep, heavy ones.
    In more than twenty-five years of writing and ministry, Max Lucado has been the receiving line for thousands of such questions. The questions come in letters, e-mails, even on Dunkin Donuts napkins. In 'Max on Life' he offers thoughtful answers to more than 150 of the most pressing questions on topics ranging from hope to hurt, from home to the hereafter.
    Max writes about the role of prayer, the purpose of pain, and the reason for our ultimate hope. He responds to the day-to-day questions-parenting quandaries, financial challenges, difficult relationships-as well as to the profound: Is God really listening?
    A special addendum includes Max's advice on writing and publishing.
    Including topical and scriptural indexes and filled with classic Lucado encouragement and insight, 'Max on Life' will quickly become a favorite resource for pastors and ministry leaders as well as new and mature believers.

    MY REVIEW

    I found this book interesting and useful. I liked the different insights about differnt situations.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Max on Life

    "Max on Life" an easy read book with questions on a wide variety of topics that are common things we face in our day to day world. The sections of the book include ones such as:
    . Hope God, Grace, and "Why am I here?"
    . Hurt Conflicts, Calamities, and "Why me?"
    . Help Prayer, Scripture, and "Why church?"
    . Him/Her Sex, Romance, and "Any chance of a second chance?"
    . Home Diapers, Disagreements, and "Any hope for prodigals?"
    . Haves/Have-Nots Work, Money, and "Where's the lifeline?"
    . Hereafter Cemeteries, Heaven, Hell, and "Who goes where?"
    This book offers a little something for everyone. Maybe some of the questions are ones that I have not faced personally, at least not as of yet. But in my day to day interaction and conversations with others there are things that come up. And having something like this serves as a wonderful took to help in answering them. Some questions and answers may appeal to certain people, while others sections appeal to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Max on Life

    About the Book.
    We have questions. Child-like inquiries. And deep, heavy ones.
    In more than twenty-five years of writing and ministry, Max Lucado has been the receiving line for thousands of such questions. The questions come in letters, e-mails, even on Dunkin Donuts napkins. In Max on Life he offers thoughtful answers to more than 150 of the most pressing questions on topics ranging from hope to hurt, from home to the hereafter.
    Max writes about the role of prayer, the purpose of pain, and the reason for our ultimate hope. He responds to the day-to-day questions-parenting quandaries, financial challenges, difficult relationships-as well as to the profound: Is God really listening?
    A special addendum includes Max's advice on writing and publishing.
    Including topical and scriptural indexes and filled with classic Lucado encouragement and insight, Max on Life will quickly become a favorite resource for pastors and ministry leaders as well as new and mature believers.
    My Thoughts.
    When I first started reading "Max on Life", I have to say that it didn't really grab me as other books have or as I thought it would. I started reading it as though it were for me, and after a few minutes put it down. I think this is mainly because I already have a strong Christian background and some of the questions it covers seem very simple and questions that don't really bother me. Later as I thought about it, I realized that there are and will be many different readers and it will be something different for each one. There will be some like myself but then others for whom this book will present and answer real life questions they have. And as I thought about it a bit more and picked the book up again, I read in a new light - The light of this book serving as a tool for me to use in my contact and interaction with others. I feel it can serve as a guide for ideas when I am faced with others asking me similar questions having to do with my faith, God and many of other questions in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1