Customer Reviews for

Max On Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    A Must Read!

    What proof do we have that the resurrection really happened? Do people who have never heard of God get to go to heaven? Why do bad things happen to good people? How can you teach a child humility without destroying his self-esteem? And what's really permissible in the Christian marriage bed?

    These are just some of the 172 questions about religion and life in general that Max Lucado attempts to answer in this book. The book is presented in Q & A format, and has been divided into sections. There is also a helpful index in the back. Essentially, Lucado takes many questions that Christians have, and does his best job to answer these questions, citing Biblical references.

    Lucado writes in a very straight-forward manner that is often humorous. The book is a good read if only for that. All of the questions that are posed are certainly relevant to both the new and old believer. Many of the questions are answered very well. For example, I've never read a better discussion of the reality of the resurrection, and all of my doubts were put to rest by this book.

    However, some of the answers are extremely generalized and don't seem to fully address the question at hand. In a few instances, I wasn't sure if the question was ever answered. All in all, though, anyone who is seeking more information about the Christian faith will find that this book is by and large a valuable addition to a library.

    Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    easy to understand

    loved this book. very simple explanations to lots of questions everyone has asked sometime or other. max always explains things in a language that we can understand and relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

     I enjoyed reading this book. The book is so easy to understand

     I enjoyed reading this book. The book is so easy to understand and most people, Christians and non-Christians alike, can comprehend it and find inspirations within its pages. I like to know not just the answers to my own questions but also to those that other people ask. The Q&A's are an eye-opener for me and can help me as I teach my children and others. By the way, I got a free copy of the book from Booksneeze but the opinions expressed are all mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Max on life

    We take so much granted, Max gives interesting and fascinating perspectives on each aspect of life and applies scripture. Great for every faith and age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Great for basic truths.

    Some of the reviews I read before purchase said the book didn't go in depth enough. It is not a theology class nor does it claim to be. It does however give basic Christian truths on every page and compels the reader to think. Those two things alone make it a must read for Christians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    excellent source of answers for those who have questions about their faith

    I have found myself engrossed in Max Lucado's recent book Max On Life. weather your a new believer or been one for years I highly recommend this amazing book. Max answers many of the questions that we have often wonder such as God's stand on sex, and how to overcome anger, guilt. He reaches into the scriptures and gives us a real solid answer that we can grasp. Max shares from his heart what he believes scripture and our heavenly father want us to know about our insecurities and doubts. How we can deal with difficult people and what seem to be impossible situations.Max shares many of the letters he has gotten over the years and answers the writers concerns in a simple yet biblical way that we can all understand and appreciate. I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for answers about their life issues and their faith.

    The Answers are short and no more than one to two pages long. I warn you the book is long it covers numerous topics which the author breaks down into several chapters covering several letters in each of these chapters. It is a good book especially for new Christians who have many questions about the life God expects us to lead. It is a suitable book for young and old alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    AMAZING!

    In Max Lucado's newest book - Max on Life - he tackles a HUGE range of faith based questions in a practical, patient, and knowledgeable manner. Following suit with his other books, this was a very easy to read and understand book that has the potential to make a profound impact on the reader's understanding of the Lord and of their own personal relationship with him.

    I loved so many of his thoughtful and scripturally based answers on so many of the more 150 questions posed, but one of my favorites was concerning if Christ chooses us to be in relationship with Him forever or if we choose Him. This is something I've wondered about for quite a while. Max quotes the passage of Matthew 22 about the wedding banquet. After a few brief explanations of that passage, he simply sums up the question by answering it's BOTH - the King chooses who to invite, but the invitees must make their own choice about whether or not to accept the invitation! I've never heard such a simple, concise response to a very complicated (and at times divisive) question before. And his book has over 149 other answers just like it! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality, Scripture based answers to their faith questions.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Very Enjoyable Book!

    This book takes many of the questions that he has been asked throughout his career and answers them in a frank manner. Each question has it's own chapter and the chapters are relatively short. I like this. This a book that you don't read in one sitting, rather, it's meant to be enjoyed over a period of time I think. I think this is a good book to take a chapter a day and digest. It would even be a good book to discuss at the dinner table with the family, especially if you have older children who will understand the concepts. Some of the concepts would be too much for younger children.

    The book is separated into 7 sections: Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Home, Haves and Have-Nots, and Hereafter. You can jump to a particular section if you have certain questions, or read a chapter a day Smile

    All in all I've really enjoyed this book. I can almost hear Mr. Lucado speaking as I read the chapters. I enjoy the frankness and candidness of the writing. And, it gives you some things to think about.

    I would recommend this book for personal use, and for gifts. It might make it on to my Christmas List this year....

    Disclosure: I received this book from the booksneeze program in exchange for my honest review. I was not paid for a positive review and this review is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Max on Life: A review

    When I started reading this book I didnt drop until i got to the last page. It was so interesting that I find myself in every page of the book. The questions that were asked are so common and most times I felt like I did ask the question after all. I will sincerely recommend this book to every Christian leader and everyone who needs inspiring answers to everyday questions. Its deep biblical undertone makes it perfect for pastors, mentors, and parents. Use it to prepare for your marriage, anniversary, business and your first baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "MAX ON LIFE" by Max Lucado

    We all have the most challenging questions, genuine, extremely important questions that cannot be ignored, questions that defy answers. A curved question mark quite aptly highlights all our baffling questions, doesn't it? When our questions finally find the all-elusive answers, the question mark mysteriously straightens up and stands confidently on its own with a bold exclamation point! In "Max on Life," Max Lucado gives valuable answers and insights into the some of the most important questions in life, embracing and encompassing a wide variety of subjects and topics ranging from God, heaven, hell, hope, grace, prayer and scripture to conflicts, calamities and how to deal with hurts, disappointments and disagreements. As Max elaborates in the special Addendum - "The Write Stuff" - "good words are worth the work. Well-written words can change a life... written words go to places you'll never go... and descend to depths you'll never know." Max lives out the message in his own life before he writes it in his books. His life is his first draft. He lives with integrity and writes with crystal-clear clarity. His inspired writing reflects his swift thinking. For Max, writing a book is a noble and valued task, a worthwhile and holy work. He exhorts his readers to pick up the pens the apostles left behind and write for the soul, giving birth to new eras.

    &#169 Miriam Jacob

    To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I would like to mention that, as part of every Web or retail site review, LITFUSE PUBLICITY GROUP has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from KREGEL PUBLICATIONS. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from KREGEL PUBLICATIONS through LITFUSE PUBLICITY GROUP book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Highly recommend-a must have for yourself & every good friend

    Max Lucado~ Max on Life
    WOW! Guiding spiritual comfort! 5 Stars. Lovely book, writing style is fun to read, spiritual theme always woven thru each story, this is a book you won't want to pass along you find yourself keeping! Over his career as Pastor and Author Max has received many letters, some have been in earlier books-here he selected 172 letters, asking him questions. They range from: a ~7 yr old who is being punished for pulling a fire alarm, asking Max how to "make it right" to: Someone who is` "embarrassed about having trouble because they can't seem to pray for more than a few minutes before being distracted" asking Max "what does this mean? What is wrong?" Here Is where Max Lucado stands out- He responds in a way that not only answers the question, But does so by telling an enchanting story but includes Scripture Verses to support it. The simplicity and ease of Lucados' writing style allows us see ourselves in many of the pages, by end of the letter you feel it relevant to your life, showing you that you can apply this story~this life experience~to your self easily. They are all quick pages 1-1/2, so it is easy to read a letter and let it simmer with you. Put the book down, come back later. I like the the down to earth, relate able style. You will feel like you are having a conversation with a close friend, that is his writing style, Not preachy, not talking down to you, not fire and brimstone, comfortable. He treats you-the reader as a person,not a page or piece of paper. Highly recommend.

    This book was provided for review by Booksneeze

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    "Max on Life" by 'Max Lucado' - Book Review

    "Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions" by 'Max Lucado' from Thomas Nelson is a fabulous and fun-to-read material.

    Max Lucado serves the Oak Hills Church at San Antonio in Texas. Max answers to 172 questions that he has compiled over a period of time from various kinds of people. Max scores with his invincible style of writing in this book. As the publisher asserts, they are 'simple without being simplistic; knowledgeable without being know-it-all; direct but compassionate'.

    Max ensures that he keeps the readers engaged through his insightful and easy-to-understand answers. I found the answers deeply practical and highly pragmatic. He has ensured that his writing reflects his clear thinking. Max tries to comfort and challenge the readers at the same time and he has succeeded in that initiative. While communicating the answers with readers, he does not engage in 'sermonizing'. This makes the book more appealing and captivating. The entire book was a quick read for me and I was able to complete the same in two sitting.

    The book comprises seven areas of discussion on 'Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Home, Haves/Have-Nots, and Hereafter. Finally there is an addendum on 'The Write Stuff', for budding writers and inspiring authors.

    Max on Life is a great material for any reader intending to strengthen his faith in Christian life. It's a highly recommended read.

    I would give this one five out of five stars.

    Please note that I received this book from Thomas Nelson through its book review bloggers program Book Sneeze in exchange for an honest review. Also be informed that the opinions I have expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Outstanding Addition to my Bookshelf!

    Another Max Lucado book, another favorite. It's almost that easy for me. If Max writes it, I love it. This book is just another shining example of that. I received this ebook during a very difficult time. I was comforted by so many of the insights he gave. This particular book addresses many of the basic questions that every Christian has in the typical easy-to-understand Max Lucado fashion. Some questions are relatively basic, but some of them are the deep, thought-provoking ones that require an in-depth answer. He discusses the purpose of prayer, pain and church. He discusses relationships. This is not necessarily a book that I want to sit down and read in page order. This is a book to consult when I'm enduring a particular heartache or questioning the little things. I would recommend this book in a heartbeat, so much so, in fact, that I bought it for my newly graduated nephew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book

    Max on Life by Max Lucado
    In more than twenty-five years of writing and ministry, Max Lucado has been the receiving line for thousands of questions from all types of sources: questions come in letters, e-mails, even on Dunkin Donuts napkins. Lucado offers insightful answers to more than 150 of the most pressing questions.
    He is engaging, a good writer, has compelling stories and illustrations, and seeks to point people to the words of Scripture. Lucado has the ability to answer in phrases and concepts that are clear and free from clutter. They are not just his opinions, but he gives God's Word to back up his answers. Included in each response is a personal explanation with scripture references. This is a wonderful book to add to your library.
    The book also includes a topical index so that readers can search for a question and answer based on their own questions as well as a scripture index for readers to read and study the scriptures for themselves. This book is a great read for someone new to the faith since many questions new believers face are answered here.
    I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Should be on every church library shelf

    I'm a huge fan of Max Lucado. I think he takes complicated issues and makes them simple. I think he manages to stay true to the gospel without being self-righteous or judgmental. I loved the format of the book because it fits who we are and seemed so honest. People ask these kinds of questions - these are the things that bother, hurt and trouble us. The answers were brief but honest and I thought they were handled very well. I think this is an excellent book to have on any church library bookshelf and for gifts to new believers or those wanting answers and not knowing who to trust. The topics range from everything to basic faith to parenting, marriage, friendships... anything and everything.

    As a writer I wished that section was a little longer, but I wish I had the money to buy a thousand copies and pass them out to everyone I could think of.

    I want to thank Thomas Nelson for my copy although their gift did not influence this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Loved it!

    Loved this! Great tough questions that gets the heart, mind, and spirit thinking. Very gracefully written and found many questions to be very timely with today's world. The guidance which was found and the scriptures which were reference to where priceless! I would recommend the book for a book club also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lesson On Counseling

    This is not the first piece of work from Mr. Max Lucado that I read. As a matter of fact, I have read and enjoyed "Outlive Your Life", "You Changed My Life", "You Can Be Everything God Wants You To Be", "Cast of Characters", and I watched "Who Is In Charge Anyway". I found out that this book is different. It goes deeper into his soul. On answering 172 general questions, he shows all his experience as minister and counselor.
    He divides his book in seven major topics: Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Home, Haves/Have-Nots and Hereafter.
    Some of those questions, like #84, are relevant to any church and his answer is based as always on the Scriptures. Simply beautiful, from the bottom of his heart.
    I recommend this book to any pastor or counselor who wants to have a good book for reference when he is called to extinguish a fire. But also is good to any reader whose morale principles are solidly based on the Word of God.
    This book was written by Max Lucado and it was published by Thomas Nelson and they were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Love Max and I Love Max on Life!

    I love Max Lucado and I loved this book. "Max on Life" was a huge inspiration to read. This book contains 172 questions that Max answers throughout the pages of the book. Each question an answer is given on one page; Max gets right to the heart of the question and supplies a deep but understandable Biblical answer. Lucado organizes the answers by theme, which can be read straight through, read daily like a daily devotional, or even used as a reference book with the topical index in the back. I was concerned at first that this book would be a little too simplistic for a long time believer however there were many insights I never considered before. The answers to these questions helped to stretch my understanding. I also found new ways to help explain certain topics that come up in conversation with my non-believing family and friends. The questions addressed in this book are relational dealing with topics such as why am I here? Why go to church? Why bad things happen? "Max on Life" also addresses real life issues for daily living, like relationships, children, work and finances. I recommend this book to everyone, and even think it would make a good gift to give someone who is either having doubts or just needs some encouragement.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    A wonderful book for a permanent collection!!!

    Lucado does it again. Hes long been my favorite writer, way before FEARLESS. Lucado simply puts things in a real life understandable way.
    There were some things I did not feel completely happy with but I would take nothing away from him again; hes a wonderful writer and all of his books are golden.
    This book would especially hit home for the unsaved reader who has unanswered questions about the Bible and life before we knew it.
    You just cant go wrong with Lucado, and this book would make a wonderful gift. I keep all Lucado books and donate 90% of all other books I review but I wont let go of a Lucado.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    A Must read.

    Max Lucdo's new book, Max on life is completely amazing. He has received many questions all that are real, and have deep meaning. He has answered these questions with amazing clarity. I was a bit worried to read this book, because I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. I thought I was getting into a 235 page book of boring. But as I read the "Before We Begin." section my whole perspective changed. Jess not getting myself into a boring talk-at-you book. I was surprised when I read some of the questions. They were questions I myself have. Questions that dealt with "How can Christ love me when I know I am terrible." Max Lucado answers these questions with intelligence, and with words that surely come from God. I received this book merely three or four hours ago(April, 18,2011) and am almost finished. I am completely enthralled in how Lucado answers these questions. Even the hardest questions that seem to not be able to be answered, are answered. What's more, every answer has a reference to the bible. You will find amazing answers to your questions in this book. Now, to a matter you're probably wondering, "Should I buy this book?" Why are you even debating? My answer is a HECK YES! Buy this book and have your questions be answered! Because I know that you have questions, even if they are not consciously there. They are there, sitting just under the surface waiting to be answered. This book is 5/5 I seriously want you to read this book! ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4