Customer Reviews for

Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A vibrant city within the pages of such a small book

    I've read this book three times and I still love it as much each time I read it. Suketu Mehta definitely brings out the different lifestyles and things happening in Mumbai. Gangsters, movie stars, dancing girls, politicians, murderers, slum dwellers, and others are included in this book. There are so many interesting topics covered in such a small book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    The Key to India's large cities

    I found this book to be very well written and very thought provoking. It explains not only the mega city of Mumbai, but in a general way, all the large cities in India and perhaps also many of the mega cities throughout emerging countries. Very good book for those wanting to understand politicial and socio-economic issues for urban India.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    Mehta has accomplished a feat: the book is sweeping and deep. There are so many stories and so multi-layered with history, politics, religion, economics and personal demons. Bombay is the main character: crazy, illogical, mesmerizing, charismatic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Fabulous!

    Suketu Mehta has described the vibrancy, dynamism, color, and culture of Bombay like no one has before. He brings it together under one book until the last chapter when it seems, in my humble opinion, that the book comes to an abrupt end. I grew up in Bombay, have visited it several times and the picture he paints is very appropriate. Of course, I never knew or was in touch with the characters that he weaves. But certainly the people who live in Bombay or know those that reside in the most fabulous city have heard about the incidents that he refers throughout the book. Lastly, MUMBAI is not the same as Bombay. Therefore, Viva Bombay!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    The city of dreams and hope

    Like Suketu Mehta, I spent my formative years in Bombay before moving to the United States. I invite you to visit the city. It will enchant you, excite your senses and change your perspective on life. Life in Bombay is a conflunce of eastern philosophy, poverty, technology and western pop culture which produces a unique harmony full of hope and despair, and no one has described it better than Mr. Mehta. Mehta's engaging narrative shows how an individual's desire for a better life keeps the spark of hope alive for millions of people who overcome huge obstacles daily to strive for a better life. This point is amply illustrated in his description of an encounter between a cleaning lady and a local politician before an election. The foremost concern on her mind was an opportunity for her child to have a good education even though she made less than 50 cents a day with no job security and lived in conditions that would have been deemed horrendous by US standards. So, she asks the politician to get her daughter a slot in a prestigious school instead of something for herself. He expertly captures the unique dynamics in India society that can instantly alter the balance between emotional feelings and rational thought to create an unpredictable outcome in a mundane everyday situation. Mehta describes how he is able to get a local gas company bureaucrat to grant him an exception on a gas cylinder for cooking by appealing to her as a mother of a child after all rational appeals have failed. In this book the real heroes are the residents of Bombay. They welcome into their midst with open arms anyone from anywhere who is willing to dream about the good life and work hard to pursue it. This 'melting pot' attribute serves to make Bombay very different in character from other Indian cities. Mr. Mehta's decription of this city is both accurate and timely. It provides urban policy makers with a roadmap of what could happen if the institutions and infrastructure in our urban centers are allowed to detriorate. It also provides an insight into the Indian urban mindset for business executives planning to enter into business ventures in a country what could be the next Asian tiger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1