Customer Reviews for

The May Day Murders

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read!

This is definitely a page turner that has a lot of twists and turns! You will not want to put it down once you start reading and the story will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. I also highly recommend the other books by this imaginative author...
This is definitely a page turner that has a lot of twists and turns! You will not want to put it down once you start reading and the story will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. I also highly recommend the other books by this imaginative author!

posted by 10367057 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Starts off with gore

The beginning was too graphic. Once I passed that section, the story improved and I enjoyed it. Too much vulgarity, sex and foul language!

posted by cornwell_fanCA on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good but predictable.

    It was a good read and kept me interested. However, there were a lot of grammar and spelling mistakes which was kind of annoying. Also, it was a bit predictable and the ending was a little farfetched - it ended way too perfectly. But all in all it was an ok read, especially if you're bored.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Jerks me out of the story

    I find that the cconstant use of the f word distracted me from the story. At one point something negative is said about the current generation. I think constant drumming into our minds of swear words does not help improve any of us. It burned me out on the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    OK

    Just ok Predictable, a lot of gutter language Best thing was that it was free

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    predictable and poorly edited

    I had high hopes for this book and was disappointed. The plot was weak and predictable and the editing was atrocious. Because I have read worse and it was an easy read with at least a little entertainment value (clearly I didn't just throw it out), it gets 2 stars instead of 1.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Murder Mystery or Romance novel?

    The author couldn't decide so switched genre's every other chapter. Almost stopped reading the second or third time she "melted while looking into his eyes."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Predictable

    Started out OK but then it became too unbelievable. Knew "who dunnit" about a third if the way into the book . The character Ann was just too naive to believe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Meh

    Predictable plot, unrealistic timelines during the story. Confusing grammer and spelling errors make you wonder if book even saw an editors desk.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Ok, i guess

    About a quarter way through i figured it out. The plot was pretty predictable and the language and graphic verbiage totally unnecessary. If you r a parent, dont let your kids read over your shoulder on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Predictable but ok

    It was pretty predictable but a good story. Lots and lots of typos and grammatical errors which made it a little difficult to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Mildly entertaining until the end...

    This story just wrapped up way to quickly and neatly at the end. Poorly edited. Easy to see it was written some time ago...it does not hold up well

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Predictable

    Not a bad writer but i knew who the killer was before i was halfway through the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Nice one!!!!!

    Nice one!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Needs editing

    This was a bit strange to read, it almost seemed as if it was an older novel that the author tried to update. And didn't need to hear about all the various names and models of the tech stuff being used. I kept asking myself "Product placement?" was he getting paid for each time he mentioned using a Palm? Plot was so-so, could have used more character development, and the dialogue was pretty unconvincing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Murder mystery with little mystery

    Extremely predictable and far fetched. You will enjoy this book if you are looking for a novel about murder, and don't want to be surprised by the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Very poorly written

    Well, it was free. So that's one plus. Despite the abundance of offensive language, the dialogue still managed to be stilted, and grammar is plainly not this author'sstrong suit. The plot had moments of interest, but not enough to offset the overwhelming "obnoxiousness"of the protagonist, and, really, most male characters in the book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Not impressed

    Predictable and long winded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read book

    this book was very good. If u are a person who likes mystery and suspension this is the book for you. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Easy to figure out

    Too easy to figure out who the killer is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Decent but predictable

    This was a decent read for a free book. Interesting story, deranged killer. However i could never really get into the characters. They were as generic and nondescript as their names. Karen and amy served no real purpose, and ann and sam had nothing to really distinguish themselves from thousands of other characters in crime novels. The story was incredibly predictable, especially with the unveiling of stanley as the murderer less than halfway through the book. Besides predictability, this book's other major flaw was the too neat ending. All in all, if you have nothing else to read, this isn't a terrible choice. But you could just substitute an episode of law and order or csi: it will take less time to present the same result but with more wit and creativity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    A Decent Murder Mystery

    If you are a fan of the genre, you may see the twists and turns coming, but overall, this was an okay read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3