Customer Reviews for

Maybe

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Dianna Geers for TeensReadToo.com

In MAYBE by Brent Runyon, Brian's unpredictable behaviors make it hard to know him at first. In fact, I disliked Brian so much in the beginning and didn't know if I wanted to continue reading the book. He didn't share any deep thoughts and tried to cop cheap feels on gi...
In MAYBE by Brent Runyon, Brian's unpredictable behaviors make it hard to know him at first. In fact, I disliked Brian so much in the beginning and didn't know if I wanted to continue reading the book. He didn't share any deep thoughts and tried to cop cheap feels on girls at his new school. Even Brian admitted that he was a pervert. And an a**hole. At least we agreed on something.

So I decided to give him a chance. And I'm very glad I did.

Brian began the book being p.o.'d about having to move to a new town and go to a new high school. As Brian left his old house he ripped a sign off of his brother's bedroom door. It was a sign his brother had made in shop class. He "just wants to have something." I didn't know what that "something" was, but figured he wanted a part of his brother with him. Yet when Brian registered for classes at his new school he had to decide between chorus and shop. His brother took shop, so Brian picked chorus.

As Brian began to get comfortable at school, he made friends with a group of students involved in theater. Thespians. He made guy friends, had a few girlfriends, but seemed to only think about how he could get laid. Or he thought about his brother. Brian struggled between feelings of anger towards his brother, fondness, and terrible longing for him.

Throughout most of the book Brian had a difficult time showing people anything real about him. His parents were the same way. Neither Brian nor his parents ever said much. They sat through silent meals, found reasons to leave the room when others joined them. And his brother continued to not be around.

However, as Brian got closer to people, he began to let them into his heart.

But only a little.

And when Brian allowed himself to think about real feelings, he wondered if maybe he would feel better if he actually talked about what bothered him. What no one in his family would say.

Maybe.

Maybe he could let a person get close to him.

Maybe.

MAYBE is a heart-wrenching book for anyone who has ever had feelings bottled up inside. It's for anyone who has been confused, sad, hurt, and angry all at the same time. If you have ever been reluctant to let someone close to you because they may hurt you or leave you, then you will know exactly why Brian is hurting. You'll ache for his emptiness and celebrate his attempts to reach out.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

or maybe not. . .

Sex, drugs, and drama are the major topics of discussion in this novel by Brent Runyon. The story opens with Brian moving from an old house to a new city. The plot and characters are never explicitly named, but we, the readers, are on a first name basis with all of th...
Sex, drugs, and drama are the major topics of discussion in this novel by Brent Runyon. The story opens with Brian moving from an old house to a new city. The plot and characters are never explicitly named, but we, the readers, are on a first name basis with all of them. The storytelling is at points disjointed, but is pretty consistent with what I understand the teenage male thought patterns are to be. Liberally sprinkled with profanity and attempts to seduce or grope anything female, this was a book that was difficult to read. On the other hand, my teenage son is engrossed. As the plot progresses, we learn that Brian and his family are trying to cope with the death of Brian┬┐s older brother with whom Brian had a bit of a love/hate relationship. The story provides some rather poignant snippets relative to teens trying to find where they belong, but the reader should beware, the vernacular is what one would expect from locker room talk. The book lends itself to discussion about teen sexuality, drug use, and peer pressure.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Dianna Geers for TeensReadToo.com

    In MAYBE by Brent Runyon, Brian's unpredictable behaviors make it hard to know him at first. In fact, I disliked Brian so much in the beginning and didn't know if I wanted to continue reading the book. He didn't share any deep thoughts and tried to cop cheap feels on girls at his new school. Even Brian admitted that he was a pervert. And an a**hole. At least we agreed on something. <BR/><BR/>So I decided to give him a chance. And I'm very glad I did. <BR/><BR/>Brian began the book being p.o.'d about having to move to a new town and go to a new high school. As Brian left his old house he ripped a sign off of his brother's bedroom door. It was a sign his brother had made in shop class. He "just wants to have something." I didn't know what that "something" was, but figured he wanted a part of his brother with him. Yet when Brian registered for classes at his new school he had to decide between chorus and shop. His brother took shop, so Brian picked chorus. <BR/><BR/>As Brian began to get comfortable at school, he made friends with a group of students involved in theater. Thespians. He made guy friends, had a few girlfriends, but seemed to only think about how he could get laid. Or he thought about his brother. Brian struggled between feelings of anger towards his brother, fondness, and terrible longing for him. <BR/><BR/>Throughout most of the book Brian had a difficult time showing people anything real about him. His parents were the same way. Neither Brian nor his parents ever said much. They sat through silent meals, found reasons to leave the room when others joined them. And his brother continued to not be around. <BR/><BR/>However, as Brian got closer to people, he began to let them into his heart. <BR/><BR/>But only a little. <BR/><BR/>And when Brian allowed himself to think about real feelings, he wondered if maybe he would feel better if he actually talked about what bothered him. What no one in his family would say. <BR/><BR/>Maybe. <BR/><BR/>Maybe he could let a person get close to him. <BR/><BR/>Maybe. <BR/><BR/>MAYBE is a heart-wrenching book for anyone who has ever had feelings bottled up inside. It's for anyone who has been confused, sad, hurt, and angry all at the same time. If you have ever been reluctant to let someone close to you because they may hurt you or leave you, then you will know exactly why Brian is hurting. You'll ache for his emptiness and celebrate his attempts to reach out.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    .

    i disagree with all the people that said this book was horrible. i recently had a death in my family, and i found myself relating alot to brian's pain and anger, and how hard it was to deal with. and about the whole cussing thing...its realistic, whats wrong with that? same with the sex and drinking, people need to stop pretending and open their eyes to the real world, this is how it is. i like how the author didnt try and hide the truth. it was raw, and that only made it better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    or maybe not. . .

    Sex, drugs, and drama are the major topics of discussion in this novel by Brent Runyon. The story opens with Brian moving from an old house to a new city. The plot and characters are never explicitly named, but we, the readers, are on a first name basis with all of them. The storytelling is at points disjointed, but is pretty consistent with what I understand the teenage male thought patterns are to be. Liberally sprinkled with profanity and attempts to seduce or grope anything female, this was a book that was difficult to read. On the other hand, my teenage son is engrossed. As the plot progresses, we learn that Brian and his family are trying to cope with the death of Brian¿s older brother with whom Brian had a bit of a love/hate relationship. The story provides some rather poignant snippets relative to teens trying to find where they belong, but the reader should beware, the vernacular is what one would expect from locker room talk. The book lends itself to discussion about teen sexuality, drug use, and peer pressure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    A decent quick read

    This was a decent book however the book "burn journals" was better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Growing up :)

    I could not put this book down! We always answer "maybe" to questions and after reading this, i knew why we like saying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    AMAZING

    Maybe was by far the best book I've ever read. The way it was written left me speechless at the end. It made me create a different outlook on life. I began to notice all of the beauty in the world. I've never been so touched by a book in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Another love

    I love this book. I read burn journals by brent runyon and decided to try this book, too. Im glad i did!! A very good book thats hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Different

    I thought this book would be another stupid teen book. However it turned out to be one of the best books ive ever read. At first Brian seemed like your average teenage boy but as i read deeper into the book, i really felt bad for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Amazing book.....

    When i first saw this book i didnt think it would be that good.... i was definitely wrong... this was one of the best books i have ever read... i really hated brian at first but not far into the book i couldnt help feeling bad for him.... this book perfectly showcases the life of a teen who feels alone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Stupid

    This book is very stupid

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    The book Maybe

    This book was wroten very well i liked it alot it keep me into the book almost the whole time i didnt wanna put this book down, and i hate reading but this book was great, i would read it again if i had the time to but i dont i would reccomed this book to others. It was great !!! =)))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Great Book

    I loved this book . It really made me think . Im not the type of person that can just pick up a book and sit there and read it unless it is really interest me . My friend had this book , and she told me to read a part . I read the part and the whole friggin' chapter . Then I was beggin' for the book everyday . Great Book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite book of all time.

    This is the best I have ever read. I am a big reader. Something about this book made me fall in love with it. I made many of my friends read it, and the also enoy it. It helped me learn more about how peoples minds think differently. All I can say is READ IT READ IT READ IT!I know after one time reading it, I want to buy it and read it every night.

    -nicole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    okay.....

    im a girl...and i kinda liked the book...it was readable....and i enjoyed knowing how guys really think....so i can watch out for guys like brian....he was REALLY(emphasis on 'really') perverted and sexual...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Uhhh...

    Well first of all, don't read this book if you're under 16, it's rather disturbing. Honestly, I hope all teenage boys don't think like Brian because I would be scared. being a teenage girl. Basically, the boy, Brian is just another High School kid trying to fit in and all that. I have read far better books, but if you like books about sexual teens, this is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    i loved it.

    brent runyon is a great writer. i loved the characters sense of humor and the reality of his probelems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    great book....

    i really enjoyed this book and im not much of a reader so....that should tell you something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In MAYBE by Brent Runyon, Brian¿s unpredictable behaviors make it hard to know him at first. In fact, I disliked Brian so much in the beginning and didn¿t know if I wanted to continue reading the book. He didn¿t share any deep thoughts and tried to cop cheap feels on girls at his new school. Even Brian admitted that he was a pervert. And an a**hole. At least we agreed on something. So I decided to give him a chance. And I¿m very glad I did. Brian began the book being p.o.¿d about having to move to a new town and go to a new high school. As Brian left his old house he ripped a sign off of his brother¿s bedroom door. It was a sign his brother had made in shop class. He ¿just wants to have something.' I didn¿t know what that ¿something¿ was, but figured he wanted a part of his brother with him. Yet when Brian registered for classes at his new school he had to decide between chorus and shop. His brother took shop, so Brian picked chorus. As Brian began to get comfortable at school, he made friends with a group of students involved in theater. Thespians. He made guy friends, had a few girlfriends, but seemed to only think about how he could get laid. Or he thought about his brother. Brian struggled between feelings of anger towards his brother, fondness, and terrible longing for him. Throughout most of the book Brian had a difficult time showing people anything real about him. His parents were the same way. Neither Brian nor his parents ever said much. They sat through silent meals, found reasons to leave the room when others joined them. And his brother continued to not be around. However, as Brian got closer to people, he began to let them into his heart. But only a little. And when Brian allowed himself to think about real feelings, he wondered if maybe he would feel better if he actually talked about what bothered him. What no one in his family would say. Maybe. Maybe he could let a person get close to him. Maybe. MAYBE is a heart-wrenching book for anyone who has ever had feelings bottled up inside. It¿s for anyone who has been confused, sad, hurt, and angry all at the same time. If you have ever been reluctant to let someone close to you because they may hurt you or leave you, then you will know exactly why Brian is hurting. You¿ll ache for his emptiness and celebrate his attempts to reach out. **Reviewed by: Dianna Geers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    Holy Crap

    This book seriously bored me. It was draggy, boring, and I believe it swore way too much. There was a cuss word on literally every page!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This Book seriously had me wanting to read everyday. I loved it. I really hope that there will be a second booking continuing from where it left off. It's almost impssible for me to really get into reading but from day one when i picked this book up it puled me in. I love it's wittey humor, and sadness and everything els it has to offer. Im a 15 year old student so instead of me going out and hanging out with my friends I sat in my room and enjoyed each and every word this book had into it. IT WOULD BE AWSOME IF THERE WOULD//WILL BE A SECOND BOOK TO CONINTU THIS ONE! *wink**wink* =]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2